We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Toowong Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Toowong Villas to your Saves list
Toowong Villas
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   9 Ascog Terrace | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #76 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Very Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while attending a family wedding, As we arrived after reception had closed the key and room details were left in the lock box. Everything went very smoothly and the instructions were spot on.

The apartment was well appointed and had everything we needed. The location was also perfect for us.

The only criticism it is that the Wifi was painfully slow and we could not get Foxtel on our TV. The later was not a great issue as we were not spending much time in the room, but I did have some work that I had to complete and found it quicker to log into the internet through my phone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review. Your comments are appreciated.
I am surprised by your comments about our WiFi as we have just spent a lot of money upgrading the system. If you could advise which room you were in we will check the system as we want to ensure good reception anywhere on the site.
Your TV must have been on digital. We have 8 Foxtel channels but the Foxtel system still is analogue in Brisbane until end of May. A contact to Reception would have fixed that issue very quickly.
Hopefully these issues will not prevent you from visiting us in the future.
Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.

Jim Donohue

Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    46
    13
    7
    8
See reviews for
56
17
2
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

Since this was our second anniversary, my wife and I wanted somewhere nice to stay outside of Brisbane to spend 3 days together. The Toowong Villas was just the right position, it's 2 minutes walk to Toowong Village Shopping Centre and 3 minutes walk to the CityCat terminal which is better than the train. There are two lagoon style pools but we were amused to see in the extensive information pack provided that we could hire beach towels for $2.50 a session... Really? We recommend dropping down to the KMart and buying two towels for $5 each rather than hiring towels. As for being a studio apartment, and we have lived in a few, these are small studio apartments with no separate kitchen, however the tariff is very reasonable and the 'room' was clean and comfortable.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review. Every review is important to us.
We make a small charge for the use of our beach towels to cover the cost of laundry and replacement costs for those towels that are not returned.
Our studio apartments are set up for short term stay and do have microwaves and electric fry pans. From our own travel experiences our studios are better equipped than lots of others we have stayed at.
We hope your wedding anniversary was celebrated appropriately and we wish you a long and successful marriage.
I note you come from Melbourne. As an ex Melbournian I still follow Melbourne Storm. I hope you do to.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

The photos suggest a quality motel but everything about the establishment is mediocre, including the 'care' factor of staff. Has great potential, given its location but management/owners don't appear to have invested in keeping the place modern. There's not a lot of choice in this area, so it seems they can get away with a second-rate offering, despite charging prices commensurate with something much better.

Room Tip: Inspect the rooms before you register. Be sure you're getting value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
Dear Guest
We thank you for your review. Every review is important to us. However your comments are a surprise to us.
In the twelve months we have been here we have
* upgraded all the cooking utensils, glassware, and cutlery. $5,000
* modernised our bedding to meet triple sheeting standards $15,000
In the last six months we have
* replaced our curtains $30,000
* upgraded our internet WiFi network $6,000
* renovated our reception $6,000
* new LCD TV's in the main bedrooms $15,000
* new pumps and chlorinators systems in our two swimming pools. $3,000
Having spent about $80,000 in the last twelve months, over and above normal maintenance costs, we believe our complex is more than comparable to other properties of our rating.
With 3 complexes in our area beginning with Toowong in their brand name, we believe your comments may have been meant for another complex.
Thank you again for your response.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed recently as a family in two bedroom apartment and will certainly use Toowong Villas on next trip to Brisbane. Noted many families staying as well as business people. Perfect for both as close to both city and university. Clean, well maintained and quiet. Continental breakfasts available, however big shopping centre with supermarkets and cafes only a block away. Rooms have cooking facilities and are well equipped with plenty of powerpoints and internet. Buses leave from front and only short walk to train.Check in /out handled very effiicently.Staff polite, helpful and friendly. Also noted staff take pride in appearance of place - gardner seen trimming hedges and sweeping up a few leaves that had blown on roadway. Ofice was being painted and updated whilst we were there. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: Managers are very accommodating of special requests provided you give them reasonable notice. If yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, January 25, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review.
Your review is most welcome and encouraging for our staff to have their efforts acknowledged and appreciated. Comments such as yours continue to encourage the staff to maintain our high standards in friendly helpful service.
The office renovation is almost completed and is looking great.

Thank you again for your review. We look forward to welcoming you again on your next visit to Brisbane.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Stayed for 11 nights in January with wife and two children. Couldn't have been better! From the moment we arrived we were stunned.by the high standard of service and presentation offered. Large two bedroom apartment was spotless, and well equipped for a family with washing machine,drier, two tvs and well equipped kitchen. Plenty of undercover parking including room for trailer. Staff friendly and eficient especially couple in charge! Nothing was a problem and minor issues like light bulb needing to be changed dealt with immediately. Staff able to provide information on public transport and reccomended a cruise on the river using the City Cat fast ferry which was only a 5 minute walk away, rather than expensive tourist cruise. Location is perfect. Only 35 minutes down freway to theme parks! Would have taken longer from Surfers Paradise with all the traffic hassles there!!!! Two pools and lovely bbq area made it feel like a tropical oasis! It is very clear that the managers work very hard to ensure all their guests have a great experience! Well done!!!! We would have no hesitation in recommending Toowong Villas to anyone looking for a place to stay when visiting Brisbane or the Gold Coast.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for your review.
We do value your comments and we have informed our staff of your review and positive statements.
We do try hard to present a friendly atmosphere.
Your comments about the City Cat ferry was welcomed and we will inform all our guests about the City Cat trip for free.
Thank you again for taking time to write your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This place takes advantage of low budget. Its not secure at all. Its clean but it wouldn't be very hard to clean such a small place. Definetly not value for money, but the staff are absoluley lovely. Maybe they should spend more time making the place nice and less being "Lovely".

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking time to write your review. I did respond to your review earlier but for some reason it has not been posted, or it has been posted to the wrong review.
I'm sorry your stay did not meet your expectations.
I am a little confused when you say our rooms are small. Our studio apartment which is the smallest of our apartments is more than twice the size of a standard motel room, plus the bathroom facilities, with additional services such as microvaves and electric frypans included.
We try very hard to make our guests welcome and feel at home as customer service is very important to us.

Thank you again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We are a family of four, 2 adults & 2 children aged 4 & 5 years. We stayed at Toowong Villas over christmas/new year 2012/2013. We had a ground floor, 2 bed unit with small courtyard. Our stay was delightful. All staff super friendly/great location/playground across the street/2 pools used on a daily basis, both very clean/shops within walking distance & seacat to Brisbane city a 5 minute walk away. Lovely quiet location. We had dinner one night at the local hotel "The Regatta" where we ate outside & the children were very welcome.
Would HIGHLY recommend. We were so happy with our stay we are planning on going back next year.

Room Tip: If you have small children & use a stroller ask for a ground floor unit with a fenced courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ToowongVillas, Manager at Toowong Villas, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you very much for your review. Your comments are very much appreciated by our staff and management.
We do try very hard to provide a friendly family atmosphere.
Your room tip was also appreciated and we always endevour to provide any special requests subject to other bookings.
We look forward to your next visit and thank you again for your review.

Jim Donohue
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Toowong Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Toowong Villas

Address: 9 Ascog Terrace | Toowong, Brisbane, Queensland 4066, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#59 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Toowong Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Toowong Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toowong Villas Hotel Brisbane
Toowong Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toowong Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.