We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rydges South Bank Brisbane to your Saves list
Rydges South Bank Brisbane
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2011

We are regulars at Rydges South Bank and really wanted to leave a review to say thanks to the entire team! As Rydges members you get the whole package of a late checkout and welcome back drink which is nice - but have also had upgrades as well. Breakfast is always good value here whether in room service or the buffet. Location is fantastic right in the middle of Southbank for eating, drinking and cultural events. They ahve good deals with sows plus room as well. Parking is expensive - but that's Brisbane! Close to cross river ferry to get around Brisbane. We styaed once the night before a cruise and the ship was delayed until alte in the night and they let us have the room till 7pm with no extra charge! Staff all friendly and overall a great value for money with spacious rooms and balconies.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear ‘PandSMadison,’

Thank you for reviewing your stay and a special big thanks on the rating; much appreciated!

Glad to hear that all round you have been experiencing a high level of service and satisfaction which keeps you coming back. As Rydges PriorityGUEST members there are definitely some good savings to be had and we’re glad to see our active members taking advantage of their benefits!

Again, thank you for the review; we’ll see you back at Rydges South Bank Brisbane in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    492
    221
    64
    33
See reviews for
215
355
69
371
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
japan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2011

Wife and I were quickly seated for breakfast and we felt it was one of the best we had had. Excellent hot food, cereals, fruit, coffee, pancake machine made 2 pancakes a go in 1 minute. Impressed by the table clearer who had the tables cleared and cleaned in an orderly fashion to prepare for the next guests. Walked to South Brisbane station with suitcases in tow and it was only 7 minutes. Laundry room located on Level M open from 6AM-10PM. Times seems to be kept as I went after 10PM and it was closed. The next morning got there at 6:17 and did some washing. Stayed in Room 210. Nothing special. The toilet seat didn`t manage to stay up, which men are used to do when doing their business, and the cold water shower tap came off in my hand. Not sure how housekeeping could fail to notice that, which lowered the rating.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear ‘Aussie_Bushman,’

Thank you for reviewing your very recent stay with us.

We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed the service and food selection at our daily buffet breakfast served in Parklands Restaurant.

I’m terribly sorry for the maintenance issues as described; both are problems which should have been identified and amended prior to your arrival.

Again thank you for taking the time to review your stay; I hope to welcome you back to Rydges South Bank Brisbane in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed in a suite (special deal) to stay overnight and take in a show at QPAC on our 37th wedding anniversary. Arrived early and got into the room at 10:30 in the morning with a complimentary bottle of fizzy arriving 10 minutes later. Suite was great, fabulous view, and let us entertain our friends easily prior to going to a restaurant before the theatre. Great location with plenty of restaurants nearby. We ate at a fusion Asian - Obsession, which was good. Stay capped off by excellent buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
Dear ‘mar7har,’

Many thanks for reviewing your stay!

Thanks you for spending and celebrating your 37th Anniversary with us. Glad to hear we were able to accommodate your early check in and that the overnight accommodation in one of our suites lived up to your expectations. Fantastic to see that you ventured out to the local businesses for dinner; better yet started your day off at Parklands Restaurant for the buffet breakfast.

Thanks again for your review and your custom; we hope to see you again!

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

We stayed for a Saturday night on the 'Wicked' package on this occasion, and have stayed here on several other occasions for a night out on the town. The hotel is well situated to to the Southbank restaurant and theatre preciinct. The buffet breakfast is very nice.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear ‘myoc2001,’

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay and your continued business.

I glad to hear that you were able to take advantage of the ‘Wicked Package’ in conjunction with your booking at QPAC and that you enjoyed your stay and the package inclusions.

Thanks again, we look forward to your next stay with us.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

The location of this hotel is great if you are planning on going to a show at the Lyric Theatre or vising the museums and state library. Out the door and South Bank is right there with all its restaurants and attractions. A quick walk across the bridge to the city centre as well. The city cat is right on the doorstep as well for access to others areas of the city.

