We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was nice” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Brisbane Riverview Hotel to your Saves list
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Darwin
2 reviews
“It was nice”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

This place was deceiving from the outside it was very nice inside the rooms were retro and vintage modern but with new finishings and the rooms were well sized and clean I stayed here with work and was worried based on some of the reviews but yeah was pleasantly surprised.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for choosing the Brisbane Riverview Hotel as your 'home away from home', during your visit to Brisbane for work requirements.

We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your experience and the unique style of our spacious, newly appointed guest rooms.

When either work or leisure bring you back to Brisbane, we look forward to having you staying with us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
12
40
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Stayed overnight at this hotel due to an early flight the next day. The lobby feels quite grand and the staff were very helpful. The room itself was quite large with a big bathroom and great views of the Brisbane River. An enjoyable stay and would definitely recommend it to people if they are staying in Brisbane. The taxi driver to the airport mentioned that the hotel had undergone renovations recently and he starting to notice that more people are enjoying their stay at this hotel, so it appears the renovations are paying this hotel dividends. Dinner at the restaurant was good too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear valued traveller

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with the Brisbane Riverview Hotel. Our team were delighted to hear you enjoyed the convenience of our location, our spacious, newly refurbished guest rooms and your dining experience in Plates Restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Brisbane.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Located on the river about 10 mins away from the airport, this hotel is great value for money with efficient and friendly service and a great location close to the CBD. The room and bathroom was clean.
Only cable internet is available in the rooms and wifi in the hotel foyer. - this meant that my devices could not be connected to the web. I was disappointed that the hotel charges for internet usage. A better model would be to bundle internet in the room rate.

Room Tip: Get a river facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, NSW, Australia
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

While this hotel isn't five star, it is certainly value for money. The rooms are small but the location and price (and balcony!) make up for it. South Brisbane is a fabulous location and this hotel is within walking distance to the city, South Brisbane beach and restaurants and the XXXX brewery! It is also easily accessible from the airport by train. Worth a stay if you want to be out and about in Brisbane without breaking the bank!

Room Tip: Choose a 'riverview' room....it's worth the little bit extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSM0, Director of Sales at Brisbane Riverview Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear valued traveller, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay in Brisbane. The Brisbane Riverview Hotel is conveniently located by the River at Hamilton, just ten minutes from Brisbane Airport and from the City Centre. From the review posted, it seems you were situated at a different property in a separate location. We would welcome the opportunity of you coming to stay with us, during a return visit to Brisbane, showcasing our superb Hotel, its location, fabulous facilities, free carparking and excellent value for money. Please don't hesitate to contact us directly if we can assist with any future accommodation requirements you may have. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

From the moment we arrived which was midnight, we found the service faultless. Bags taken to our room and car parked for us - this was much appreciated after a long day. Lovely older style hotel with large rooms and excellent river views. Nothing was a problem to the staff and we enjoyed a great breakfast in the restaurant looking out over the river. Nice touch with a bowl of apples on each floor outside the lift doors. Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a riverview!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Having not stayed here since it was the Powerhouse, it has certainly dated, but still comfortable, and of course the views can't be outdated. The current renovation programme will bring it up to speed, and the convenient location will combine to offer a worthwhile accommodation option on the fringe of the city, and handy to the airport.
The staff were obliging, parking free, and the Breakfast Creek Hotel only a couple of minutes walk away. The ferry terminal is a good 25 minutes walk or short drive, and parking is available. The ferry trip into town is relaxing and cheap, although not recommended if you're in a hurry.
The Riverview is also a short drive to the surprisingly varied restaurant strip in Racecourse Road.
Enjoyable couple of nights' stay, and would certainly return.

Room Tip: Obviously higher floors, with river/city view and preferable corner room would provide the best opti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We recently spent our wedding night at this Hotel. Our room on the 4th floor gave us great views of the Brisbane river. We paid $200 for two nights. The room was clean, modern and spacious. The bathroom was neat with an over bath shower and a large mirror. Overall a lovely room and Hotel.

Room Tip: 7 min drive to the CBD, on bus route to city. Front corner rooms have best views of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisbane Riverview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.