We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Strawberry Bombe!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stokehouse Brisbane

Stokehouse Brisbane
Sidon Street | South Bank, Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #183 of 2,980 Restaurants in Brisbane
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Strawberry Bombe!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

After reading many reviews, we decided to skip the steak (restaurant) and instead do the small plates and a sharing platter (bar/deck). I'm so glad we did! Beautiful presentation of every dish, high quality produce, unique taste sensations.

Oysters - 1st class, fresh, perfectly balanced flavours

Small plate - sand crab and green strawberry salad with Chardonnay jelly. First impressions was that it was tiny (as indicated by the price) but it packs a serious amount of flavour.

Seafood small plate - scallop, yellowfin tuna, salmon. Again tiny servings but again very flavoursome sashimi, modern Australian fusion of flavours. The yellowfin alone was worth getting this dish.

Charcuterie share plate - the portion sizes are more generous and are easily shared between two, lovely flavours and very respectable. (We were spoiled recently in Europe so it's hard to compare.)

Strawberry Bombe - omg, as everyone says it is amazing, I'm going to have to return for this alone. Definitely share between two, it's a generous portion size and the taste, while sensational, could be too much for one person.



Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    99
    54
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Llandeilo
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Lions test”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Great day for lions 1st test and great location for food and drinks before game .Sharing plates with plenty of variety of nibbles.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Stokehouse”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

I really enjoyed our dinner at Stokehouse recently.
We were there on a Tuesday night and it was very busy with a good atmosphere.
We enjoyed drinks on the deck overlooking the river and city lights with braziers to warm us, before moving inside to dine.
Lovely food, beautiful wine and efficient friendly service.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Awsome View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic Menu, great service , right on the Brisbane River with fantastic views of south bank and the city

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Needs to remember a restaurant without customers is a shed!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Visited for Sunday lunch and on arrival was told the usual menu was not available and it was to be restricted to a choice of three for main and two for desert and a fixed share platter for starters. Having visited once before I found the service was average and couldn't help but feeling the staff thought they were a step above the patrons. The food was good but with plenty of other choice in Brisbane, unlikely to try for a third time.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stokehouse Brisbane also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Stokehouse Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stokehouse Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.