Hotel itself has had an upgrade and is very presentable. Worth $350 - $400 a night mid week? - I think not but for a weekend getaway 'special' rate is is good value. The hotel rooms are nothing out of the ordinary but clean and comfortable. Breakfast in the restaurant was excellent, lots to choose from and all kept hot and fresh.

Our check in time was 2pm. Late enough for a weekend away but when we arrived we found that our room was not ready. We finally got in just before 3pm (after sitting in the lobby waiting). While the reception staff were very polite and apologised this was not a good start to our stay. The next morning we found the cleaners camped outside our room waiting for us to check out. Not good enough for a supposed 4.5 star hotel. Rydges, you need to do much better.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear ‘Relal,’

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I apologise for the two concerns regarding housekeeping; firstly with the room delays and then with the cleaners awaiting your departure. We do at all times organise as best as possible to have all guest rooms available from 2pm and for me it was disappointing to read no attempt by the team to resolve the waiting time issue as noted.

I appreciate the time taken to describe our location and the ease of moving to and from the city’s attractions; South Bank is a fantastic area in Brisbane for all guests of all walks of life. I’m also pleased to read of your experiences from Breakfast.

Again thank you for the review; I hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

Reception is always accommodating, the comp fruit platter makes you feel welcomed, rooms are well fitted out with all necessary comforts to make staying with children so easy, immaculately clean and housekeeping staff are always extremely polite, unobtrusive and efficient, and the professional concierge boys would always have a way of making us all laugh.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear ‘RuthNoosa,’

Thank you for reviewing your very recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I appreciate your glowing review; as a team we pride ourselves on our service, product and delivery and it is always great to see it when these core values shine through in a guest’s experience.

Thanks again, we look forward to seeing you on your next return to Brisbane.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

Stayed at Rydges as it was close to QPAC for a theatre night. The front office staff were polite and competent to a point. They asked what newspaper we wanted in the morning and then proceeded to bring the wrong one....

We were able to secure a room on a high floor. However it was not much of a view - we were on the train line side!! We weren't bothered by the noise though. The room was clean and of good size. The bed was comfortable and there was enough pillows and extra blankets.

One thing we didn't like was the bathroom. There wasn't an exhaust fan (as far as we could tell!!) and the steam from the shower was almost unbearable. It steamed up the mirror and would not dissipate even when the door was open for some time. Only minor thing really but a bit annoying when you need the mirror for makeup etc.

No wifi.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FOM-RydgesSB, Front Office Manager at Rydges South Bank Brisbane, responded to this review, August 17, 2011
Dear ‘Salman_QLD,’

Thank you for reviewing your very recent stay with us at Rydges South Bank Brisbane.

I’m glad to hear that you had an overall positive experience and that your interactions where memorable with the team. I apologise for the oversight with the newspaper delivery in the morning and appreciate your notation regarding the vent in the bathroom and the difficulty clearing the steam as noted.

I hope this glitch doesn’t deter you from considering us as an accommodation option moving forward and I hope to see you back in the near future.

Kindest Regards,


Scott Levey – Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rydges South Bank Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rydges South Bank Brisbane

Address: 9 Glenelg Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#38 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rydges South Bank Brisbane 4.5*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rydges South Bank is situated in Brisbane’s most enviable location, the South Bank arts and entertainment precinct. The hotel adjoins with the Brisbane Convention Centre via a walkway, it is only a few minutes walk to the Queensland Performing Arts Centre, the Queensland Museum, State Library of Queensland and the new magnificent Gallery of Modern Art. Downtown Brisbane, Treasury Casino and the Queen Street Mall are an easy 10 minute stroll away. With Bacchus South Bank & CBD Cafe, Bar and Dining both located at Rydges you don't need to go far for a fantastic food and beverage selection. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Rydges South Bank Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rydges South Bank Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Rydges South Bank Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Rydges South Bank

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rydges South Bank Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.