We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit of Queensland history” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. Helena Island

St. Helena Island
Manly, Brisbane, Queensland 4179, Australia
1300 438 787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 131 Attractions in Brisbane
Type: Islands, Ferries/ Boats, National Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Considered Queensland's first historic national park, this island features the ruins of a colonial prison, once known as the "hell hole of the South Pacific."
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A bit of Queensland history”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Our most recent trip to St Helena was with the Brisbane Living Heritage which meant we had very good and informative guides. Unfortunately we did not really have long enough on the island. This could be because of tides or shipping traffic. Still an enjoyable trip.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    74
    41
    7
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“NOT EXACTLY ALCATRAZ BUT STILL GOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

OK it's not as spectacular as Alcatraz but it has a colourful history as a prison for Brisbane's worst crims. Long since abandoned, the ruins remain in reasonable shape and as it's not far from the mainland it's a pleasant short boat ride across Moreton Bay into the bargain.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Interesting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

It's been a while since I've been to this place but it was worth the trip. Rich in history which you will discover, and it was quite personal for me as this is where my grandmother lived and grew up...playing around the convicts. I loved hearing about my then teenage grandfather rowing all the way out from the mainland just to spend the day with her. It's something you'd never hear about happening today. Anyway, go for the day and you will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The most interesting place i have been to yet!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

since i am crazy about convicts i loved how they got people to dress up and play the role of the convicts and the governor of the island. The only thing that i disliked is the weather they bring you to the island on the waves were really choppy and i nearly vomited of the side of the boat. Overall it is a great tourist attraction.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Cat O Nine Tails Tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

What a great time we had - beginning with the boat trip and then having a 3 hour tour of the island with a very well informed guide. Loved the re-enactments and all the stories that we were told. A very beautiful island that we did not know anywhere near enough about before our trip. Had a lovely picnic lunch back on board before returning to Manly. The crew were all lovely and very knowledgable on the Islands history. Would really recommend if you have any interest in history at all and get a chance to do this tour - DO IT - you will not regret it.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. Helena Island also viewed

 
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to St. Helena Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. Helena Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.