We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rydges South Bank Brisbane December 2011” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges South Bank Brisbane to your Saves list
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dubbo, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Rydges South Bank Brisbane December 2011”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2011

Overnight stay at Rydges South Bank with wife and two children in a King Suite. Obtained a good rate from the Rydges web site through their free Priority Guest Membership.
The King Suite was smaller than the Queen Suite I had stayed in on previous stay but was still comfortable. Room had a partial view of river from balcony blocked by the Queensland Conservatorium and other buildings. The airconditioners for the Conservatorium are directly opposite the hotel and we found them to be vey noisy when we sat on the balcony or left the balcony doors open. There were only two chairs provided on the balcony so children sat on the floor.
The room was clean but a few scuffs on furniture and walls impacted on overall aesthetics. The king bed (as opposed to singles pushed together as seems prevalent in some other hotels in Brisbane) was very comfortable. However, the children were not overly impressed with the sofa bed - more than one night might have been to much for 2 children sharing the sofa bed.
Breakfast, temporarily being served on the 12th floor as they are renovating the ground floor restaurant, was ok - usual fare - nothing special.
Location of the hotel is great for tourists wanting to visit South Bank but there is a little walk into the city.

Room Tip: Try to get a room above level 6 for best available views of river and city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear ‘George S,’

Many thanks for the review.

It’s nice to read hear that you were able to take advantage of our free membership program and booking a discounted rate for your stay with us. I appreciate your comments all round; regarding the great location and the notations regarding the improvements which we can work towards.

Thanks again for the review; I hope to see you again.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    494
    221
    64
    33
See reviews for
216
355
69
372
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Greenwell Point, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2011

I have stayed many times at Southbank Rydges for both work and pleasure, and nearly everytime I have been happy with the service, room and location. I have stayed at many Rydges hotels around Australia and this is probably the best. I am a Priority Club member and couldn't be happier with the benefits you receive, basically for free, it's certainly worthwhile as a frequent traveller.
I have certainly observed an overall improvement in service over the past 2 years from all areas of the hotel, even when things do go wrong as they did for me recently. The manager personally emailed me, apologised, and provided me and my family with an upgraded room and complimentary breakfast in our next visit - what more could we ask for?
For me, this is the sign of a good hotel, striving to get it right everytime but if they don't doing something about it. Great place!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 22, 2011
Dear ‘Pointwilliams,’

Thanks for the review!

Thank you for your return custom; it was great to read of your positive experience especially given the issue as noted from your previous stay. I appreciate your promotion of our Rydges PriorityGUEST program; it is indeed a really great and easy option for our guests to take advantage of with no fees and no commitments.

Thanks again for the review; I trust we’ll see you again.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, England
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We've stayed at this hotel several times over the past ten years.
When in Brissie this is always our chosen hotel. We always ask for the same room and have been fortunate to have our request granted.
NYE is so special here as our room has a fireworks view.
The city is just a short stroll away as is The Gabba.
Southbank gardens are lovely with some amazing restaurants in the area.
Definately worth a visit.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 16, 2011
Dear ‘Tattyadams,’

Thank you for the review and your continued custom.

It’s lovely to hear of your continued positive experiences with us especially across the NYE period which proves to be an ever popular event especially for the South Bank precinct. The precinct as noted is lined with some fantastic restaurants and cafes; this certainly adds to the life in the area and attracts many visitors.

Thanks again for the review; we hope to see you again in the coming future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

The title says it all, actually.

It's OK, in that it was a roof over our heads, but there are a million better three star hotels in this world.

It did what it said on the cover, but that is all. So I'm agreeing with most of the other TripAdvisor reviews. A bit tired, good location for the conference centre, overpriced, very ordinary.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear “NeillnOz51,”

Thanks for the review.

It’s dissapointing to read your review; I appreciate your comments and we will take your thoughts on board moving forwards. Glad to hear that the location was a positive for you.

Thank you again for the review.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2011

I expected more from this place. Whilst in a great location, the fit out in the rooms were a bit cheap. Not much quality for the price paid.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear “Deliver As Promised,”

Thank you for for staying and the review.

I appreciate your comments. The Brisbane accommodation market has been very strong this last year which has increased rates throughout the city; the city however is now approching a quieter trading period and there will be some very competitive offers in the market.

Thank you again for the review.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2011

My Husband and I stayed in a Queen Deluxe Suite for 1 night last week for the start of a romantic holiday. This was the worst accommodation we stayed in and we were so glad we had only booked 1 night here. The room is too small and feels run down. The bathroom is so small and poorly designed you have to step over the toilet to get into the bath, not suitable for showering together. The shower head could not be adjusted so you were hammered with a heavy stream of water and could not wait to get out. The air con did not work well enough, it seemed to flucuate during the night so we were hot then cold. We ordered room service and the food was only just warm and was not good quality. On the positive side, the buffet breakfast was exceptional and the service, in particular the valet service was also excellent. We appreciated the bottle of water left in the vehicle when we departed. Fortunately for us our other accommodations were much better for the same price we paid so would not stay with Rydges even again.

Room Tip: Another Hotel maybe
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear “Narelle S”

Thank you for the review.

It’s dissapointing to read your review as we do at all times aim to maintain our standards. The shower head sounds like it was faulty, the airconditioning not quiet right and the room service temperature and quality not to our normal specifications.

I was pleased to read that the buffet breafast, the concierge service and the gesture in your vehicle were all well received.

Thank you again for the review.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

As I was attending a conference at the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, this hotel was ideal due to its location. It also is within walking distance to everything on Southbank, which was fantastic, as we were travelling as a group, and it meant that we could walk everywhere.

In terms of the accommodation rooms, the decor is old and dated, the bed was hard and uncomfortable, bathroom is tiny and poorly layed out and the airconditioning barely worked.

Check-in was terrible - we arrived at 2pm and stood at reception for 15mins while the receptionist "organised our room" - and where then told that the room was not ready and do we mind waiting... we didnt get the key to the room until after 3pm.

All other aspects of the hotel were positive - there is a great function room upstairs which offers gorgeous views of Brisbane, decent breakfast buffet and nice bar downstairs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, December 11, 2011
Dear “traveling_princess1”

Thank you for the review.

Glad to hear that you enjoyed the location, our breakfast, CBD Cafe Bar and the Level 12 Function Room. I apologise for the delays on check in; we do aim to have all rooms ready for a 2pm check in and it is dissapointing to read that this was missed and that your issue was not resolved prior to departing. I appreciate your comments regarding the rooms and we definately take these comments on board with planning for future projects.

Again thank you for reviewing your stay.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: 9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges South Bank Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.