We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riverside Hotel South Bank

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Riverside Hotel South Bank to your Saves list
Riverside Hotel South Bank
4.0 of 5 Specialty Hotel   |   20 Montague St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
10% OFF your stay
Ranked #22 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Cairns, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I stayed at the Riverside Hotel where I got to admit, I was very impressed. When I booked online, I didn't have great expectations, but within the first 30 minutes at the hotel, I was ashtonished. The Place is beatiful with very modern decor. Staff very helpful, polite and smiling at all times. Congrats to the the tall guy on a suit at the reception really showed me the real meaning of the word hospitality. The rooms are clean, cozy with a very comfy bed. The location is great. Walking distance to the Convention Centre, restaurants and, if you are into arts, The MOMA is just around the corner.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share such a lovely review about Riverside Hotel.

I can understand your expectations, as our rates tend to be really low according to our star rating and location.

Nevertheless, as you’ve said, we always do our best to ensure great service is delivered to you, that our hotel is comfortable and clean. Our new refurbishment of the outside of the property has just finished, proving that.

Thank you for the personal note towards me, it is always great to see a guest remembers you and appreciates the service they have received

Your review is stimulating and fresh, and I sincerely thank you for that.

Please be sure to contact me directly whenever planning your next trip to Brisbane, so that I may look after your booking personally.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    158
    112
    24
    14
See reviews for
52
158
55
84
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Umuarama
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in Riverside. The facilities and the staff are just great, and there are many fun or cultural things to do by the area. I strongly recommend to anyone who wants a good and not so expensive place to stay, after all it's all worthy.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback!

It is great to be made aware of guests who have extensively en joyed their stay, as well as that our staff has provided you with great service.

By being in the centre of the Cultural Centre of Brisbane, Riverside Hotel indeed offers a great locality for all those cultural sites seekers.

Thank you very much for your recommendation, and please be sure to contact myself directly, so that I may organize your next booking personally.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

I stayed at the Riverside Hotel South Bank for two nights in November 2012. It is the perfect location for the business traveller who is not seeking luxury but would like a clean, comfortable room for a few nights in a prime location, 2min walk to South Bank and the Brisbane Cultural Precinct (MOMA, State Library, QPAC, cafes).

The hotel is split with reception and restaurant occupying one building and you have to go outside and enter another building to access rooms. The corridor to the elevator is long and very dorm like, dark, grubby looking. It definitely detracted from the room which was a nice surprise - large, clean, comfortable bed & pillows, and nicely decorated. The room had air conditioning and a door that could be opened onto a balcony for fresh air. You would not wish to sit on the balcony unless you would like to be visible to the hotel occupants directly opposite. I could see into their rooms, including the gym where a guy worked on his bicep for hours on end.

Although functional, the bathroom needed a face lift. The first thing to go would be the old rusty dispensers of soap & shampoo mounted on the wall and in the shower recess. These looked uninviting and were reminiscent of public toilets hence giving a feeling that you were sharing your amenities.

I had breakfast in the restaurant one morning but felt it over-priced and nothing special. The Cafe at the rear of MOMA looking out over the Brisbane River, 2 min walk, was a much better option.

I would definitely stay here again if on business or value for money accommodation but if traveling with family on a holiday I would probably want to stay somewhere more luxurious.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your honest feedback about your recent stay with us.

I think you have summed it up in your first paragraph: we are set up for someone who is budget conscious, not seeking luxury but good service, clean and comfortable rooms at a great location in Brisbane. Thank you for that.

We have already quoted a new lighting system for the corridors, and are now waiting for a reply from the suppliers. Please accept my sincere apologies for this inconvenience.

Thank you for the positive comments about the room, and please understand that the building next door is not another hotel, but merely a normal apartment building. Again, please accept my apologies you had to watch a “guy” working on his biceps for hours on end.

We also agree the bathrooms will require a facelift, and have that on our plans, although not for too soon, but hopefully sooner than later. I did not understand what you meant when you said the dispensers are “rusty”, as they are all made out of plastic in order to avoid rust. The main reason why some hotels are now going with dispensers is to suit a more “green environmental friendly” status, as soap bars are usually just thrown out half used, as well as shampoo and conditioner bottles. All dispensers are sanitized after each guest departs the room.

Our Restaurant Manager was concerned with your remarks about breakfast, and said he would love to hear more from you so that he can work on it and provide you a better service next time.

If you are ever in Brisbane again, please make sure to contact me directly, so that I may look after your accommodation booking myself. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back!

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Great location - close to Southbank, city, Suncorp stadium.
Check-in was a breeze. Room was overlooking the main arterial road leading onto William Jolly bridge, so there was a lot of traffic noise.
Rooms generally clean. Bathroom is a bit worn down. Standard in-room amenities.

Perfectly positioned for a overnight inner city stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent experience with us at the Riverside Hotel.

We are happy to hear you have found our location was suitable, and that check-in was nice and easy.

One of the main downsides of staying so close to downtown (CBD) is that there will be traffic noise if your window is opened, but when you close the balcony doors, which are extremely thick, noise should no longer be an issue.

I also would like to thank you for your remark on the cleanliness of the room. we have plans for the near future to upgrade our bathrooms, and are hoping it will be done sometime soon.

