We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average about sums this up!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Brisbane to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average about sums this up!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed for our wedding anniversary 30th, Feb 2015. It was a pretty special celebration for us, shame about the hotel, it's very popular but I'm struggling to see how it earns five stars and its reputation as one of Brisbane's top hotels. It was a Valentine's special weekend including champagne and chocolate strawberries. When we got to the room 50mins after we were due to book in (it wasn't ready before this-no apology, no complementary drink while we waited) there was no bubbly or fruit, we had to request it, then it took two hours to arrive, we requested pillows from housekeeping which also took three phone calls to achieve. The room was crowded with furniture, no balcony, nice view but tatty bathroom with broken wall and floor tiles. breakfast on the Sunday morning was very poor, not enough staff, food not restocked, flies in the fruit, the fresh egg station in the way of the door, quite dangerous with children in the restaurant. Breakfast on Monday morning was much improved, lots less people better standard of food, egg station moved. Check out delayed not enough staff on reception, no I hope you had a nice stay, happy anniversary etc despite me telling them on the booking form. All in all a lack of attention to detail and a don't care attitude by the staff!!!! Could do better, will not stay again

Room Tip: Don't stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    282
    110
    34
    22
See reviews for
67
434
45
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed here extensively over 3 months for work. Great rooms, very reasonably priced, great staff. After a while the breakfast choices become a bit boring but I guess that would happen anywhere. It was good enough for the Chinese President during G20!

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Glen K,

We are pleased you have enjoyed your stays with us over the last 3 months. Our location in the CBD allows easy access to the corporate buildings, while our Riverfront location allows you to relax with views over the river or a walk in the Botanic Gardens next to us after a hard day’s work. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Kind Regards,

Luke Pearl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Stamford Plaza is my destination of choice in Brisbane. It provides the right mix of luxury, style and affordabiltiy. The hotel is exceptionally well positioned with the rooms very comfortably decorated and furnished. The staff have an attention to detail which is extremely rare. The food is amazing and the pool overlooking the Brisbane River

Room Tip: Always worth upgrading to a mini-suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Dear Waynemartin37,

We are elated to read we are your destination of choice in Brisbane! I have shared your kind feedback with the team as your comments serve as great motivation for us all. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Luke Pearl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakville, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I've stayed at the Stamford Plaza many times. It is always good to be back. Friendly and professional services, clean rooms and a great location. What more do you want on a business trip !! i will be back. A bike ride along the river is highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Joe L,

It is always wonderful to receive feedback from one of our return guests. The paths along the river are fantastic for bike riding and enjoying our River City. The New Farm River Walk path is now open again after being destroyed by the 2011 floods. The path goes from under the Story Bridge to the Suburb of New Farm and is well worth the ride if you haven’t done so already. We look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Brisbane.

Kind Regards,

Luke Pearl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for one night but wish it could have been more. On checking in we were offered an upgrade to a suite which I'm glad we took. It had beautiful views of the river. Although we only stayed the one night we had a great time. The hotel is within walking distance to great shopping and restaurants. The staff were pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. I would stay again but hopefully for longer than one night.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room. The view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear HappyCampers44,

We are delighted to see you enjoyed your stay with us in a Junior Suite. They are well worth the upgrade boasting spectacular views of both the Story Bridge and Kangaroo Point Cliffs, both of which look beautiful all lit up at night. We thank you for your review and look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay next time.

Kind Regards,

Luke Pearl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Cracking location for business or pleasure. The hotel is as you would expect from a top tier hotel. Very nice pool and gym, highly rated restaurants attached with all the expected accompaniments. The hotel is a little dated in decor, however functionality can’t be faulted and kingsize bedrooms are good with a generous bathroom.

