We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location and staff top shelf” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges South Bank Brisbane to your Saves list
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Coolum Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Location and staff top shelf”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

What this hotel lacks in luxury is made up for with the staff friendly and helpful.
Large room great city views
Bathrooms basic but good quality shampoo soaps etc. request city views
Close to almost everything
Swimming at south bank, markets, cafes, movies, museums, opera, ballet, state library, parks, walkways and river boats and city cats all at your door step. Connected via internal access to convention centre. 2 minutes to QPAC. Trains next door - hence city view not train track view.
Cafe on site, concierge knowledgable and very helpful and friendly.
Not a five star hotel but very comfortable
Location makes this hotel.

Room Tip: City views High floor to see city views Corner suites family friendly
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Dear “MushuAnd”

Thank you so much for the review.

It is good to see you have enjoyed your stay at Rydges South Bank. The South Bank precinct is a fantastic place to be, you have summed it up to a tee in your review.

I will pass your kind comments on to all our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.

Thanks again Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    494
    221
    64
    33
See reviews for
216
355
69
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
auckland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

Stayed at Rydges Southbank for 3 nights while attending a conference at the Brisbane exhibition centre. Booked a queen deluxe view room - this is well worth the money, as you get a wonderful balcony with a fantastic view over the city.The location of rydges cannot be beaten, 30 second walk to the conference centre, great views over southbank and the city and one minute walk to some of the best restaurants, bars in brisbane. Check in was very quick but a bit too brief, at the end I had to ask how to get to my room and the guy just pointed "lifts are there" and that was it. Noone assisted me with luggage to the room -which i would assume was a pretty standard service (even though there were a lot of staff around in the lobby). the lifts and corridors are looking pretty old and could definitely do with a room fit. based on this I was dreading the room, but the room was a pleasant surprise. It was relatively modern and cosy, although the bathroom was very very small and could do with some upgrading. The kitchen area was useful, liked the concept of a microwave although I didnt use it. The bed was very comfortable. The room service was of a very high standard.They need to add a table and lights to the balcony to make it more usable. They need to get wifi in rooms (only had internet cable) especially since a lot of business travellers stay here. There is free wifi at the convention centre next door. There was substantial noise in the morning from the current renovations going on at the hotel. Upon checkout the staff were a lot more helpful and ready to assist and even let me keep my luggage in storage while I had a look around the city.I would stay at the rydges again for the location and the view from the balcony which was the best in brisbane i believe! I think once the renovations are complete it would definitely improve the hotel and add more of a luxury side to the services.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, May 19, 2012
Dear “soapieauckland”

Thank you for the review,

The deluxe rooms are certainly worth the extra spend, the views of the Brisbane River and City are stunning. I have said it before but we are extremely fortunate to be located in such a great area.

I apologise for your check in experience being too brief. This is an exception to the usual high standards of customer service. I am glad our staff were able to redeem themselves upon checkout.

Thank you for the feedback on the room, the small kitchen area does prove to be very useful. As mentioned the in-room internet is connected via a cable. There is complimentary WiFi available in the lobby and CBD cafe. Joining the free PriorityGUEST rewards will discount the in-room internet by 50%.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thanks again Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2012

I stayed in this hotel for four nights while attending a conference in the adjacent exhibition centre. The rooms are very comfortable, very clean and have good quality furniture and bedding. there is a good sized TV which annoyingly is always on the pay movies advertising channel when turned on. The breakfast buffet is very good, but expensive at $29.50. The current building work detracts from the hotel because to access the conference centre, you must cross a busy street twice or risk walking on a very narrow closed footpath. The internal access between the hotel and centre is closed, and the swimming pool is not yet complete.
Even on the tenth floor, there was noticeable noise from the adjacent roads and railway line.
$289 per night seems a lot for room only, but is perhaps OK for a quality hotel in the city centre. What does annoy is the constant attempts at extracting extra revenue: $0.70 per minute for in-room internet, $7.50 for a domestic beer in the mini bar, a 1.5% surcharge for credit card on checking out (the first time I have ever experienced this in a hotel). Overall though a pleasant stay. There is free, quite fast wifi in the lobby area

Room Tip: As high as possible to avoid train noise, and the river (NE) side of the hotel would be quieter. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear “shk292”

Thank you for your feedback,

It’s good to read your room was comfortable and clean. The buffet breakfast does have a wide range of choices, for any future stays, if the breakfast is pre-booked at reception the night before it will discount to $25.

Whilst the Podium Level development is still in progress, the direct walkway to the convention centre is closed. The main entrance of the Convention Centre is located on the corner of Glenelg and Merivale Street, no need to cross any streets.

PriorityGUEST Rewards is the hotels loyalty program and it is free to join, this can be done at reception. Joining the program will discount the in-room internet by 50% to $14.50 per day, whilst it is not free it certainly helps. There are also many more discounts being a member, the full list is available on rydges.com.

The hotel opts to show the credit card transaction fee itemised whilst others will incorporate them.

I look forward to welcoming you to the hotel in the future.

