We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very ho hum, not much to do anymore” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Treasury Casino

Treasury Casino
Top of Queen Street Mall, Brisbane, Queensland 2004, Australia
07 3306 8888
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #103 of 280 things to do in Brisbane
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Housed in the historic Treasury building, with 100 gaming tables and 1500 gaming machines, this casino is sure to be a great source of entertainment.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“very ho hum, not much to do anymore”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

the budget food areas shut to early 11pm on a sat night we were there then if you stay after midnight you only have the 1 very crowded bar to go to, if you're really lucky the pre mix counters will still be operating. The night club is gone and replaced with some sort of make out lounge area?? very dark deathcore so that only leaves one bar that has any music which is in an open area with not much atmosphere.
Pokie machines have gone all ultra modern with very low payouts on winning lines.
Go to the Gold Coast Casino if you want a night out of drinking gambling and dancing, sadly brisbane is dying of old management syndrome

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    83
    53
    16
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
36 attraction reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Lovely old building”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I've been inside once and is an outstanding old building, I didn't go for the gambling but it is a very popular place and the security was very good when we were there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Even if you do not like casino's this is worth a visit to see to inside of the old treasury building. The decor is nice , with much of the original character retained. Nice bar at the front with views of the mall and river.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Treasury”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

This venue is loaded with slot machines & you would have to be incredibly fortunate not to lose money at this venue. I would not recommend people frequent the venue but experience it in the knowledge that you are making a donation the size of which is up to you

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Slots”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

If you want to make a charitable donation to the Queensland government to support politicians lifestyle then this is the place to do it. There are many other honest attractions other than the one sided gaming offered by the state of Queensland!!!

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Treasury Casino also viewed

Brisbane, Queensland
Brisbane, Queensland
 

Been to Treasury Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Treasury Casino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.