We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay but not great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane International - Virginia

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Brisbane International - Virginia to your Saves list
Brisbane International - Virginia
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Sandgate & Zillmere Roads | Boondall, Brisbane, Queensland 4034, Australia (Formerly Virginia Palms International)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
10% off room rate
Ranked #25 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Okay but not great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

Make sure you book a room that is not on Sandgate Road. Overall not the worse hotel I've stayed at over the years.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    126
    54
    12
    6
See reviews for
65
75
22
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2011

Stayed here in January for the Buble concert at Boondall - very nice, comfortable rooms, good service, nice breakfast - great location to get back to after a Entertainment Centre event

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bli Bli, Australia
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

I recently stayed at this hotel to attend a wedding reception. Whoever trains the staff obviously understands efficiency but it comes at the expense of good manners and civility. Not every guest is out to rip the establishment off or is a room wrecker in waiting. First, after having paid for the room at check in, a requirement, I was further required to leave a credit card imprint for the amount of $100. I explained that I did not require the mini bar but there was absolutely no exception. Why don't they just lock the mini bar and provide me with a second fridge for milk, juice and water? To begin a guest stay with a "we don't trust you" is not a good start.

The room was a good size. Everything worked. No biscuits provided. Only uht milk unless you went to the kitchen and asked for fresh! The television was on a table that was too low and the screen was way too small for the room. The remote had flat batteries. Only a shower curtain too. At AUD$160 for a suburban hotel, I would expect better value. A louvre screen in lieu of a curtain let too much light in but our room was quiet and clean. Good sized car parking at the door.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room with two beds. They have a small table and two bucket chairs. Our room w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

The fresh barramundi with grilled potato cakes and smoked tomato, caper & dill salsa was dreadful. The fish was dark, tough and tasteless. The potato cakes were soggy and the salsa dry and overpowering in flavor. Such a shame for a nice looking restaurant. Not a pleasant meal - I won't be back.

Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gold coast
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

we haved stayed at the Palms International now a few times as our son's school is convieniently located across the road from the hotel. It is not a 5 star hotel having once stayed in the smaller rooms at the front of the hotel, however the apartments are modern, spacious and comfortable and suited our needs.

The dinner and the service was a little dissapointing having to wait a while for our main meals and we also had creme brulee for dessert which was more like scrambled eggs. The restaurant staff also seemed uninterested in doing their jobs and were more interested in talking and laughing with each other.

The check in desk is a whole other kettle of fish. The lady who we dealt with on our first stay was warm and friendly and nothing was a problem. On our second stay we had the reception manager serve us who was in the foulest of moods and never once smiled.

We later had a dispute and she never once apologised or offered any compensation and was extremely rude.

We will be staying elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
509 reviews 509 reviews
76 hotel reviews
Reviews in 170 cities Reviews in 170 cities
276 helpful votes 276 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

I have stayed at the Virginia Palms about 8 times (16 nights) over the past 4 years on business related trips. From my perspective, it's handy to the the airport - about 20 minutes by cab - and the conference facilities suit my needs very well.
This is not a 5 star hotel so you shouldn't expect any special luxuries or first class treatment. It does have a lovely swimming pool area, but don't expect resort style facilities.
What you will get is a well run 3.5 star establishment offering clean, modern rooms in a tidy and pleasant environment that represents very good value for your money.
The staff are cheerful and helpful and the on-site RockLilly restaurant offers an attractive (if somewhat limited) menu at very fair prices. There are also several other eateries (including another hotel) within reasonable walking distance.
One other thing worth mentioning... they seem to be able to retain their staff and this is, in itself, a good sign.
All in all this hotel is good value!

Room Tip: get an updated (rear) room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2011

It was a convenient place to stay, close to the airport and reasonably affordable however once you are there it certainly is a bit of an eye opener. On arrival the front desk clerk (Patrina) was very hostile and not very helpful and didn't explain the location of the room clearly hence I got lost. The rooms are very dated stepping back to the 60's however they were very clean and neat. The dinner was abismal having to wait over 50 minutes for a steak which was overcooked and cold and feeling like they should have made more of an effort with the service as the restaurant was not very full. The breakfast buffet was lovely with the service a lot better however was very annoyed to see Patrina in there giggling and talking very loudly with one of the chefs drinking coffee. On check out Patrina was there again however this time was talking about her weekend and drinking coffee with two other blonde haired female staff members in the middle of the foyer and contined to talk with them while checking me out. It is very dissapointing to see such a level of casualness and unprofessionalism having myself worked in the industry for many years. The general manager should be concerned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisInt, General Manager at Brisbane International - Virginia, responded to this review, August 3, 2011
We pride ourselves on delivering outstanding customer service and an enjoyable stay for all our guests. It is therefore concerning to receive your feedback to advise that this was not the experience you enjoyed.The quality of our service is continually monitored and we encourage all forms of input from our guests to ensure our standards are being met. We certainly take on board your comments and continue to improve in this area.Customer Service is one area we consistently receive compliments and positive feedback and Petrina is regularly recoginised for her performance in this area.I would like the opportunity to personally address the review comments from your recent stay with us. The best email address is glenn@palmsinternational.com.au or by telephone (07) 3265 7066. I look forward to hearing from you. Regards, Glenn Barnes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisbane International - Virginia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane International - Virginia

Address: Cnr Sandgate & Zillmere Roads | Boondall, Brisbane, Queensland 4034, Australia (Formerly Virginia Palms International)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#20 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#22 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#28 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Brisbane International - Virginia 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the north side of Brisbane, Brisbane International - Virginia is a four star property set amongst 10 acres of lush, tropical gardens. A variety of accommodation is available from a hotel room to a fully serviced one or two bedroom apartment... whatever your accommodation needs, there is something to suit you. We are located only 3 kms away from the Brisbane Entertainment Centre, perfectly situated for the next time you're in town to see your favourite perform in concert. Brisbane International and Domestic Airport are also just 15 mins away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Brisbane International - Virginia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Virginia Palms International Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisbane International - Virginia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.