We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel South Bank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel South Bank to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel South Bank
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   20 Montague St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% OFF your stay
Ranked #22 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Maryborough, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We recently stayed here for one night for a family/business trip and were pleasantly surprised. Easy walking distance to Southbank, city, etc.
Staff were very friendly and most helpful.
The room was clean and more than adequate. Kitchenette was spotless. Free parking was much appreciated and the staff generously let us leave the car after we had checked out, so we could explore Southbank at our leisure.
Will stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback!

Our team is very happy to hear that their job is perceived positively by our guests.

Our housekeeping crew is also glad to hear that you have found the room to be properly clean and that it suited your needs.

Not being part of any big Hotel chain allows us to provide a bit more “out of the box” service, such as allowing our guests to leave their car parked in our secure free parking for long after they have checked out.

It is great to hear that you will pay us another visit. Please do not hesitate to contact myself directly and I will organize everything for you personally.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    158
    112
    24
    14
See reviews for
52
158
55
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Worst value hotel anywhere I have stayed in.

$170 for two single beds pushed together is not a 'double'.

Bedding is 1960's Target left-overs.

Floors are cement with thinnest, cheapest carpet possible.

Bathrooms contain products in dispensers, more at home in a sex-club than a hotel.

Lighting is cheap, "energy saving variety' takes a while to kick in.

Rooms have cooking facilities, but you are advised 'no cooking' lest you set off the fire-alarms and incur a $1000 fine.

The rooms that don't face the bridge on ramp, face the dairy factory or the garbage lane-way at the back.

This place is truly cheap and nasty. You will be miserable if you stay here .

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your particular point of view on Tripadvisor.

We would like to start off by pointing out the fact that the 8 reviews prior to yours have given Riverside Hotel a 5 out of 5 and extremely enjoyed their stay. It is rather peculiar that you, who happened to stay with us at closely the same time as them, found Riverside Hotel to be a “dump”.

Our King Koil mattresses are hardly “1960’s Target left-overs”, they are over $1.000,00 each and designed for Hotels. Brand new too.

The dispensers we have in the bathrooms are there in compliance with the “Eco Friendly Star”, which is based on energy efficiency, waste and water minimization and management. It is the internationally recognized performance improvement program for the Tourism Industry and it is awarded to Hotels who comply with those standards.

Please accept my apologies, but I would not know what a “sex-club” is, therefore I cannot comment on that.

I sincerely cannot understand how “energy saving variety” lights, as you described, are cheap. They are the most expensive type, as they supposedly “save energy”. Once again, they are in compliance with our “Eco Friendly Star”.

Nobody in our team will advise you not to cook if you are staying at an Apartment. The Apartments have heat detectors, not smoke detectors; therefore one can actually cook in there, hence the cooking facilities. We do not charge any fines if the fire alarm is set, the Fire Department does. In the Apartments, one can only set it off if you really have fire in the apartment.

Please allow me to reiterate that nowhere in any website Riverside Hotel advertises views. WE DO NOT HAVE VIEWS, and never claimed to have. Furthermore, out of over 100 rooms, only 6 have a partial view of Parmalat, which is a Milk Factory by the river.

I have personally tried apologizing to you and attempted to comprehend the reason behind your frustration, as TripAdvisor allows us to message you, but you did not want to talk further about it. As for that, all of us at Riverside Hotel are sincerely sorry you feel that way, and hope you may find a Hotel that suits your very particular needs in Brisbane.

We usually outline in most of our responses that 95% of problems that guests have at Hotels can be solved straight away, by merely talking to a Manager. Should you encounter further problems such as these in any other hotel, please ensure to let the Manager know and I can assure you he or she will action and solve the problem on the spot for you. Sadly, we cannot find out that you are unhappy with your Room unless you let us know. At that point, we will gladly solve the problem, so that you may actually enjoy your stay and not decide to “take revenge” with a bad review.

With regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stay at The Riverside Hotel on all our stopovers in Brisbane. The service from Luiz and his staff is just amazing, greeted with a smile on every visit and made feel at home. Walking distance to the CBD, Southbank and one of the main reasons we stay here is it is so close to Suncorp Stadium. You can’t go past this hotel for service.

Room Tip: The apartments are great, with washing machine and lounge room.. Beds are very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for yet again writing a most lovely review about us here on TripAdvisor.

As you know, we always love seeing a guest we know walk in through the door, as there is a bond created between guest and hotel, almost like we are already old friends or family.

We cannot hold credit alone for the service, as your attitude as a guest extremely contributes to us making you feel at home.

As always, please allow me the utmost honour to book your reservation myself, and allow us the pleasure of welcoming you back again.

We look forward to seeing you soon!

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We recently stayed at the Riverside Hotel for several days. Great location. We found the hotel easy to get to and appreciated the free, secure car parking. The location is excellent, in easy walking distance to the Convention Centre, Southbank cafes and walkways and the various cultural centres. The rooms were clean and well-stocked. We were amazed at how quiet it was and we loved the block-out curtains and very comfortable bed. We called in to the in-house Montague's Restaurant seeking a quick, light evening snack. The maitre d' recommended the entree Garlic, Cheese & Bacon Bread. It was just right! And very tasty! It took a few minutes to walk to the rail station and maybe 5-8 minutes of easy walking to the Convention Centre. It was a most enjoyable stay. My compliments to the team.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for writing such a positive and invigorating feedback!

Your review has been shared with our entire team, and it served as a great motivation for them to see how their service is perceived by our guests.

A special thanks from the Restaurant Manager, who is glad to see that his recommendation was to your liking.

The team is eager to welcome you back soon, therefore please do not hesitate to contact myself directly and allow me the honour to organize your bookings personally.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

we stayed in this hotel when we went to a gala dinner in brisbane, the room was great and very clean, we only stayed one night but had a medical appointment the next day so after booking out asked could we leave our car in the carpark for a few extra hours and they allowed us to. the carparking is free with this hotel and with leaving the car there while we went to our appointment saved us money. It is within walking distance to anything you would do within the city perimetre

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for writing such a jovial and positive review.

It is always with great joy that we receive such comments. Your remarks about the room have been welcomed with cheer by our Housekeeping team.

As we are a family operated Hotel, we are always happy to provide as much as we can with the least amount of hassle. That being said, we have a car parking which is not always utilized to its full extend, therefore we can gladly allow our guests to leave their cars in the car parking for some time after check out.

It will be our absolute pleasure to welcome you back here at the Riverside. As for that, please do not hesitate to contact myself directly when planning your next visit.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stay regularly at the Riverside when visiting Brisbane. It is conveniently located on Southbank, and offers secure undercover parking. Luiz and his team offer friendly, polite service - rooms are comfortable, clean and fresh. Very good restaurant facilities and excellent buffet breakfast. There are many hotels in Brisbane but for value and location the Riverside is unbeatable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for once again taking the time to make our day with such lovely feedback!

It is always our utmost pleasure to welcome you back, as returning guests are always the best way to measure the success of the service we provide.

On behalf of the entire team, I sincerely thank you for making the Riverside your home away from home and for always honestly sharing your experiences here on TripAdvisor.

As always, we look forward to your next visit!!!

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hotels and motels are ridiculously expensive in and around Brisbane so we were a bit skeptical when we found this hotel with great reviews on TripAdvisor and with tariffs approaching what we should expect to have to pay. We are pleased to report that there were no hidden catches. On arrival we were met at reception with friendly people, our room was clean and had been renovated in the recent past. Air conditioning, TV, fridge, tea/coffee making facilities, shampoo etc. etc. were all there and working. Breakfast also was a pleasant surprise at $30 per couple for a full breakfast with plenty of choice instead of the usual $35 plus per person. We enjoyed free secure parking for the duration of our stay and it was easy walking distance to all the attractions on the inner south of the river such as South Bank, Performing Arts Theatre, Lyric Theatre, museum and art gallery. If you felt like a bit of a walk, just across the Victoria bridge was the city centre.

We rarely give hotels a top score but this one deserves it.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room but all rooms probably were quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to illustrate in such lovely words your positive feedback!

Hotels are indeed extremely expensive in our city, especially in the area where we are located. That being said, Riverside Hotel figured that giving our guests a fair room rate is part of being in the Hospitality industry and providing a good service. The same principle applies to our food rates, hence the full breakfast being only $15.00 per person. We are glad you found value for money with us.

I am also happy to see that our team has provided you with friendly and professional service throughout your stay.

Car-parking on its own is already a luxury in central Brisbane, but providing it FREE is almost a luxury. Going back to our first “pointer”, we just do not see why we would charge our guests for parking if we have plenty of space; might as well give it to our kind guests free of charge.

It will be sincerely our utmost pleasure to welcome you back here at the Riverside. Please allow me to arrange your booking personally by contacting myself directly.

Once again, thank you very much!

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel South Bank

Address: 20 Montague St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel South Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel South Bank is a AAA rated 4 star Hotel, located in Brisbane’s South Bank, which is known as the “precinct for business, art, culture, education, dining and living”.Being built in 1998, Riverside Hotel is family operated and, as for that, prizes service and guest comfort above all.Comprised of over 90 rooms and apartments, we have an array of facilities on offer to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. Our Standard Rooms are perfect for guests staying overnight for a corporate function or if you are in town to watch a game at the Gabba or Suncorp Stadium, while our One Bedroom Apartments include a kitchenette and a spacious lounge area, so whatever brings you to Brisbane, our rooms provide a comfortable home away from home.Whether planning your visit for business or leisure, Riverside Hotel offers peace of mind to all our guests by providing complimentary car parking and being located within walking distance to all major tourist and business areas of Brisbane.During your stay with us, you will be mere moments away from the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Lyric Theatre (QPAC), Museums and Art Galleries, not to mention being surrounded by a variety of over 40 restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Please allow us to reiterate that Brisbane C.B.D. and the Suncorp Stadium are also nearby. At the Riverside Hotel, you will be close to whatever brings you to Brisbane.Riverside Hotel does not just offer 4 Star quality in an ideal location, we also take pride in guaranteeing you the best rates in Southbank* for accommodation and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hotel South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel South Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.