We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed before- Will stay again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane to your Saves list
Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   18 MacGregor Street (Cnr Logan Road) Upper Mount, Brisbane, Queensland 4122, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 163 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stayed before- Will stay again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Excellent hotel. Good clean rooms. A tad small perhaps but so what? I doubt your staying at this hotel for a vacation, more as a traveller for convenience. Staff is superb and professional. Breakfast is perfectly priced for what you get.

Set off the main road so it was quiet as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asiatraveller5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeDM, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear asiatraveller5000

Thank you for taking the time to write your recent review. We continually strive to maintain a high standard with the presentation of our hotel and the service you receive from the team here at Travelodge Garden City.
We are an ideal location for all types of travellers and we agree the quietness of the area is a definate plus.
We continue to appreciate great feedback and certainly hope we can welcome you back soon to Travelodge Garden City.
Regards
Kelli
Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

A lovely hotel with friendly and professional reception staff. Rooms are somewhat small but modern, clean and comfortable. Free hotel parking close and handy to reception. Very close to Garden City Shopping Centre which has everything including some great restaurants. Westfield Carindale Shopping Centre also only a ten minute drive away. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeDM, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Sue T
Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay. We a proud to offer a product that meets the guest expectations, if not exceeds them. Our hotel is clean and without fuss, and offers guests a great location and service to many of the local attractions, without the need to be in the inner city. We appreciate your recommendations and hope to welcome you back to the hotel soon.
Regards
Kelli, Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

room was nice, big (even though we were actually booked in a disabled access room), clean. location is great. love the free parking. great location. It would be good if they could add more washing machines and dryers as there were only one of each. Will definitely stay here again if ever we will travel back to brisbane

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Racquel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeDM, Front Office Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hello Raquel B
Thank you for your recent review on Trip Advisor. We actually consider the easy access rooms as an upgrade as they having a larger floor area and allow you that extra space if needed. We do value the free parking as a great incentive to our guests. It is understandable that the washing machines can become busy at times, but they are efficient and have a fairly quick cycle time. We do hope to welcome you back to the Travelodge sometime soon.
Regards
Kelli - Duty Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The room was ok, the bathroom wasn't as clean as it should be. The pillows were old and uncomfortable. The breakfast is to be avoided at all costs. The cereal was stale. There was not hot milk. The orange juice was heavily diluted and I didn't even other with the hot food. Another irritating factor was that there was a Chinese tour bus of people staying over the night I stayed and they made so much noise throughout the night until about 3am! Then the next morning at breakfast I picked a bad time because they were all there and completely took over. I had to wait for everything from making coffee to pouring juice. This I know cannot be blamed on the hotel but they could have made special arrangements for such a large group of guests. One positive was the friendly reception.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Megan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Megan C,

I wish to thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

Management and team strive to provide an optimum product and we acknowledge your thoughts and appreciate them as areas of potential improvement.

Our buffet breakfast restaurant caters for many guests with needs which also vary both from a menu point and the time frame in which they have to dine. We pride ourselves on the range we offer, and our recent renovation as created a streamline process for our diners move around the restaurant. I must assure you that our juice is freshly squeezed, with no dilution. Our new cereal dispensers ensure a sealed and even portion control for all servings. We do not however provide hot milk as an option due to the potential risks.

I wish to thank you for your comments regarding the team, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Colleagues and myself have been staying here on business for literally years. Service is good, location and rooms are good. We have always enjoyed ourselves.
Recently this motel has undergone a change in bed linen. Previously there was a top and bottom sheet and a blanket(s) on each bed. Now there is a bottom sheet and a doona; no top sheet. If your side of the bed is warmer than your partners, once you throw the doona off there is nothing to cover yourself with lightly ... there are of course the blankets in the cupboard but we don't like them against bare skin.
Perhaps we are just old fashioned, but we did like that top sheet. Regulating bed temperature was easier by just adding or taking off a blanket; now its all or nothing

Room Tip: Opposite side to the car-park seems quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelpied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Kelpied

I appreciate the feedback regarding your recent stay at Travelodge Garden City.

Thank you, without guest's offering constructive criticism, I am unable to take action. As pointed out, we have moved to doonas minus a top sheet (European Style) and has been met with mixed reactions. I am currently correlating and hope in the near future that top sheets will become standard, however are available on request at all times.

Kelpied, moving forward, please at time of reservation request a top sheet and our team will organise with housekeeping.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I booked a room here online so didn't receive any directions. When you know how to find the place it is a hidden Gem. Reception were very friendly quick check in and great attitude. Room was exceptionally clean and quiet and everything worked. Nice bed great linen and fluffy towels. The location is fairly central to everything on Brisbanes Southside. On a weekend when anything comparable was $180 plus we found the value great at $130. We are a fan and we'll stay again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Colin S

I appreciate you taking the time to offer feedback regarding your stay at Travelodge Garden City.

The team strives at all times to exceed the guest's expectations and from your comments I am pleased to hear they excelled on this occasion.

Colin S, I look forward to welcoming you back when next you travel our way.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
87 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

One would hope that being booked by a travel agent, with half a dozen work colleagues staying at the same time, with previous history at this hotel one would not be booked right next door to the elevator. Not happy and hence the poor rating. Australian Hotels and repeat guests must be treated with respect. It was noisy, loud and lead to a lack of sleep.

That being said its a very good hotel but I had a poor experience.

A very good hotel in that the 'extra's are no existent or limited' no room service, in room dining, mini bar, or decent wifi at a fair price.

That being said the room size, bedding, bathroom, tv, pillows and staff are excellent and I have no problems in that regard.

But a bit of care for business travelers. One expects better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sleepy_Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tgcy, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Sleepy_Holidays

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent return stay at Travelodge Garden City.

I appreciate all comments made and am pleased I was able to update your profile and advise in writing previously, our action moving forward for your return stays.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely
Sue Rowe
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brisbane hotels
7.9 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane
7.5 mi away
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane on George
7.9 mi away
Meriton Serviced Apartments Brisbane on Herschel Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
9.4 mi away
Brisbane International - Windsor
1.4 mi away
The Glen Hotel and Suites
The Glen Hotel and Suites
#12 of 163 in Brisbane
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane

Address: 18 MacGregor Street (Cnr Logan Road) Upper Mount, Brisbane, Queensland 4122, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane Region > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#42 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Odigeo so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Garden City Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Brisbane
Travel Lodge Brisbane
Mt Gravatt Travel Lodge
Brisbane Travel Lodge
Brisbane Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing