We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best location you can get” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sebel Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sebel Brisbane to your Saves list
The Sebel Brisbane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Albert and Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Noosa Heads
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Best location you can get”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Location of the Hotel is excellent. Front Office staff very nice and efficient. Room need some loving care. We had a one bedroom apartment. Room was a little tired. Room facilities are basic but O.K. Yes, we will consider staying here again, if a special is available because of a great location,

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear ozmuth,

It's great to hear from Trip Advisor's senior contributors, such as yourself, who are well-travelled and provide us with informed feedback that helps us to continually improve. We will take on board your comments and appreciate you having taken the time to provide them. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

553 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    190
    241
    94
    16
    12
See reviews for
116
167
48
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I'm a business traveller and last time in Brisbane I was put in the Meriton in Adelaide Street. And I got the impression of Brisbane that it closed at 5pm.
The Sebel is absolutely in the (sorry Brisbanites) very small centre of Brisbane. As I know, business travellers are hugely reluctant to venture outside the front door of their hotel but it is SO easy to cross the road and go up hill into the Queen Street centre from here that even I managed to do it.
So: plusses: location. Also opening windows and balconies, and friendly front desk staff.
neutrals: gym and pool are at the level of "that'll be ok for business travellers".
negatives: rooms feel tired, this is not a new building, the lifts are slow and bizarrely there is no wifi in the rooms (fellow MacBook owners bring an Ethernet adaptor). And the "bath" could more accurately be described as a high-rise shower tray, I am not sure what sort of person would ever sit in it as it is 50cm wide by 150cm long by 50cm high. Bed has a springy mattress which feels a bit cheap.
Personally I think the location wins over the negatives.
BTW I had a room ending -01, it was a "premium" 1 bedroom suite and was definitely ok for 2 people which not all one-bedders are, but it faces south so no sunbathing on the balcony. The "premium" package includes internet and a substantial breakfast buffet so you should definitely consider that.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear cafrinagain,

We appreciate your review of our hotel and the detailed and balanced commentary. Yes, we have a great location and travellers do enjoy this fact. While we are not a new hotel, we have refurbished several years ago and are also looking at bathrooms and kitchenettes in the near future. The next thing happening is our much-awaited WiFi installation. We will have this in place by the end of August, which will make our Mac-user guests very happy, I'm sure! Once again, many thanks for the comments.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I got a good deal on the Accor hotels website so when we got there we were surprised to find our parking was included (quoted $28 over the phone) and on top of that we were on the top floor. All the staff were very friendly, in particular the girl that checked us in and out she had some good advice for what to do on our short stay. The room was really nice and the the breakfast was great except the coffee don't bother with the coffee that comes with it, pay for a proper coffee.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear LMBL2008,

We appreciate your review and I'm pleased to hear that you found a great deal when staying with us. There are of course two options for coffee with breakfast - personally, I always like an espresso variety in the morning and it sounds like you do as well. Great to receive this feedback and I hope we'll see you again soon.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

The Sebel is an apartment hotel with a mix of studio, one and two bedroom apartments. It is located only a block away from Queen St Mall, and the rooms have sweeping views of Brisbane. We booked a studio apartment, which was small but more than adequate for an overnight stay. The rooms are clean, modern, and well furnished - even in the studio apartment there were two armchairs (not as common as you might think). Beds were OK, and the limited interaction we had with the staff was pleasant. It is normally quite expensive, but good deals can be found for non-peak times. The breakfast in the ground floor restaurant was expensive and somewhat limited in range, however, there are plenty of cafes in the immediate vicinity where you can get a good breakfast and coffee at a more reasonable cost.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom B, General Manager at The Sebel Brisbane, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear anw190,

Many thanks for your detailed and balanced review. We appreciate this feedback and it's good to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We accept that there are some cheaply-priced cafe options in the vicinity and feel that this only adds to meal choices for our guests, augmenting our restaurant and room service facilities. We hope to see you again on a future visit.

Kind regards

Tom Bloomfield
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sebel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sebel Brisbane

Address: Cnr Albert and Charlotte St, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#19 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#21 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Sebel Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Sebel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sebel Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Sebel Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Sebel Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sebel Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.