We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges South Bank Brisbane to your Saves list
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 164 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2014

Rydges is in a great location on Brisbane’s South Bank within easy walking distance of bars, some good restaurants, the Performing Arts Centre, the Brisbane Wheel, the river front and other attractions. The hotel amenities were good with the CBD café/bar that had street access plus Bacchus restaurant. We only had the buffet breakfast in the restaurant, which offered a wide variety of food in lovely surroundings. We used the on-line check in facility but had left home before receiving our confirmation email so the room we were allocated on line was not the one we ended up with, which we only discovered later. The on-line room was on a higher floor. Our room had limited self-catering facilities and was comfortable enough but a little rejuvenating wouldn’t go amiss. It also overlooked the swimming pool where a loud gathering was held one evening. On ringing reception to ask for the music to be turned down we were told, without apology, that it finished at midnight anyway. Apart from that the hotel was adequate for our needs for the four nights we stayed there.

Room Tip: Don't have a room overlooking the swimming pool on weekends if outdoor functions are the norm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear GentlePetal,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

Please accept my apologies about the mix-up with your room. I cannot say why our online check in system would show a confirmed room number unless you had already been checked into that room. I can only speculate that this was communicated to you in error.
I regards to the noise levels from our Bacchus Pool Deck--we are always vigilant of the noise levels from functions areas and we will do our utmost to minimize, if not eliminate, any disruption that it may cause.

I am glad to read that you enjoyed the Bacchus and CBD restaurants, both have great menus and options throughout the day.
Our Podium Level and Pool Deck had had renovations completed not long ago and we have now turned our attention to our guest rooms and suites.

We hope to be able to welcome you back to the hotel soon.

Kindest regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    476
    217
    62
    32
See reviews for
201
347
66
360
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

The check was smooth and warm There was a minor mix up whether I had paid or not but that was painlessly solved . The hotel was close to Sth Brisbane station , museum , performing arts etc and plenty of restaraunts bars etc . The coffee and breakfast in the attached CBD restraunt were of a reasonable standard ,
The safe in the room was non functional but on reflection I didnt really need it and did not report it .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Grantlym,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad that we were able to rectify your issue on check in quickly.

We occupy a great location in the Brisbane CBD district, close to many great shops, restaurants and entertainment areas.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

Great time at Ridges. Initially when we booked in , we were given a room with a river view which was great but the room itself was small to say the least . My wife called reception to find out if we could upgrade . The staff were fantastic and it wasn't any problem at all for the upgrade
Fantastic service

Room Tip: Get the Suite. Great size room to relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Anthony C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

It is great to see that you and your wife were able to enjoy the hotel and I am glad that our reception team were able to find a room that suited your needs with minimal disruption. We always look to be able to assist our guests in matters such as these and, although we are not able to fulfil requests all of the time, I am glad that on this occasion it was possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Close to museums, convention centre and southbank water park this is really the best part of brisbane. There are plenty of good restaurants out the front. We have stayed here 3 times each time being good. The buffet breakfast is quite grand in the bucchas resto.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear murphy6891,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad to read that you found the location of the hotel convenient and enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

Hotel is in a great location. Rooms are adequate, everything clean and tidy.
Free Wi Fi for one device only.
Lobby was OK and bar next door was good.
The lobby staff were very helpful with parking and umbrellas for the rain

Room Tip: Rooms with a view tend to be above the roads, can be quite noisy, although with the doors closed not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Pam M,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad you found the hotel met your needs duing your stay. We are located in a great area of the Brisbane CBD district, close to many great shops, restaurants and entertainment areas.

We are also glad to be able to offer free unrestricted wireless internet access to our guests which can support in excess of 2 devices at a time. I apologise if there was an issue with the service and I hope we were able to rectify it for you during your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Hotel is adjacent to convention centre and one block walking distance from Brisbane River, right in between South Bank and South Brisbane train stations. Queen size rooms were adequately sized - conveniently, ours had a microwave in the room. We had a room facing the convention centre (away from the riverside) giving us a view of South Brisbane. The railway was several floors below us and barely audible. Hotel has a great location for getting over to the CBD and checking out the surrounding South Bank eateries.

We avoided the breakfast buffet - at $30 per person, a little too pricey for us.

Only drawback was getting a room near the lifts and hearing people talking loudly in the middle of the night after we had gone to sleep - be sure to get a room at one end of the hotel or the other.

We will stay here again next time we are in Brisbane.

Room Tip: Avoid any room near the lifts if you go to sleep early
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Jojufa,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

The Rydges South Bank occupies a great location in the Brisbane CBD district, close to many great restaurants, shops and entertainment areas.

Please accept my apologies for the noise near your room. Should you wish to book again, please make mention of this and we will endeavour to relocate your room so as to avoid this from happening again.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Very friendly staff and a great location with great restaurants nearby. I love staying here everytime I'm in brisbane but one down side is the price of breakfast, you can find better placese nearby that are cheaper but a good place too stay.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Shaun D,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad that you find the Rydges South Bank Brisane to be an enjoyable place to stay whilst you are in Brisbane. The team works tirelessly to create and maintain positive experiences for our guests and we appreciate the kind feedback--thank you.

We look forward to seeing again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: 9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges South Bank Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.