We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel I've stayed in!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Brisbane City YHA

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Brisbane City YHA to your Saves list
Brisbane City YHA
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Lancashire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best hostel I've stayed in!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

This hostel has everything you need! Excellent facilities, close to the city and local attractions and super friendly staff! I stayed here for 9 weeks whilst working and could have happily stayed longer. A very modern hostel that's thought of everything! Plug sockets in your locker so you can leave your phone on charge and not have to worry about it going missing. Individual Lockers in the kitchen for your food bags. Free popcorn on movie nights. Awesome $5 BBQ on a Friday night. Guided walks to the local markets. Yoga on a Wednesday morning.
The kitchen is always busy in the evenings but well stocked with everything, even sharp knives and a toastie maker! Professionally cleaned every night so it's always clean for breakfast.
Housekeeping are always efficient and the rooms always clean and tidy. Big lockers, comfy beds and Air conditioning in every room.
Reception and night staff are always happy to help!
Would highly recommend this hostel to anyone! Even my grandma! :)

Room Tip: The rooms to the back of the property are closer to the train tracks and so a little noisier. Close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    161
    42
    15
    14
See reviews for
11
66
142
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

I visited this yha in late march 2013. after spending a few weeks in other hostel's around queensland, I found this one to be overpriced, noisy, with dirty rooms and rude staff! I expected so much more from this yha. One of the worst hostel experiences of my life!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Brisbane City YHA, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Iam writing in response to your customer feedback submitted to tripadvisor regarding your stay at Brisbane City YHA. We take all our customer feedback seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

At outset I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the state of the room, the noise and the rude staff member. As this is not the usual feedback we receive could you let me know what dates you stayed, which room you stayed in and the name of the staff member you dealt with, so we can look into the situation further.

Thanks again for your feedback, it is a valuable tool which assits us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,

Anouk Coyte
Operations Assistant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a couple of weeks when looking for work in Brisbane. First impressions were very nice, welcoming reception and friendly staff, nice layout and very clean corridors and communal areas.

The room was nice, could have done with a bit more space but most dorms could to be fair. Lovely big lockers, with a shelf and a power point inside which anyone travelling will know is very handy. Bed was very sturdy and comfortable (I didn't have to worry about the girl above me descending onto me during the night which is always nice).

The bathrooms were ok and generally as clean as you can expect shared bathrooms to be and there were plenty of them so you didn't have to travel for miles in the night if you had to go. There is a nice pool area and out side sitting area where they have a BBQ's some evenings. A lovely big TV room, which they show movies on regularly.

It's only really downfall is the kitchen. I really don't understand why, but no one seems to feel the need to wash their pots and pans when they have used them, they just stack them in the sink and leave all their plates on the side. This means it's really hard to wash up, and there's often not pots or pans so you have to wash something up before you can cook. It's a real shame because it's a nice big kitchen and would be nice to cook in, but because of the mess I haven't ventured past soup as of yet. They do have a work for accommodation girl who sticks her head in the kitchen in the evening but as soon as she leaves people continue to leave their mess, and she doesn't seem to tidy the mess that's already there so it just stacks up as the evening goes on.

All in all a good place to stay, just try and avoid the kitchen in the evening!

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Nothing really bad. but quite expensive for nothing that is really good. Dishes are quite dirty because noone checks that carefully enough.
People put their dishes back to the clean stuff without cleaning good enough and the staff does not check that at all.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

i liked it. good location, nice tv area where everyone goes and uses wifi. rooms are ok. very mixed bag of people who stay. front desk staff are really helpful.
if there is any tip for improvement they need to have more bins or at least empty them more in the kitchen, it was full every evening and falling all over the floor!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

This state of the art backpackers offers every modern convenience and caters to a wide range of age groups. Check in easy and quick, having booked and prepaid on line. Staff easy going and friendly. As with most large inner city hostels some may find the place a little impersonal and party animals may want to look elsewhere, the cheaper, dodgy hostels down the road may be a better choice. I stayed in a double with en suite, very clean with great veiw of the city. Great choice for a short city stay or a splurge after sleeping in dorms or tents for months on end. I have stayed in the dorms and would recommend the 3 share. Noise from the train line may be an issue for some and occasionally the corridors can be noisy, especially if you encounter a school group. So ear plugs are recommended even in a private room. The Cafe served a great breakfast and coffee and the service prompt and friendly. Kitchen looked impressive as was the rooftop pool with lovely city views. There is so much to do in Brisbane you won't want to hang around the YHA anyway. There is a large supermarket close by and the city and train station are an easy walk. The shuttle bus from the airport will drop you off at the door a good choice if you have a lot of luggage or for late arrivals. The airport train is quick and frequent and I think the YHA desk sells tickets at a bit of a discount. I highly recommend this YHA and Brisbane City.

Room Tip: Avoid double rooms opposite the one of communal TV areas - can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The YHA is located in a cluster of hotels just outside the Brisbane CBD. It is close to the river and train station. This hostel is definitely the most modern looking in area. We had a double private, which was clean, but cost nearly $100 for the night. My sleep was good until a South American man decided to have a phone conversation in the corridor at 3am, and on speaker! And then he decided to play some tunes in the bathroom the next morning. If I had have been staying longer I probably would have taken advantage of ample activities and rooftop pool.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Brisbane City YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brisbane City YHA

Address: 392 Upper Roma St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 114 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Brisbane City YHA 3.5*
Number of rooms: 113
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
News Flash: Brisbane City YHA wins 2012 Best Backpacker Accommodation in Queensland! Brisbane City YHA offers guests state of the art facilities and an Australian experience under one roof! Centrally located and close to all the tourist hot spots, this hostel offers roof top swimming pool with views of the city and Brisbane River, games room with Nintendo Wii, free Wifi Hot Spot (Wifi Plus also available), indoor and outdoor dining, secure parking and nightly entertainment. We also have a fantastic tour desk where you can book only the best activities and tours and not even leave the hostel! We are only 5 minutes walk from Suncorp Stadium for all of the major sporting events. The hostel has a mix of multishare, private twin/double rooms and family rooms all available with en-suites. Vingcard security access is throughout the hostel and the facilities are the newest and cleanest available. Brisbane City YHA is quite simply the best budget accommodation in Brisbane no matter what your reason for travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Brisbane City YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane City Yha Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Brisbane City YHA, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.