We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Brisbane to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 Breakfast Special
Ranked #30 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary.
Staff were welcoming and friendly. A letter from the manager and a bottle of wine, made us feel we had made the right choice of hotel to celebrate.

Room Tip: stayed in room 2104 which had fabulous views of the Storey Bridge
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, April 1, 2014
Dear Paul K,

Congratulations once again on your 25th Wedding Anniversary. I am pleased to read you had a wonderful stay with us. You are most welcome for the bottle of wine, we always enjoy helping our guests celebrate special occasions such as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

784 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    389
    245
    99
    31
    20
See reviews for
52
384
42
193
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2014

We stayed for night at the stamford for our anniversary. The service was fantastic and the views from the deluxe room was fabulous. We were on the lazy daze package and it was well worth the money. Only reason for not giving 5 stars is because the rooms are showing a bit of age and would need a refurb. Tee Art Deco is a but outdated.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Sanushka123,

Congratulations on your recent Wedding Anniversary! I am pleased you enjoyed our Romance and Seduction Pacakage, it is always a great option to take when celebrating special occasions. I note your comments regarding the room and I am pleased to advise we do have a refurbishment planned to bring the rooms back to their former glory. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future to enjoy our new look.

Best Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and myself are staying in this amazing hotel in Brisbane . The room is beautiful,with views over the Brisbane river. Everything you would want is available in this 5 star hotel.
The staff from the time you are greeted at the front door are extremely friendly,polite and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be spoilt .

Room Tip: We had room 1903 and i would recommend this room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Sue D,

Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to read you had a wonderful stay and found all the staff to be friendly and helpful. I will share your comments with them. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

We were very happy with the service by the concierge, valet and room service but unfortunately, when we went to the bar for a night cap, the bar tender was extremely rude. Others around us had their drinks poured before having to pay but for some reason, this bar tender wanted us to pay before he poured the drinks. I've never experienced this anywhere else in my life. When I asked to take it to the manager, she wouldn't help either??!! Poor discriminatory service on that occasion is enough for me to recommend that you don't risk wasting your money.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Jazz13579,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I was very concerned and disappointed to read of your concerns regarding your experience in the bar. I have investigated this further with the Bar Manager. As you had ordered a cocktail and these take a little longer to make, we ask for payment then we bring the cocktail over, rather than have you wait at the bar while we make these. I do sincerely apologise that you felt discriminated on this occasion as this is certainly not our intention. I hope we may have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future to change this adverse impression that was projected on this occasion.

Best Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014 via mobile

Right on the banks of the glorious Brisbane river. Class as you walk in to nice reception and lobby. Staff very friendly and courteous. Breakfast is pricey ($30 buffet) but you expect that in nice hotels. Best thing is you can have your breakfast right on the river.

Rooms are well maintained, plenty of space.

Nice pool and spa area as well on third floor.

Great for business, not right in heart of CBD but being near the river and park makes it worth it!!

Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear tomwatson84,

Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the breakfast in our Brasserie overlooking the river. It is indeed a great way to start the day. We trust you had a safe trip home and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane.

Best Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

The Stamford was clean, comfortable with excellent service from the staff. Well positioned right on the Brisbane River and opposite the Brisbane Botanic Gradens. A very quick walk into the the city. 20 mins walk to South Bank along the river and botanical gardens. The bonus was that there a variety of water front restaurants near buy. Although the river in Brisbane always amuses me as it is so brown. The hotel does represent a style of era with a hint of glamour along with marble in the Bath rooms. Rooms view in the evening spectacular.

My only complaint was I found the menu in the terrace bar restrictive. I am a vegetarian and I found I was not really represented on the menu. The wine menu also did not represent Australia's finest wineries which was disappointing. All in all a comfortable staff with excellent service.

Room Tip: Over looking the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Ningaloo2006,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our fantastic location. I note your comments regarding the Pav Bar menu and beverage menu and will certainly pass this on to our Bar Manager and Executive Chef. Thank you once again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Stamford for our wedding anniversary. What a great hotel, I'm a member of a number of hotel chains that I tend to favour, but in Australia this hotel chain has my vote.A top location right on the waterfront surrounded by many good restaurants and café's and of course just minutes from the Brisbane CBD shopping area. The rooms are large and very comfortable , with a classic come modern décor look.The bathroom had plenty of space with good amenities and the bed was large and very comfortable.The gym was well laid out with a good range of equipment, and the pool area is large and well set out with a fantastic out look over the Brisbane waterfront.We were surprised with a bottle of wine for our anniversary from the hotel that was well appreciated.My only negative comment would be that the hotel cannot be accessed directly from the basement. This is a premium hotel in Brisbane which you will not be disappointed with.We both loved out stay in this hotel and look forward to returning.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room on the 11th floor overlooking the river. So perhaps the higher the better in the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, March 23, 2014
Dear Alastair4,

Thank you for your comprehensive review and congratulations on your wedding anniversary. You are most welcome for the bottle of wine, we always enjoy helping your guests celebrate special occasions. I am pleased to read you had a wonderful stay and were able to enjoy all the facilities the hotel has to offer. I am delighted to read Stamford now has your vote in Australia! We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane or at any of our other properties in Australia or Auckland.

Best Regards,

Phiippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.