Abundant choices of places to eat or drink nearby. Staff are polite and helpful too. Easy link to the airport. The concierge are unbelievably helpful too with suggestions of restaurants and a helpful guide to the city.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear Mike P,

Thank you for your high recommendation of our pool, gym and restaurants. Our pool area is a lovely place to relax and enjoy the river views with a cocktail or soak in the hot tub. As you can imagine it has been well received over the last summer months for our guests to cool down after a day at the office or sightseeing. We thank you for your review and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Luke Pearl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel is ok, but could be fantastic. Location is the real reason to stay here. Could not get better, right on the river, with boardwalk, restaurants, shopping, galleries and botanical gardens all within walking distance. Boardwalk is a great place to take a run or walk along the river and across to the botanical gardens. Business travellers can make this their home with local businesses right at doorstep.

Stayed here for a 5 day business conference. Our group occupied just under 50 rooms and held business meetings at hotel. I/we travelled to and from local businesses and events from this central point – by foot and by coach/taxi.

From my experience and what I gathered in checking with a sampling of colleagues, check-in was smooth. I heard from some guests that when asking to ring my room, I wasn’t listed as a hotel guest. I received a bill on checkout in my name so not sure what the issue was.

Plus Side - all staff I met was friendly, eager to please.

Arrivals/departures were a mix of international and domestic, staggered over a couple of days. Airport transfers were outsourced and all went well. On that note, the hotel concierge and porter desk was exceptional - friendly and oustanding in terms of helpful information.

Down side to this hotel - guest rooms are sadly in need of a lift. Mine had bulky, outdated, dented, chipped and scratched furnishings (including a magazine rack). Allow me to clarify – the room furnishings in my room were not antique, they are merely old. I understand that rennovations to the hotel’s 19 suites are planned. According to the company report, the updating for suites is in the pipeline but no date mentioned. See company report here: http://stamfordland.listedcompany.com/review.html

I ended up in a deluxe king - river view – plenty big for one or a couple but not when stuffed with old furnishings. Bedside table blocked access to closet door (I moved it to a corner) . Room had a musty smell. Windows do not open. Lighting in room is especially poor in desk area. Room tip – hotel is L shaped . You will have to use blackout drapes or avoid higher floors near the bend (facing river) unless you want the neon Stamford sign shining in your room at nite. Plus side: a pillow menu.

WiFi in room – no instructions in room (front desk provided them). WiFi service was slow, intermittent.

Housekeeping note –vacuuming under the beds – I dropped my cell phone which landed under the bed – noticed layers of dust, pills and other items left behind from previous guests - ugh. Also in room dining menu stained, dirty.

Bathrooms are quite large. Double sink - TV in bathroom is on counter taking up space , blocking mirror, place in front of hairdryer (and the only outlet), forcing one to pull the hair dryer over an open sink to open mirror and nowhere to lay it down. My shower looked to have the beginning of mold on the bottom tiles. Room amenities were not replenished during day. No makeup mirror. Shower hot water runs hot and cold.

In room dining – menu limited but on time. I noticed room service meals were delivered UNCOVERED thru the hotel via the service elevators. Please purchase/use plate cover lids.

Ours is a professional group – mostly engaged in meetings all day long - and also very social group so after a long day and dinner out, some were disappointed to find the hotel bar PAV closed before 11pm.

Breakfast buffet was ok - a bit pricey for what is basic industry standard now a days. Disappointed that espresso and cappuccino are classified as specialty drinks and therefore extra charges – some didn’t know until bill arrived at checkout.

The Lobby Bar high tea seemed popular with the locals and children.

Level 2 meeting space - air temp controls were ineffective. We froze on both days and nothing seemed to help which proved distracting for our presenters and not pleasant for those of us in the room.

Our ground team will be reporting on these and other issues directly with hotel management.

Room Tip: Room tip – hotel is L shaped . You will have to use blackout drapes or avoid higher floors near th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luke P, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Dear travelgirl816,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. Please be assured your comments have been discussed with the department heads concerned for their urgent rectification. I sincerely apologise for these service shortfalls and the poor impression that has been left with you. We appreciate your feedback as it is only through caring guests such as yourself that we are able to improve the products and service offered to our guests.

Kind Regards,

Luke Pearl
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#17 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.