Thanks again Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Byron Bay
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We normally stay in the CBD in Brisbane but South Bank is a much better place, especially right on eat street (Gray St). Food choices were limited (more vegan options please) so we didn't use the hotel restaurants, but the restaurants across the road had plenty of choices. The street is noisy all night but that's part of the city experience I guess. Very close to the river, the Performing Arts Centre, the museum and the art galleries and a short walk to the Rivercat or the bridge over the river into the CBD if you feel like walking. The rooms are basic without the little touches we expect in expensive hotels, but the staff were anxious to help - special thanks to the young man who carefully explained how to get back to the highway through all the roadworks that surrounded the hotel like a besieging army.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, May 14, 2012
Dear “batsami”

Thank you very much for the review,

Welcome to South Bank, I think more and more people are discovering South Bank and coming to stay this side of the river. As mentioned the vast selection of restaurants, museum, the art gallery, but we also have the views of the river and city.

The transformation of the new Podium Level is well underway, on this level will be our new restaurant Bacchus set to open in September, I certainly recommend a visit.

Thank you for your comments regarding our staff, I will be sure to pass them on.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the future.

Thanks again Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

Location is perfect for events at the Brisbane Convention Centre or Southbank. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable. Minor problems (blown bulb in bathroom) were fixed quickly and without fuss. Check in and out was seamless and staff extremely polite and helpful. Valet parking was great, and while expensive - as anywhere in the city is - it was convenient and we were able to drop the car off early (0830) on the day of check in, and pick it up late (1700) on the day we checked out. There was even a bottle of chilled water in the car with our bags when the car was brought up for us. Hotel definitely on the expensive side, but comfortable and pleasant stay. Lots of places around to eat and only a short walk to the city.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear TravellerToowoomba,

Thank you for the review,

Our location in South Bank and being attached to the Convention Centre is very handy indeed. I find we have space in South Bank and none of the city traffic.

I would like thank you for your comments regarding our staff, we try to accommodate guest needs whenever we can and glad to see we could help you with your vehicle. The bottled water is part of the service, but believe it is those extra touches that count.

We look forward to your next visit.

Thanks again Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

Staying quite frequently in this hotel, its always a pleasure. Great staff who will go out their way to make your stay comfortable. The rooms are clean and spacious. Even better when you have signed up on their loyalty program like me and get a complementary upgrade to King suite from time to time.
Breakfast is great with a big variety and fresh unlike some other places I have come across in Brisbane. I love sitting in their CBD bar, which is open to Grey St., for a snack and a couple of drinks after work.
For me, the location of the hotel is one of the best with great restaurants and pubs just around the corner.
The south bank parkland is just across the road and if you stay over the weekend, go to the South bank market but be prepared to put up a fight with your missus about who will take care of the credit card! Last time I lost that fight.. Missus=credit card, me=packed up like a donkey. But I certainly will not blame the Rydges for that....

Room Tip: For a nice view over the Brisbane river try to get a room in the North-East corner of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
Dear “Healesvillebilly”

Thank you very much for the review!

We are very grateful for your loyalty and it is great to see our staff are going the extra mile.

The PriorityGUEST program is fantastic, it offers so much for members and there is no cost. As mentioned when available the complementary room upgrades.

The buffet breakfast currently situated on Level 12 combines great food with great views, a match made in heaven.

Unfortunately I think the fight will always have the same ending as South Bank has so much to offer.

Thank you again, I look forward to welcoming you back to Rydges and South Bank soon.

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Nice hotel but undergoing construction at the moment. Its in a good location in southbank by the river. There was a Buddhist festival while I was there and fireworks and a Ferris Wheel which was beautifully lit. Its a short stroll (10 min) to get over the river to the city and mall. There are several good restaurants within a short 15 to 20 minute walk as well. The conference centre is the next building so it is very convenient if you are attending a conference. The only other hotel nearby is Mantra which is one block further away.

Good points:
location for conference and not too far from city
room was comfortable although not massive in size
room service good

Bad points:
$29 per day for internet with no wifi in rooms (ethernet cable)! Can you believe there are still hotels in big cities which charge for wifi? At least it was reasonably fast. They didn't charge extra for air and water so I guess thats a positive :)
breakfast very expensive $30 ish so didn't have it (I bought cereals and my own milk and there is a sink and microwave in the main room like a little kitchenette).
charge for using credit cards (1.5% MC V and 3% Amex ...or thereabouts)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott W, Duty Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, May 10, 2012
Dear “Peripotetic”

Thank you for the review,

Times are changing and we are going along for the ride, the hotel is indeed modernizing it appearance to keep up with current trends.

South Bank is a fantastic location to be for the reasons you have mentioned and many more.

The hotel has a broadband connection in the rooms, if you join as a Priority Guest which is free to do so at the reception this will discount the internet to $14.50 per day. There are many more benefits and discounts of being a member listed on our website.
The hotel also offers complimentary WiFi in the lobby area and the CBD bar & cafe.

The buffet breakfast on level 12 is one of the options available for breakfast, if the buffet is not to your liking the CBD Cafe is open from 06:30 serving A’la Carte breakfast.

Once again thank you.

Scott
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: 9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges South Bank Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.