We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY AT TINBILLY BRISBANE! WORST HOSTEL EVER!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Base Brisbane Uptown

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Base Brisbane Uptown to your Saves list
Base Brisbane Uptown
3.0 of 5 Hostel   |   466 George Street | Cnr Herschel & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Tinbilly Travellers)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #56 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
lancashire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT TINBILLY BRISBANE! WORST HOSTEL EVER!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

After the Leaflet said "24 hour reception and check in" we arrived at 6.30am to this hostel which we had pre-booked only to find the worst ever reception guy who was rude, completely unhelpful and had the worst attitude I have ever come across! when working with the general public I suggest you employ staff that have at least minimal people skills! We were told by this rude reception guy that we couldn't check in until 12pm and to go off and get breakfast and then maybe he would let us into the TV room! unfortunately as we are backpacking we have our own provisions for breakfast and decided not to go when he told us. He then unenthusiastically let us up to the TV room! this was an absolute tip! cockroaches all over the kitchen sides (and I mean loads!) Because of the reception guys attitude and the bugs we decided to stay somewhere else.... after informing the reception guy who's reply was "well apart from me forcing the money out of you there is nothing i can do!" how about a sorry or how can we keep your business? he threw the luggage key at us and we left. We then called BRISBANE BACKPACKERS RESORT who immediately came to pick us up, we had a fantastic stay at this hostel they have a pool, very friendly and helpful staff! we had a lucky escape from Tinbilly! DISGUSTING STAFF MEMBER AND HOSTEL! will tell everyone not to go here, EVER!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    41
    29
    22
    18
See reviews for
4
19
54
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2010

I stayed in the Tin with a group of friends after moving from another hostel in Brisbane that was filthy. From the start Tinbillys was great - it was one of the cheapest weekly rates we could find in town and definately one of the cleanest! Fair enough some of the rooms aren't the biggest but we had stayed in a lot smaller and cleaners come around every morning to clean the rooms, change bed linen and clean bathrooms. There are lockers in the rooms and even the bigger dorms are great for meeting new people.

It's located just opposite roma station so its great for getting outside the city and roma park great for bbq's or game of football. pub downstairs is prob one of the highlights! there is always something on there & cheap drink and watch out for travel prizes if ur goin travelling up the east coast cos they always have free fraser island trips or sky dives on offer and are easy to win! staff couldnt have been more helpful and reception will sort you out with any kind of bookings or a chat! would def recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2010

Contender for the worst hostel I stayed at during my trip- the 8 bed dorm wasn't big enough for everyone and their stuff, there were cockroaches in the room that I reported to reception & they lied & said we'd be moved but we weren't, the bathroom floor was constantly disgusting, my food was stolen 3 times (only place I've ever had food stolen), a pile of papers went missing from my room (I assume the cleaners threw them away but it wasn't rubbish- postcards, magazine, money off vouchers etc.) staff didn't apologise or offer to do anything about either incidents, the kitchen was dirty with nowhere to put clean dishes to dry & no clean teatowels & the eating/TV area stank of smoke constantly because some genius put a smoking balcony next to it.

Basically, there are other hostels in Brisbane that are cheaper, more central and most importantly, not crap!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager466, Front Office Manager at Base Brisbane Uptown, responded to this review, September 2, 2010
JoRowlingRocks
Thanks for reviewing our hostel, we appreciate all feedback good and bad as it helps us to improve our services to all future guests. We've now amended our procedures to make sure this doesn't happen again.
Enjoy the rest of your trip and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2010

This was the first hostel me and a friend had stayed in during our trip to Australia, and we were very impressed. The check in was quick and easy, we found beds right away, and there was no problem getting us a room. We had a group come in each day to clean the bathroom and vacuum. We didn't really cook so we didn't get a chance to see the kitchen, but the bar was pretty nice. We liked the cleanliness, location, and organization of the hostel. The only thing that some people may not like is that it is a very loud hostel. In each room there are speakers and some nights (especially the weekend) there are loud announcements trying to get more people to come into the bar. Other than that it's really great to stay at!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2010

I stayed here due to its location and recommendations from friends who have stayed there previously. It is a nice, pleasant hostel, with everything that you need. There is a great bar, which serves ok food, which is fairly cheap, and hosts theme nights - karaoke is the best!! I stayed in a 4 bedded mixed room, which was an ok size, a little on the small size, but bathroom nice and spacious, clean and shower good. Beds as good as your gonna get.
Brisbane itself is lovely, but as a tourist, theres not a lot to do. However, if you go over to the Southbank, you'll find the great 'fake beach', cinema and great places to eat.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2009

i wouldn't stay there if i went to brisbane again.the rooms are too crowded...

Stayed July 2009, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2009

its an ok place except for 2 things : the cockroaches; and attitude of the managers to guests and their staff. Go somewhere else and definately do not work here in exchange for your board unless you want to live in a stinking room overun with cockroaches!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Brisbane Uptown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Brisbane Uptown

Address: 466 George Street | Cnr Herschel & Roma Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia (Formerly Tinbilly Travellers)
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Base Brisbane Uptown 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Choose from a great range of dorms or private rooms, all fully ensuited, air-conditioned and sound proofed! We will help you go out and explore wonderful Brisbane or if you prefer catch up on some emails enjoy our common area with Foxtel TV, cook in the kitchen or pop downstairs to the Tin Bar & Grill, make friends, go for a drink and see where the mood takes you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Base Brisbane Uptown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tinbilly Travellers Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Brisbane Uptown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.