We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Handy to airport but the room stinks... literally” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Kingsford Smith Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Kingsford Smith Motel to your Saves list
Kingsford Smith Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   610 Kingsford Smith Dr, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #40 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Sydney
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Handy to airport but the room stinks... literally”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Spent a couple of nights here on business & all was as expected. Good wheelchair accessible room, some decent restaurants on the river just a short stroll away, reasonable rates & friendly management.

Only downside was my room stuck like old, damp laundry.

Room Tip: Ask for one that smells clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KSMHamilton, Manager at Kingsford Smith Motel, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
During your stay we experienced an unpleasant odour from the painting of the ground floor area which was due to the painters using old paint. They were immediately instructed to replace it with new paint however although we made every effort to reduce the effects of the painting it took a little time to clear. We apologise for the discomfort it may have caused as unfortunately we were unable to move you to another room due to your requirements, however it would have been appreciated had your comments been made to management at the time of your stay at which time we may have been able to make your stay more pleasant. We thank you for your general comments and look forward to having an opportunity to be of service in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    48
    28
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
51
7
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

This motel is only a short distance from Brisbane Internationals and Domestic terminals and provides value for money - particularly for a transit stop, due to its location. I have stayed here a couple of times now and the rooms have been clean and well presented on both occasions. Proprietors are very helpful with regards to organising airport trasnfers etc.

Room Tip: All rooms very quite with double glazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

A very well located motel for both international and domestic travel through Brisbane airport. The motel is located some 15 minutes away at a cost (Taxi) of approx. AUD$26.
The check-in process is both efficient and friendly and the rooms are quiet and clean. The motel organises a shuttle to the airport if required.
A very conveniently located motel with lift/elevator access to floors.

Room Tip: I was told all rooms were double insulated for sound proof reasons, which had been completed recentl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Found this hotel very convenient to the Airport. The hotel was very comfortable and Receptionist very hospitable and informative on where to go for dinner. Being on a busy road the noise was not a problem as the windows are doubled glazed, didn't hear a thing. The room was spotless with plenty of room. Room service breakfast was great. Would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We arrived early and were greeting by the friendly, and helpful staff. The staff offered as luggage storage until we could check-in which was great as we just returned from the cruise ship and didnt have at cart our luggage around brisbane while site seeing. The staff were more than helpful with information on the area. When we checked in the rooms were beautifully furnished and very modern, I was a bit skeptical on the road traffic noise, BUT didnt hear a thing as all the windows are double glazed. Bedding was very comfortable and was the best night sleep I had in ages. Room service breakfast was beautiful and very affordable. Overall I thought it was exellent value for money and the staff are lovely people who go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I will be reccommending this motel to all my friends for all their accommodation needs whilst travelling to Brisbane. Again thank you for a beautiful stay ! I will be coming back ..........

Room Tip: All rooms were great as we travelled with friends and in total all rooms were beautiful. We couldnt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

What a surprise this little gem of a motel is!!! Had a limited budget, when I found this motel I was concerned about what to expect because it is very reasonably priced, close to the airport and city. As I was only staying for a one night business trip figured it would be OK......even more concerned when I saw how busy the roads are either side of it!! WHAT A PLEASANT SURPRISE!!!! Once inside..silence!! All the windows are double glazed, rooms spotlessly clean and well appointed. Room service breakfast was delicious and there are several options for dinner just 100m across the road at Portside. Would definitely recommend this motel and will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Our stay at the Kingsford Smith far exceeded all our expectations. The room was large, bright & airy and immaculately clean. Loved the plantation shutters and the soft comfortable bed with it's fresh white bedding. The free parking was a surprise bonus. Great room & terrific service. We thorougly enjoyed our stay and will definately make the Kingsford Smith our regular hotel destination in Brisbane.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Kingsford Smith Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingsford Smith Motel

Address: 610 Kingsford Smith Dr, Brisbane, Queensland 4007, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kingsford Smith Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Kingsford Smith Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingsford Smith Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kingsford Smith Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.