We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury and lovely location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Brisbane to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Gold Coast Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Luxury and lovely location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The stamford plaza had a lovely old world look with service to match. The deluxe room had a view of the Brisbane river. Very well appointed room and Ensuite with a great bath and a TV. Great to be able to walk around the city gardens. Quiet location

Room Tip: We used wotif to include extras like parking and breakfast at a good rate
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Lynne M,

Thank you for choosing the Stamford Plaza Brisbane for your city getaway recently.

Our hotel does have an old world charm about it, and it was great to read that the service matched your expectations.

Indeed our location is ideal in the city and next to the city botanic gardens.

Thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon some time

Kind regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

889 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    282
    109
    34
    22
See reviews for
67
433
45
219
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Recently stayed at the Stamford in Brisbane and I loved the location, right on the river and only around a 10 minute walk to the main Queen Street. Check in was smooth and the room looked great. Big chairs near the window, big bed, and an even bigger bathroom. Their pool and spa looked great as well, although a bit dated. The room overall was great, the only thing is the TV looks very old and most channels have bad picture quality which is surprising as Brisbane has no more analog signal.

The only downside about this hotel, like many other 5 star hotels, is the basic items are not offered. My room didn’t offer free Internet or water these were basic things I have received in other lower and smaller properties in Brisbane. Even when on the Internet to get a simple boarding pass printed the only instructions in the room was to send it to an email which costs 60c per page!
There were no complimentary toothbrush kits or shavers in the room either.

Overall a good hotel that could be great with the right guest amenities offered.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear JohnjB79,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

It was great to read that you enjoyed the room.

You are right, the current LCD televisions are starting to become a little dated, and we are excited to announce that we will shortly be receiving a new stock of Digital televisions for all our rooms. The cabling of the new signal to the rooms has already been completed, and will complement the new TVs.

We do offer complimentary toothbrush kits and shaving kits from reception or housekeeping. I am sorry that you were not aware we have them on offer. Next time we would be happy to bring them up to you should you require them.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hopefully look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

With warm regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Oh wow, now this is a nice hotel! The decor, the service and the price tag.
The rooms was luxury! Have not stayed in a hotel anything like this in Australia before. We had a gorgeous room overlooking the river, watching the ferry weave about on the BrisbaneRiver.

The Teppanyaki was amazing treat. a great show and food was the best. They catered for my food allergies no worries... The chefs were entertaining.

I would love to stay again . what a treat! The bathrooms were marble and luxurious and even a phone in the loo if need be.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room on the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear MerrySeaNelson,

It certainly appears that you enjoyed your stay with us, which as great to read.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the room and that the service met your expectations.

Our Kabuki Restaurant with its Teppanyaki grills is indeed a fun night. The food is also fresh and we can cater for all tastes.

We too would love you to stay again and hope that you will make it back sometime in the near future.

Thank you again and kind regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This pleasant high rise is well situated along the river convenient for the shops and the Botanic gardens. It is a pleasant stroll to the South Bank of the city. Rooms well appointed and clean, well finished and our room had a pleasant view of the Story Bridge and the river. We did not eat in the hotel but there are plenty of opportunities near by. No free wi fi in the hotel.

Room Tip: rooms looking out on the river are quiet and pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Colin55,

Thank you so much for your very kind feedback.

It was nice to read that you had a pleasant time with us at the hotel.

Indeed the hotel is fortunate that all of our rooms face the river and have fantastic views.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Hopefully next time you might have the opportunity to sample one of our Food outlets.

Warm regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

Enjoyed our stay here very much. Outstanding service, room, food. We were upgraded on checkout - a lovely surprise and our room had a stunning view of the river and Storey Bridge - particularly beautiful at night. All of our interactions with staff were excellent and we thoroughly enjoyed a delicious breakfast right on the riverside outside. All over experience, five star!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Evaret,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane.

It was great to read that you had a fantastic stay with us. We are certainly fortunate to have such wonderful views over the river and of the Storey Bridge.

Thank you for your kind comments about our staff. I will be sure to pass these comments on to them all.

We wish you safe travels and hope to have you with us again soon.

Kind regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights. The hotel held $400 of ours to begin and then charged other peoples bills to our account! When we realised this by checking our folio and questioned the staff they could give us no explanation and asked us for evidence to prove it wasn't our purchases! There needs to be better security to prevent people from charging to your room.

We ran out of toilet paper and tissues as housekeeping did not replace these and I had to request replacements. Housekeeping did not come until the late afternoon.

My partner accidentally left his wallet in the room which we realised after checkout. The staff said they checked the room on our request, and claimed the wallet was not in the room. They would not allow my partner to check the room himself. Eventually he convinced them to check again and surprise! They found the wallet which he knew was there. They really could not be bothered and we would have been in strife trying to catch a plane without identification etc.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Springy86,

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us at the Stamford Plaza Brisbane.

I was disappointed to hear that your experience was not what you hoped it would be. We are addressing your areas of complaint so that they can be rectified and don’t reoccur.

I do hope that you will visit us again in the future so that we can demonstrate we are truly a 5 star hotel.

Warm regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Was very pleased with our stay and would come back again. The only issue was the wait for breakfast. Massive line up. Took the best part of an hour before we could sit down to breakfast. But the quality was still excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BrisbaneJan10, Guest Relations Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Ballisti,

It was great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you would like to come back again.

I understand your concern with the congestion at breakfast time. We will indeed take this on board and review of we can resolve this.

Thank you again and looking forward to seeing you again some time.

Kind regards

Jan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#17 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, EasyToBook, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.