We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Holiday Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments to your Saves list
Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   819 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Holiday Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

We are only in Brisbane a short time and the hotel staff are very friendly and told us good things to do, like kayaking and places to eat. We are from China and had a fun time in Brisbane. Thank you :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    21
    23
    7
    14
See reviews for
28
12
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2011

Great location & excellent value for money. Close to the Gabba & walking distance to the city precinct. Staff very courteous & helpful.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2011

After moving on from the Gold Coast one day earlier than planned with changes to my schedule, I travelled to Brisbane without pre-booking accommodation. With the start of the school holidays, the city was busy. Booked through an online channel and turned up about an hour later.

My reservation had not yet come through by the time I arrived, but the Scottish gentleman manning the desk was very welcoming and accommodating - even though rushed off his feet with a queue of people and constant phone calls.

The room type I booked was filled by walk-in's between making my booking and arriving, so I was happy to be upgraded to a bigger apartment.

The apartments were acceptable, providing all the basics you need plus the additional extra of DVD player in the room. My room was in need of some TLC, with a few cracked tiles etc.

The downside of the room was it was facing wasteland and was overlooked by a tall nearby building (the hospital I think.)

I would recommend if you are looking for budget accommodation whilst here on business or for quick access to the stadium that is just across the road. Couldn't recommend for holiday, slightly unsure why they class themselves as 'holiday' apartments.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hervey bay
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2011

joined friends from perth for a weekend and what an embarressment as i gave them a second change (fool me ) booked a 2 bedroom so called deluxe as my visit there before was a disaster in what they advertise as 4+ star, , the web site shows nice enough apartments all very new and spacious, on arriving we were given a pokey little unit in front of office, the bathroom was filthy black mould all around shower, shower base broken , floor plug hanging out of shower base ,vanity basin was thick with dust and grime on the bottom, the kitch , well that topped it of, yuck yuck yuck, even the ceiling had broken surrounds around it , not tv reception at , we got one channel and that was balancing the ariel on a torch, we are talking about a hotel in a major city,( come on NO RECEPTION,) fronted owner told him not what we bookedand payed only to be told " oh yes the other unit has plumbing problems" but didnt tell us that on arrivall did they? we all left 5-30 am just to get out of the filthy place no one would use the bathroom
what a joke 4-5 my --------------- not kidding they should be 2star and that is being kind,
if we all follow this through maybe they are forced to change there web site to a 2-3 star
im going to keep at this untill i see that they,
we did stay there many times back 5yrs ago for every brisbane lions home game (from melbourne) but soon moved on to a lovely place 10min walk to the gabba and same price , sorry i gave them second chance,

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

When seeking accoms for 1 month while we renovate our Brisbane home, it appeared that the KP Holiday Apartments would be perfect... great website showing immaculate serviced apartments, 4-star rating from RACQ, friendly booking staff, central location... but that's where the perfection ended.

Our 2-bdr apartment, which we paid for up front at $870/ week, was terrible!! Loose & cracked floor tiles throughout; suspicious stains on the lounge (which we ultimately slept on, as the beds were worse!); rock hard beds with popping springs and collapsed centres (double beds... not queen, as we would expect in 4-star accoms); sliding wardrobe doors simply propped in the tracks (so we could neither open nor close them); raw insulation stuffed into the kitchen cupboards (odd... so very odd); shower-screen door that wouldn't close (leaving us to mop up pools of water after each shower); a sign beside the bathroom door saying "please close the door when showering, otherwise the fire alarm will be activated"... which we would have done, however the bathroom door had warped from humidity and could not be closed without trapping us in the room! But the almighty kicker was the spattering of blood (BLOOD!) on the bathroom tiles, just above the towel racks.

Needless to say, after a sleepless night huddled on the nasty lounge, we checked out after only one night.

On a positive note, the front office clerk arranged to refund our money in full, save for the cost of the apartment for the 1 night we stayed... I expect refunds are going to be a common theme at the KP Holiday Apartments unless they get their act together.

Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SYDNEY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Biggest HELLHOLE we have ever stayed in.MOULDY sheets on 1 bed.Bathroom full of mould,toilet that would not flush so had to keep going across the busy road to use Mcdonalds facilities(thankyou Mcdonalds)Dirty pool.Cockroaches crawling everywhere in unit at night.Aircon duct falling off & filfthy.Exhaust fan in bathroom very noisy & filfthy.No sleep due to high road use noise 24hrs.No parking spot.Why did we stay 2 nights?We had driven around for 2 days trying to find accommadation but everything was either closed down or full.We had no choice as we had a family member undergoing a serious operation to remove major cancer.We were all grief stricken & in shock as cancer diagnosis & operation was very sudden.Now we are back home more than 1000 kilometres away & suffering from mould poisoning.Coping with a loved one with cancer is traumatic enough without the disgustingness of such a filfth pit.This place should be closed down by the health department.I shall be contacting all relevant bodies to look into this filfthy substandard place.4 stars my backside.Maybe at the best 1 star.I hope whoever owns this pit reads this & pulls their finger out & cleans up & stops ripping people off & playing with their health.Karma is a certain.This place should also be prosecuted for false advertising as the photos on websites are not what this crap heap really looks like.You would be better off sleeping on a park bench.DO NOT EVER RISK YOUR LIFE & STAY HERE.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

We stayed here for one night in December 2010. We stayed in unit 14. While the traffic noise wasn't a problem. The people talking VERY loudly from 5am is a problem.

The apartment is basic, lounges are comfy and there is a kitchen in the apartment. Air con in kitchen works well. But there is no air con or fans in the bedrooms. Bedroom windows don't shut but only close over.

The bathroom is tiny and the shower head was dirty.

I was not expecting the Hilton but the photos on their websites are not like what they apartments really are.

Would I stay here again? No.

Would I recommend this place? No.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments

Address: 819 Main St | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments Hotel Brisbane
Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kangaroo Point Holiday Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.