We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy with our choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Ascot Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Ascot Motel to your Saves list
Airport Ascot Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   550 Kingsford Smith Drive | Hamilton, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
karratha
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Happy with our choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

You are spoilt for choice for motels along this road, and we were happy with our choice. Friendly, helpful hosts. Undercover parking. Clean room. nice comfortable bed. Within walking distance to Grazier's steakhouse, a 7/11 convenient store and also close to Portside Wharf which has cafe's, restaurants and bars there. There's also Centro Toombul 5 mins drive or you could catch the City Cat to the CBD. Stayed 1 night to catch our early flight the following morning and only 10 mins drive to airport. Ticked all the boxes for us.

Room Tip: rooms at the back are quieter away from the busy traffic, however the windows are soundproof so you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.


Your feedback is invaluable to us and we are always continuing to improve our guests' experience with us.

Airport Ascot Motel is the Newest Motel in Ascot. We are 4 star AAA rated and we were the first green motel in Brisbane. We are proud of our environmentally friendly water systems which supplies all our toilet and laundry water using two underwater 50,000L rain water tanks.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we will always welcome you to Brisbane.

Have a wonderful cruise trip and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    65
    12
    3
    1
See reviews for
22
41
14
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Arriving in Brisbane for an overnight stay before hopping on a cruise ship, we decided on the Airport Ascot, primarily because of location.

The room was 'fit for purpose' - comfortable bed, relatively small but clean bathroom, and other basics such as coffee/tea making, fridge, wardrobe, flat screen tv etc.

The location is great for a cruise - 5 minutes walk to the cruise terminal.

Staff were really helpful and cheerful.

Downside was there was no information provided in the room about either the motel or locality (three generic Brisbane magazines were in the room), so we didn't know when checkout was (it's 10am), or whether there's breakfast service (yes there is, but we missed out).

There's a number of restaurants and cafes within a couple of minutes, or walk a few more minutes to go over to Portside.

Don't bother choosing a balcony room (we got an upgrade to this) - the balconies look to the next motel about 10 metres away (although you can lean out and see the cruise ship from the balcony) so there's no privacy there.

Although on Kingsford Smith Drive, we didn't hear traffic at all (we were surprised how quiet the road was - but I guess it's relative as we live in the centre of busy Sydney).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.

Your feedback is invaluable to us and we are always continuing to improve our guests' experience with us.

Our friendly reception and onsite managers are always available to provide our guest with any local information such as Brisbane's icons, scenaric areas, popular restaruants/cafes and sporting venues.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we will always welcome you to Brisbane.

Have a wonderful cruise trip and hope to see you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Top Contributor
367 reviews 367 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

Our international flight arrived too late to connect through to our destination so we booked overnight at Airport Ascot.
Unfortunately Brisbane has only one motel/hotel on its airport perimeter and there are a number of them at Ascot - which is a $30 cab fare each way. Despite the competition, motels at Ascot are relatively expensive.
Airport Ascot is relatively new, rooms are in good condition and the receptionist was very efficient at checkin and kindly booked a shuttle for us for our early morning flight.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.

We always appreciate feedback and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We stayed in the Airport Ascot Motel, Kingsford Drive, for 1 night prior to a flight the next day. We arrived mid morning but were able to get our room straight away, leaving us the day to visit Brisbane. Reception were helpful in giving us directions to the nearby ferry point to get the CAT into Brisbane. This is a fast and efficient service and a great way to see the city - especially as there was a thunderstorm and fork lightening!
The motel is new so the room was fresh and fit for purpose. We had a twin room which also had a table, 2 chairs and a TV. As well as tea/ coffee facilities it had cutlery and dishes if you wanted to eat a take away in the room. (As it is a motel there is no dining facilities but there are restaurants, a bar, and convenience store further along the road) The facilities in the bathroom were adequate. At the end of the corridor there was an ice despenser and pay to use washing machine and dryer. The hotel states it has airport transfers at a nominal fee but this is actually a free phone to a taxis company! However, this was ok as the taxi arrived promptly and it is about 10 minutes to the airport. I would recommend this hotel for its convenience to the airport and ferry into the city.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.

We would like to advise that our washing machine and dryer are free of charge.

kind regards,

Jack
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had to over night and found the Motel to be clean and easy. Room was a bit small and it would have been nice to have reception open when I arrived.

Much better than others along this strip of Road.

Staff are good

I will stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.

We always appreciate feedback and we are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experience and your valuable review makes that happen.

Our reception hours are from 7am-9pm and our onsite manager is contactable 24hr/day.

We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and also for choosing us in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

I stayed here after a late flight into Brisbane - arrived around 8pm and was greeted warmly. I could have stayed at the Novotel because it was closer to the airport, but it's not worth the extra money - this hotel is maybe 10 minutes drive from the airport (I had a rental car), very direct trip. It's close to Racecourse Road with lots of places to eat.

Check in was fast. My room was on the third floor, not huge, but spacious enough and very clean with everything I needed. One of the windows didn't close properly which let in some traffic noise, but I was tired, so that didn't bother me. Bed and pillows were comfortable. I was leaving early in the morning, and checkout was fast too. When I arrived at my destination about 2 hours later, a tax invoice was waiting for me in my email - seamless.

There are many airport hotels around this area; I have stayed in a few different, and this was one of the best. I'll stay here again if I need to overnight near the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Mazza57,

thank you for taking the time to review Airport Ascot Motel,

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay and we hope to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom family room with kitchenette. Impressively clean, balcony to outside, great room temp controls. Tv in both rooms kept kids and mum happy. Only stayed 1 night cos of plane delay so not sure re location, seemed central enough, good kids park across road too.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jack L, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and thank you for your review.

We are glad to hear that you and your family have enjoyed your short stay.
We welcome you to visit Brisbane again, this time not unexpected of course.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Ascot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Ascot Motel

Address: 550 Kingsford Smith Drive | Hamilton, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Airport Ascot Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRAND NEW MOTEL opening mid August close to Brisbane Airport and CBD and a short walk to the Cruise Terminal. Look for more details in the coming weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Airport Ascot Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Ascot Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.