We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A typical airport hotel” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsford Smith Motel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsford Smith Motel to your Saves list
Kingsford Smith Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   610 Kingsford Smith Dr, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Taunton
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A typical airport hotel”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This motel is some five or so Kms from the airport although this did not trouble us as we arrived by car for a three night stay.The reception was business like but not particularly helpful. The room was a bit of a letdown. As a good hotel room it ticked all the right boxes. As a motel room it failed badly. There were none of the facilities one might expect such as a microwave, toaster, sink etc. The room was spacious and the shower was efficient. There was no comfortable armchair so not a room to linger in.
There is a joke of a swimming pool. I had a look at it a couple of times but it had a suction pump circling it. I checked with reception who said that the pump could always be removed if anyone asked.
We mainly booked the Kingsford Smith for the location. It is within walking distance of the River and close to one of the stops for the City Cat service into the city.
I was incidentally somewhat taken aback to find that I could have paid significantly less for our room had we turned up on the night rather than pay Expedia in full months earlier.
I cannot imagine a poor review will make the slightest difference to this motel/hotel. It is kept very busy with overnight stayers on their way to or from the airport.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
51
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I booked a room at this motel more than a week prior to our arrival on 14 December 2013. Even though the "Vacancy" sign was still up, when we arrived in the early evening, my husband and I, along with our adult son, were given Room 104 which was totally unsuitable. There were three adults and we each had a large suitcase as we were heading overseas for a month in the cold, and this room contained a queen bed and a single bed and barely enough room for us to move around, let alone room for our luggage.
Surely there was a larger room available as I had made it very clear that there would be three adults and I never mentioned a price so was willing to pay for whatever comfortable room was available. When I spoke to the receptionist the next morning about the inadequate size of the room she was totally disinterested and couldn't have cared less. We and other family members often have occasion to visit Brisbane but we would never stay here again. There is no restaurant and there are many more suitable venues just a short walk along Kingsford Smith Drive so I would advise steering clear of this one in the future.

Room Tip: I don't think the management puts a great deal of thought into the suitability or the comfort of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We made a corporate booking through a booking website indicating we had children. Upon arrival reception staff made inappropriate jokes regarding charging whatever they wanted as they had company credit card details. When another colleague arrived with children the reception staff stood just outside raising their voice about not being told about children staying the night. They were rude and didn't offer an alternative or mention they could organise extra beds.

The rooms were clean but air conditioning pretty much didn't work. The sink in the bathroom leaked also. The doona on the bed had no doona cover. What they did was use the bed top sheet and another sheet as the "cover", not very hygienic. Upon departure the hallways were cluttered with large, mobile cleaning units... Not very safe if there was an emergency evacuation.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
564 reviews 564 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 182 cities Reviews in 182 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

This motel worth using its near to the airport not far to the city and close to the motor way system my room was nice with a good car park load nice restaurants close by would recommend this motel I choose this motel after the great Australian aviator Kingsford Smith a legend and his aircraft in a building next to the airport

Room Tip: Clean nice room would stay there again
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed at the Kingsford Smith Motel overnight before catching a plane from Brisbane airport a $25 taxi ride away.
The motel is 300m a pub and restaurants and by the river giving a pleasant walk.
The room was spacious clean as was the ensuite. The motel is on a very busy intersection and while in the corridor we were concerned about noise, but once in the room it was very quiet.
We will stay again

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We stayed one night as we wanted to enjoy an event in Brisbane nearby. I was very impressed with this motel having experienced pretty deary motels in other parts of Queensland.
The room was as good as any 4 star hotel, the bed was extremely comfortable, the bathroom was sparkling and well equipped. Although on the main road the insulation meant no noise experienced. Can highly recommend this motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Thought the traffic noise may have been annoying but didn't hear a thing. Motel was close to food outlets and the river which was nice. Excellent service from the reception desk people.Would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsford Smith Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsford Smith Motel

Address: 610 Kingsford Smith Dr, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsford Smith Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kingsford Smith Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsford Smith Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsford Smith Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.