We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and Fab cafe down stairs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges South Bank Brisbane to your Saves list
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great location and Fab cafe down stairs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for a week and found the location to be perfect for us! Just a walk across the bridge to the city centre but fabulous restaurants and cafes a few minutes walk away! Our room was fairly basic but very clean and neat and great sunblock curtains for those early Brissy morns!!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Nikki C,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback.

The hotel is located ideally in the Brisbane CBD district, close to many great restaurants, shops and entertainment areas.
I am glad that you found us to be both convenient and enjoyable during your time with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    494
    221
    64
    33
See reviews for
216
355
70
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Hedland, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I took my partner to Brisbane for his birthday in June, 2014 and we stayed at Rydges Southbank, Brisbane. We didn't dine at the Hotel but will do so the next time we stay. (Yes, we will be staying there again). It's close proximity to dozens of restaurants (La Via in Little Stanley Street in particular) was the reason I chose this Hotel. The staff were all immaculately dressed and well-spoken. The rooms were clean and fresh. As was the linen. I would HIGHLY recommend this Hotel.....Sandra McLean.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are LARGE and SUNNY.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Sandra M,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

Thank you for your kind comments, we appreciate all feedback and I will pass on your kudos to the team.

The hotel has two great dining outlets, the Bacchus Restaurant located on our Podium level and the CBD Cafe located on our ground floor. I encourage you to sample both outlets during your next visit. Otherwise we are, as you correctly point out, close to many great local restaurants, boutique shops and entertainment areas only minutes from our front doors.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

A six night stay while on business found me choosing Rydges because of the convenience of the nearby restaurants, taxi ranks, comfortable room, friendly staff and thoughtful service. I have recommended Rydges to friends and family for business and pleasure.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Jenny S,

Thank you for providing feedback from your stay.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, it is always great to have positive feedback from our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

A warm welcome received as usual. I was given a choice of floor levels - a new experience! Always ready for that free Welcome Drink! I regularly breakfast at the CBD Bar - I've never been disappointed with the food or the service.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front have river views, especially from the higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Ian M,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed yourself whilst with us. Our team work very hard to make our guests happy and I will pass your comments onto them.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,

Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Our stay at rydges south bank was great overall however, there was not enough towels in the room for the amount of people booked (there were 4 towels and 5 people booked to stay) and the mould inside the kettle in the room.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Kyz123,

Thank you for providing us with feedback from your stay.

Please accept my apologies for the lack of towels in your room and the mould in the kettle. I trust we were able to rectify these issues for you promptly.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

First time staying in this hotel. Check in and checkout were quick and seamless, and as a very frequent traveller this is important. Room was spotless, and kept so by housekeeping. Stayed 4 nights including a Friday/Saturday.

Service was always quick and efficient (which is not always a feature of Australian hotels as there are generally fewer staff than Asia).

Concierge helped with casual parking for a brief period for a visiting associate - left a good feeling that staff are actually trying to help rather than just going through the motions.

The CBD restaurant bar was a great experience, exceptional service - very quick and always attentive without being over the top. Food and drink quality great and pretty reasonable prices.

I will not hesitate to stay here again and would certainly recommend to both business and leisure travellers as it is in a great location, right in the middle of the Southbank Precinct, walking distance over the bridge (10 min's to the CBD ) and next to the Convention Centre.

Room Tip: River facing rooms are preferable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear De_Chook,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback form your stay.

I am glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us. Our team works hard to make our guests happy and it is always a pleasure to pass on such positive comments, thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.


Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

After along week at work, an overnight stay at Southbank to walk the night markets and have dinner with the family was desperately needed

The Rydges Concierge service was fantastic which made up for a few issues at reception with our booking and extended to the making of paper aeroplanes with our two young boys!

We were offered a room upgrade with fantastic views of the river and the city and were happy and comfortable.

We highly recommend Rydges for ashore stay with kids.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rui O, Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Matt W,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback from your stay.

Please accept my apologies for the error with your booking. I trust we were able to rectify this issue during your stay. I am happy to see that our Concierge Department were able to provide a superior customer service experience. Our Concierge team members work very hard to make our guests happy and kind feedback such as yours serves as validation of their hard work - thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Kind regards,


Rui Ozorio
Hotel Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: 9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges South Bank Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.