We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hated the bathroom” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Ascot Motel

Airport Ascot Motel
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Airport Ascot Motel to your Saves list
Airport Ascot Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   550 Kingsford Smith Drive | Hamilton, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hated the bathroom”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013 via mobile

Location close enough to airport, received friendly service but small rooms and a terrible small shower. Hardly any room to turn around in the shower. Thought it was priced ok. We were on the third floor and there is a communal balcony for smokers.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Traveller2408b,

Thank you for your review.

Your feedback is important to us and we are always looking to improve our guest's experience.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    56
    12
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
36
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

A new clean and well maintained hotel. We had a unit with a bedroom and twin beds in it and then the queen bed was in the living area. Living area was very snug.

We arrived from Brisbane airport at night, taxi was $22 which we thought was very reasonable. We had a cruise booked the next day, when we got up the next morning we couldn't get over how close it was to the cruise terminal. We could have easily walked , but the motel offered free transfers which was great as it would have been hard work crossing the road with our bags.

Very friendly managers.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Pipolata,

thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you again next time you go on a cruise.

kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

We stayed here before an early morning flight and the rooms were small but clean and fine. Lots of banging doors from other guests but apart from that it was quiet. There was a really lovely man who was very accommodating and friendly contrasted with a surly older lady behind the front desk who wasn't that helpful. Shuttle when it is running is $12.50 pp. We got a taxi van (6 of us) and it was $37 total to the airport. Very close to food places. There was an excellent large kids playground area/park straight across the road but you need to cross up at the traffic lights and walk around the back of it to get to it. Expensive for the rooms you get but I think it is probably the best value for money of the places in this area. Wifi you get 30 mins free per room and you can get 24 hours for $5.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Janeandlogan,

thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again next time when you are in Brisbane.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Looking for relatively inexpensive place to stay before 10.00 am flight back to UK - came across this and cannot fault it - Nicaragua and clean - great location and 5 mins walk from places to drink and eat

Room Tip: High numbers are away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Miamispice,

thank you for taking the time to write a review,

your feedback is important to us and we are always happy to know that you had an enjoyable stay.

We hope to see you soon when you are in Brisbane again,

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice place to stay. The room had pretty much everything you would need from a hotel stay. Looked quite new and very tidy. Close to racecourse road with a reasonable selection of places to eat. Taxi was ready to go in the morning for the ride back the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Sjm_nZ,

thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we would like to welcome you again for your next visit to Brisbane.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We arrived at the reception and the lady was just about to leave with saying "luckily I was still here". I just wondered what would have happened then...you would assume an airport hotel would be open 24h. The room was very small but clean and just in comparison to other hotels with even better facilities overpriced.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear Phillipa M,
thank you for your review.

At Airport Ascot Motel, we have 24 hour check in, but our reception is open between 7am-9pm.

As the newest 4 Star Motel in Ascot, our prices are the most competitive to all the Motels in this area.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

Booked this motel based on other good reviews as I needed to stay close to airport for early flight out. I was warmly greeted and immediately got a taxi booked for me (there is a shuttle but this requires quite a lengthy travel time). My room was immaculate- nice linen, neutral decor and carpet all looked new. The bathroom was newly tiled, good shower etc. Had great nights sleep, very quiet. Biscuits provided in room, nice touch which I enjoyed with cup of tea. Taxis were $24-$26 to airport. Recommend this motel for convenient, friendly stay near airport.

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear irishnz,

thank you for taking the time to review Airport Ascot Motel,

We are very glad that you had enjoyed your stay and we welcome you to stay with us again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Ascot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Ascot Motel

Address: 550 Kingsford Smith Drive | Hamilton, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 160 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Airport Ascot Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRAND NEW MOTEL opening mid August close to Brisbane Airport and CBD and a short walk to the Cruise Terminal. Look for more details in the coming weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Airport Ascot Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Ascot Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.