We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not enaugh quality for highl price paid” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Brisbane Riverview Hotel to your Saves list
Brisbane Riverview Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Bologna, Italy
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Not enaugh quality for highl price paid”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

I spent 260 $ for a large but old room. No wifi in room but only in the lobby and for 27$ crazy!
Shower was very old. Much noise from the street despite i was on the 7th floor. Even inside isolation is not very good. I could hear customer next door going to wc. Food in restaurant was good but pricy. I would never come back. For this price i cAn stay in much better HOTELS in the world.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    63
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
12
40
11
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
114 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2011

Had a work trip to Brisvegas and this hotel was selected for us. We were told it was close to the airport and it is actually closer to the city. No big deal, that is what taxis are for.

I have to say the welcome from the staff was great and they looked after our party very well.

The rooms are very traditionally decorated - think Laura Ashley (lots of wood and florals) but clean and well maintained. I was in a junior suite which was very comfortable and spacious. Bathroom was a reasonable size although a little odd to have the sink in a different area outside the main bathroom and it be carpeted!! The desk in the main room could be a little bigger and a couple more power points would be helpful.

The rooms command great views of the river and we all love a "room with a view".

Definately worth a shot outside the big city hotels.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2011

Whilst the staff are indeed very accomodating, the food, rooms and bathrooms are very disappointing
Riverview Yes but traffic noise horrendous
Very overpriced and very over rated

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2011

Spent over 3 weeks in the hotel during a business trip. The best part about this hotel is the staff. They were always looking out for us. Making sure we had taxis with time to make all our meetings. We spent a lot of time in the zig zag lounge during lunch and a number of dinners in the restaurant and the meals are really well done. When we asked for them to get us something not on the menu they went out of there way to accomodate our requests.

The rooms are large. I stayed 2 different times over the month I was in Australia. The room facing the river was nice and had a small balcony. Only bad part was how loud the road is because of how busy the road is.

They charge for interenet whics unfortunately is the norm in Australia. $100/week

It is a 5 min walk to Breakfast Creek where you cna get good steak dinner. I recommend the rib steak. But other than this a bit of a hike or taxi to good restaurants in CBD or down by cruise ship launch

Rooms are somewhat expensive, but again this seems the norm for Australia and will be more so in Brisbane into the future becasue of how busy the city is.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2011

For full disclosure I need to tell all readers that I had a river view room, which was a plus.

The property was wonderful. The room was quite large with good amenities. The view from my room was phenomenal. The the gym and pool were adequate - I did not use the pool as my time was spent doing business meetings. I slept so well in the bed, one of the more comfortable beds I have experienced. Internet has a fee and seemed to fill my needs.

We did not eat at the hotel but did have coffee and drinks there. If you stop by the lounge for a attitude adjustment say hi to Bethany, she was a hoot and provided very friendly service. BTW everyone provided top notch service and all of our interaction with staff was very positive.

If you up for a walk or take a cab, we found a great weekend brunch cafe not to far from the hotel - Vagelis Cafe. Great food and atmosphere. All open air and it was about 82F (27C), which made me feel a bit guilty, because everyone at home was suffering with 18F (-8C). The food was great, service was exceptional and I will be back there for breakfast.

This property is located on the Brisbane River north shore about 3 mi (5k) East from the CBD. This puts it roughly half way between downtown and the airport. I thought this worked out for us as it was easy to get downtown using the City Cat from the Bretts landing or cabs. The Fri and Sat night rock in the CBD. We had a quick getaway when we left for the airport to return home.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2011

We stayed at the Riverview on our wedding night, and I got ready there before the wedding. The room was lovely and had a great view out over the river. The staff could not have been more helpful and even came to our rescue when torrential rain destroyed our hopes of being married in the park across the road by offering us their function room. They ran around for us and had the whole thing set up nicely within about 5 minutes! We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2010

On the outside it's tropical gardens and on the inside its gilt frames, heavy drapes and dark wood - so a slightly unusual style for Brisbane, The bathrooms need a bit of a makeover but the room was huge, the bed extremely comfortable, the TV was a flat screen and the internet was cheaper than some places ($24,95 for 24 hours - 300MB). Check-in staff friendly. Cooked breakfast buffet was around $35 which is pretty expensive. Room service was quick and the steak sandwich was pretty good for $19. It's a non-smoking hotel but the moment I walked in it did smell a bit of smoke - must be all those heavy drapes that hold the smell? Easy walk to the Brekky Creek Hotel a plus. The room I had didn't face the busy road so was quiet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisbane Riverview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane Riverview Hotel

Address: Cnr Kingsford Smith Dr & Hunt St, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia (Formerly Powerhouse Boutique Hotel Brisbane)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brisbane Riverview Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Brisbane Riverview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisbane Riverview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.