We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant surprise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airport Ascot Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Airport Ascot Motel to your Saves list
Airport Ascot Motel
4.0 of 5 Motel   |   550 Kingsford Smith Drive | Hamilton, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Mid Atlantic
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I had an overnight in Brisbane and found this motel on the internet. It's in a pretty nondescript but quiet and safe neighborhood, and is not impressive from the outside, but the service was very friendly and the rooms very comfortable, well laid out, and immaculately clean. Very good bed and bed linens, plenty of water pressure and hot water, nice HD TV. The internet is rather expensive, and you cannot leave the electricity on in the room when you leave because it is key activated. That means no AC and you can't charge batteries while you are gone. A taxi to and from the airport is about $26 each way. Recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan W, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your nice comments about the cleanliness etc which I have passed on to the cleaning staff. We are an energy efficient Motel trying to help prevent global warming and this is why we have the power saving tags to stop air conditioning running in an empty room. There is a power socket in the room that runs all the time so that batteries can be pluged in to charge while you are gone.
We also have harvested rainwater tanks that supply the toilets and the laundries in the Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    60
    12
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
38
13
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2012

Brand new motel with small but functional rooms. I only needed a place to stay for one night while I waited for a connecting flight from Brisbane airport so it was more than adequate for my needs. Only AUS$20 for a taxi From Brisbane airport to the motel. I did have an issue with my room once checked in but the staff were extremely helpful and apologetic and organised a new room which happened to be superior to the one I had originally booked.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan W, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. I am pleased that the staff were helpful and apologetic and were able to upgrade you. We have had a few initial new building problems which hopefully are now all sorted out.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Given that the motel is virtually new, it was hard to fault the rooms, fittings, fixtures etc. though be aware that the rooms are quite small. Service was great and very friendly staff. Location good too, short walk to lots of restaurants and hotels. Only other fault I could find is the price - $150 per night probably a bit steep for the size of the room.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan W, Manager at Airport Ascot Motel, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments. Maybe next time you might like to try one of our larger Deluxe queen rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide Hills, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here for a couple of nights on our return trip from Heron Island. This is a nice, new, quiet motel. Very clean. Only problem being room service was sourced from elsewhere and entailed a long wait. It would have been nice to have milk left for us on the 2nd day. Free parking on site, lift to rooms.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

we only stayed at the airport ascot for 1 night as my son was flying from brisbane early in the morning, the hotel was great, spotless, great location lovely rooms and very pleasant staff, we has a 2 bedroom room not huge but more than enough room for 3-4 people , will definately book there again , the big plus here too is the price great value

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

We arrived back from Fiji into Brisbane and I jumped on to the internet looking for a hotel close to the Brissy airport for one night. I rang a couple of places and they were both ridiculously expensive and the recptionists abrupt. I then rang Airport Ascot and the lady I spoke with was very helpful and offered us a reduced rate from $180 per night to $165 for the night. I later found out this lady was the new owner (along with her husband). We were very happy with the accommodation which was only 6 months old. The rooms were spotless and very comfortable and we ordered room service which was also nice. My only disappointment was for our stay was when I checked my bank statement the following week and found that we were actually charged $180 and not the discounted rate as promised... which was my own fault for not checking my receipt before leaving. The airport transfer was very handy too and most less expensive than a taxi.

Room Tip: No road noise in the back rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011 via mobile


A new motel. Simple style but very clean. Has all that you need close to the airport. We were able to easily check in from a midnight arriving flight. Got all you need for a few hours sleep & close to Brisbane & main roads.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airport Ascot Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Ascot Motel

Address: 550 Kingsford Smith Drive | Hamilton, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Airport Ascot Motel 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
BRAND NEW MOTEL opening mid August close to Brisbane Airport and CBD and a short walk to the Cruise Terminal. Look for more details in the coming weeks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Airport Ascot Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airport Ascot Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.