We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment great view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dockside Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Dockside Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Dockside Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   44 Ferry Street | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #31 of 62 Brisbane B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Nice apartment great view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Stayed just overnight after attending a wedding reception hosted on-site. The desk staff were very helpful with my need for a rushed 2-phase check-in (I was running very late) and were friendly and informative on my check-out offering me driving directions saving me lots of time over my original intended route. The one-brd apartment was large and fully furnished, flat screen TVs in living room and bedroom, in-room washer/dryer in a laundry room, fully equipped and furnished kitchen. I was on 7th floor with a superb balcony view over the river. Good location close to the City (about 10 min) and easy drive from airport (20 min). I found myself wishing I was staying longer to enjoy the apartment and location. Would certainly stay again.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a balcony river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralDockside, Manager at Dockside Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments, it is always nice to have positive feedback. Glad you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    45
    22
    13
    8
See reviews for
34
25
7
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights. As booked on a internet sire was allocated a 2nd floor room. This was quiet even though we were just above where people attending private functions walked. We expected a lot of noise when they departed, pleasantly surprised.
The apartment appeared old. but adequate as we were only staying 2 nights.
Check in easy, but I was not explained the use of the door key in lift, no assistance with luggage offered. Trolleys available.
Problem was 1. the bed, it was old saged and very uncomfortable. If I had been staying longer I would have requested a room change.
The apartment was well equiped including washing machine but this did not operate properly and caused a flood on the floor..
The ferry service to the city was convienient and free.
Car parking available but not secure.
Possible stay again but make sure I have a good bed next time.

Room Tip: Check the room first.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralDockside, Manager at Dockside Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We have two styles of rooms, standard and executive, the executive are recently renovated rooms and we are working with our owners to convert more into executive than standard. We have had a few comments recently about beds looking like they sag in the middle but actually our beds have mattress toppers on them and can give that impression.
Whenever possible, we will move a guest to another room if they are unhappy with the one they have, just inform us and we can make it happen fairly quick, as long as we are not booked out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

We have stayed at Dockside Apartments previously and stayed there again just recently. The apartments are great for families and the location is well suited for getting into the city. My only concern is that when I booked an apartment this time, the description of the apartment was that it was "newly refurbished". The apartment was clean and tidy but it certainly was not refurbished as the bathroom was old and dated and the kitchen was also not new. I was not unhappy with the standard of the apartment but I did feel the description was a little misleading.

The City Hopper ferries leave from directly outside the apartments and go to Eagle St and I believe Southbank and they are FREE. They came every half hour and made getting into the city easy and cheap. The parking at the the apartments is also free which was good.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralDockside, Manager at Dockside Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
We are well suited for families as you say and our location is very good with a free ferry into the city from 7.00am until midnight 7 days a week.
Some of our apartments are more extensively renovated than others, which we don't mean to mislead people by but if they are termed executive, they are of a superior condition to our standard apartments.
We are working with our owners trying to get them to upgrade the apartments in 2013 so hopefully next visit will be even better. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed here 2 nights for a friends wedding which was at this hotel. We had an apartment on the 13th floor for 2 adults and 2 young kids. It was clean. Space was adequate. Beds were comfy. The balcony was large and the view nice. It is in a relatively quiet area which consists of what appears to be lots of residential high rise apartments. Car parking is not on site, it is across the road in a small multilevel car park. There are some restaurants close by. There is a convience store across the road for grocery items and limited take-away options. All in all it was a good choice. The only thing was when we arrived the airconditioning did not work and it was not until the next day maintenance arrived to fix it.

We would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralDockside, Manager at Dockside Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Thank you for your review.

Nice to hear that everything went well except that the air con wasn't working but that it was fixed the next day.

best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense, Denmark
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We booked two of the executive apartments for the night before our wedding (boys in one, girls in the other). The rooms were both slightly different in terms of furnishing, but both very nice and modern. Lovely views from both out over the river and towards the city. The staff were friendly and helpful and really there was nothing to complain about. They also gave us late check-out (pre-arranged) at no extra cost so we could get ready on the day of our wedding.

Next time we're in Brisbane, I think we'll be booking to stay here for a week's vacation!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here for a couple of nights, as I was attending a wedding which was being held at the Landing, Dockside (on the ground floor of the hotel).
It is the standard apartment/hotel combo which has become common.
The apartment we had faced north-east looking over the river - really nice views from the large balcony.
Beds and furnishings were comfortable, and it was quiet.
Staff weren't particularly impressive - there is limited hours reception, and the people staffing it weren't exactly helpful.
Not too much to do in the immediate area - there is a 'town square' immediately outside which has a couple of cafes, a convenience store (massively overpriced...) and liquor store. The riverside area has nice paved promenades which are good for walking/running if you're feeling active. There is a City Hopper dock immediately outside which will provide a free ferry service to the CBD (running approx every 30min)
The Story Bridge Hotel is a great pub which also does good food, and is about a five minute walk away.
Overall not a bad choice of place to stay, especially if you have an event nearby.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

I recently stayed here for a night and it was brilliant. we had a re furbished room which i would highly reccomend!!
great views of the river, nice comfy beds.
did have to dance around in the shower a little to get wet but there was another one which was fine and a bath too!
location was brilliant had a hairdressers and a convenience store and a bottle shop on the site, and then just a short walk to anywhere you need to go, also its right on the river (hence dockside) which is a lovely walk!

Room Tip: choose a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CentralDockside, Manager at Dockside Apartment Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2012
Thank you for your response, it is always nice to hear when we get it right. We are working on getting more of our rooms refurbished to enhance the guest stay, they are a little more expensive than a standard room but worth it.

thanks

Marty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dockside Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dockside Apartment Hotel

Address: 44 Ferry Street | Kangaroo Point, Brisbane, Queensland 4169, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dockside Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dockside Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dockside Apartment Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dockside Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.