We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice ambiance and quality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Brisbane to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
$1 Breakfast Special
Ranked #18 of 162 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Nice ambiance and quality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for a business meeting. Entrance is very pleasant and front desk personnel are polite. Sleepwise is very good with comfortable bedding. Room was spacious with a large bathroom and large separate shower. Air-conditioning is poor.. unusual for a hotel in a city renowned for humidity and heat. Location is very good.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Victeeth,

Thank you for your feedback and for your comment on the bedding. We are currently in the process of replacing all the beds, so I am pleased to hear we have made the right choice and you found the bed comfortable. I was disappointed to read however, the airconditioning was poor. Please be assured, I have passed on your comments to our engineering team for further investigation.

Thank you once again for your comments, it is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to maintain and indeed, where necessary, improve upon the service that we provide to our valued guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

818 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    253
    104
    33
    22
See reviews for
57
405
42
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (236)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Weve just come off a weekend in Brisbane and stayed at the Stamford Plaza. This was a nice change from the Sofitel, Hilton and Marriott. Nice rooms, comfy beds and HUGE bathrooms. All the staff were very accommodating from booking until check out. Our only negative comment is the quality of the Brasserie breakfast. Unfortunately I've has better and fresher breakfasts in mining camps. Very ordinary, and we never got our coffees on the Sunday morning as ordered.

Overall this is up there with one of the best hotels in Brisbane for comfort, views and service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Busytraveller83,
Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

At Stamford Plaza Brisbane we are committed to providing a quality product and service so I was disappointed to read about the quality of breakfast you received. Please be assured your comments have been passed on to the Executive Chef and Food and Beverage Director for further investigation and staff training.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Went here for a girls day. The buffet high tea was amazing! Had everything you could imagine. Delicious!
The chocolate high tea is situated in this under covered area outside, with a beautiful view of the story bridge.

Recommend having a small light lunch prior to having the high tea, as you will be full enough.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Lozrar,

Thank you for advising of your recent experience with our chocolate high tea. I am delighted you enjoyed it. I have passed on your kind comments to the chef. The high teas are always popular and it is something nice to do with a group of friends. I can also recommend our Lobby High Tea which is accompanied by a live harpist.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

i loved the stay here , the only thing was the airconditioning was not good , never got cold enough . Thwe staff were excellent with great servive , The checkin was very smooth , the location was perfect , nice breakfast buffet style , good value as well .

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Emily J,

Thank you for advising of your recent stay with us. It is only through feedback such as yours that we are able to act on any glitches. I was disapointed to read the air conditioning in your room was not cold enough. Please be assured this has been addressed with my engineering team for further investigation. I am pleased to hear despite this, you enjoyed your stay. We are indeed blessed with fantastic staff and a great location. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armidale
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Stayed here numerous times on business. Very enjoyable experience. The hotel is located very close to restaurants and overlooks the river.
The amenities are as good as I have experienced in any good hotel. Staff are pleasant and accommodating. Food was good but expensive.
Staying at the hotel I have paid anything from $250 to $550+ for similar rooms. I know pricing is demand driven but it makes it difficult to stay loyal to one hotel when prices vary that much.
Happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Dear David_Susie,
Thank you for your kind comments. Our daily rates do vary from day to day, depending on the day of the week and occupancy. You will always find our best available rate and any promotional packages on our website. Alternatively if yourself or your company travels to Brisbane on a regular basis (30 room nights or more) we would be delighted to discuss the possibility of organising corporate rates for you.
We look forward to welcoming you back again soon as our valued guest.

Kind Regards,
Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Our 4th stay at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane and as always an excellent experience! Staff are friendly, the rooms are clean and it's located in a great part if Brisbane. Due to the constant satisfaction we experience, we are considering paying the annual fee and becoming Senator Club members just so we have an excuse to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Lcj8485,

Thank you for your kind comments. Our Stamford Senators Club is an excellent program to join with great discounts on accommoation and restaurant dining. We look forward to you returning again soon as our valued guest.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

I truly enjoyed my stay at the Stamford Plaza in Brisbane. My husband took my to the Stamford Plaza as a birthday gift this year and treated me to the "Romance" package. It was wonderful. The room was incredible and we were nearly on the top floor. All the staff were so lovely. We had strawberries and champagne in the room and the bath was drawn and candles lit around the room. The bed was lovely and the spa bath in the room was nice and big. our view of the river and the Story bridge was amazing, we just sat and drank our champagne and looked out at the view. We also had the seafood buffet dinner at the Stamford. the Stamford goes right onto the river and it's nice to be able to eat dinner by the river and I was surprised by how lovely and quiet it was. The food was quite delicious and not that expensive compared to other seafood restaurants.

Room Tip: If you can get a room looking over the river towards the story bridge then go for it, the view is co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philippe K, General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear Melanie R,

Thank you for choosing our hotel to celebrate your birthday. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed our Romance and Seduction Package. It is always nice to be spoilt. Thank you for your kind words regarding our Seafood Buffet. I have passed on your comments to our Chefs. I agree it is lovely sitting by the river watching the river life float by.

Thank you once again for your comments, we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Philippe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.