Please be sure to get in touch with myself directly on your next visit to Brisbane, so that I may look after your booking myself.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I enjoyed very much staying at Riverside Hotel South Bank. All members of Staff are extremely helpful and friendly and the facilities are really good.
Great value for money. I am definitely coming back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such lovely comments.

I must say you have made my day!

Your review has been displayed to all our staff members, and everyone was quite joyful to read your remarks about our customer service and facilities.

We are definitely looking forward to welcoming you back! Please ensure to contact myself directly so that I may look after your accommodation personally.

Once again, thank you so very much!

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I got what I wanted - a decent night's sleep. That was until the alarm went off, as it had not been turned off after the previous residents. I would expect that to be part of the housekeeping duties. There was surprisingly little road noise, despite looking out onto a multi lane roadway.

The place is convenient to South Brisbane, with the Gallery of Modern Art, the Library, the theatre and the convention centre in close proximity. Slightly further on is a strip of great restaurants and a little man-made beach. There is a great cycle and pedestrian path, and it is easy to use the rental bikes, from the automated stations that seem to be everywhere around the CBD. Cheap too. Just remember to write down your number from the website - I assumed it would be emailed to me, but no. So I had difficulty getting another bike after I had docked mine for a short break.

Back to the hotel. The iron was dirty, which really annoys me, when I leave a mark on my shirt after trying to iron it. The toilet did not flush properly. The staff seemed pre-occupied.

But yes, I would go back there, I don't have major gripes, just minor ones.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main building, on the 4th or 5th floor would have better views, and are a little hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your frank feedback.

First and foremost, we were all very happy to see the title of your review, that you will be happy to return! That is indeed a great start. I was personally glad to see that you were not disturbed by noise, as that is a very personal thing and some guests can hear it, while other cannot.

I was, however, extremely troubled after reading your remarks about the alarm and the iron in the room. That is definitely not what one would expect from a 4 star Hotel, and I sincerely apologize for this, and once again thank you for your understanding. I would, in your position, be furious to be awaken in the middle of the night.

As for that, we have had a board meeting and our Executive Housekeeper has deeply apologized and guaranteed this was a singular incident that will no longer happen.

Was the mark on your shirt removed? I would be more than happy to replace it for you, or get it cleaned in house.

Once again, I would like to genuinely thank you for your constructive feedback, and can assure you it will not happen again. Please contact myself directly whenever coming back to Brisbane, so that I may organize your booking myself. As for that, I might be able to accommodate your requests easier.

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bundaberg, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

This is the best hotel to stay in when coming to Brisbane... You are so close to Southbank, shopping in the city and nights out at the theatres. We stay here every time when travel to Brisbane to watch ‘Brisbane Roar’ play their home games at Suncorp Stadium. The staff are just so helpful and such lovely people, you couldn’t ask for better service. I wouldn’t stay anywhere else...
Thank you Luiz and your wonderful staff :-)

Room Tip: Email ahead and find out about rooms before you travel.The apartments are such a good size with wash...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LuizPrebianca, Manager at Riverside Hotel South Bank, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your lovely feedback and your continuous patronage and support to Riverside Hotel.

It has been about one year since the first time you have been with us, and it is, as always, a great pleasure to welcome you back here at Riverside.

On behalf of our staff, I would like to outline how much we appreciate having you with us, and how easier it makes for us to suit your needs now that you book directly with us as well. Thank you for your remarks about the staff and for mentioning my name.

I have e-mailed you directly thanking you for the review as well.

I sincerely hope that future guests take your advice and start e-mailing and/or calling us more for their bookings, as mistakes can be avoided and requests accommodated easier.

Once again, thank you very much for everything. We are looking forward to your next stay with us!!!

With best regards,

Luiz Prebianca
Hotel Duty Manager
Riverside Hotel
“Comfort, Location and Service.”
luiz@riversidehotel.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riverside Hotel South Bank? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Hotel South Bank

Address: 20 Montague St, Brisbane, Queensland 4101, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 110 Specialty Lodging in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riverside Hotel South Bank 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riverside Hotel South Bank is a AAA rated 4 star Hotel, located in Brisbane’s South Bank, which is known as the “precinct for business, art, culture, education, dining and living”.Being built in 1998, Riverside Hotel is family operated and, as for that, prizes service and guest comfort above all.Comprised of over 90 rooms and apartments, we have an array of facilities on offer to make your stay a comfortable and enjoyable experience. Our Standard Rooms are perfect for guests staying overnight for a corporate function or if you are in town to watch a game at the Gabba or Suncorp Stadium, while our One Bedroom Apartments include a kitchenette and a spacious lounge area, so whatever brings you to Brisbane, our rooms provide a comfortable home away from home.Whether planning your visit for business or leisure, Riverside Hotel offers peace of mind to all our guests by providing complimentary car parking and being located within walking distance to all major tourist and business areas of Brisbane.During your stay with us, you will be mere moments away from the Brisbane Convention and Exhibition Centre, Lyric Theatre (QPAC), Museums and Art Galleries, not to mention being surrounded by a variety of over 40 restaurants, bars and coffee shops. Please allow us to reiterate that Brisbane C.B.D. and the Suncorp Stadium are also nearby. At the Riverside Hotel, you will be close to whatever brings you to Brisbane.Riverside Hotel does not just offer 4 Star quality in an ideal location, we also take pride in guaranteeing you the best rates in Southbank* for accommodation and functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Riverside Hotel South Bank reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Hotel Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riverside Hotel South Bank, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.