We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top three hotel in Brisbane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Stamford Plaza Brisbane to your Saves list
Stamford Plaza Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Top three hotel in Brisbane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We recently stayed over the Australia Day weekend and enjoyed its central location on the river. The furnishings and general foyer area are a little dated, but of a high standard.

The room itself is a little small, however the bathroom is above average in size. Great views from every room overlooking the river and Kangaroo Point/Story Bridge.

Our package included breakfast which was of a high standard.

Of the top end hotels in Brisbane's CBD, I would probably go for the Sofitel first, however - if I can get a room at a better price at the Stamford - I'd stayed here again.

Room Tip: Higher rooms have better views :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 16, 2012
Dear yoyowayno

Thank you for your review. It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We are indeed very fortunate in terms of location and I hope you were able to take full advantage of that whilst you were here.

The Sofitel is certainly a wonderful hotel. We have a great relationship with them, hand in hand with some friendly competition. A little competition can only be a good thing!

We wish you happy travels and look forward to having you with us when you are next in Brisbane.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    442
    281
    109
    34
    22
See reviews for
67
433
45
218
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (260)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sarpsborg, Norway
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

The hotel is in a very convenient location, close to everything and a lot of restaurants just on the doorstep. It's also close to the city ferry. The room was very spacious with lovely furnitures, the bathroom was very bright and clean. The views are outstanding, we stayed at the 14 floor, and had a view of almost the whole city. The food at the Moo Moo was very good. Will definetly stay there again.

Room Tip: The higher up the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 15, 2012
Dear Mona A

It was wonderful to read that you found your room comfortable and that you enjoyed the view. We are certainly very fortunate in terms of our location - so close to the city, river, Botanic Gardens and a wide range of retaurants.

Moo Moo, whilst on the hotel property, is not actually managed by the hotel. However, we do work very closely with that venue so I will be sure to pass on your comments.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. We wish you happy travels and look forwar to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

First time to Brisbane for us and we were very pleased with our choice of hotel. The location was excellent, close to the CBD and Eagle Pier. We found the rooms to be clean, and a good size bathroom. Cannot comment on the food as we never used their restaurants.
The service at reception was of a good standard, helpful and friendly. On a negative note, i would say is the concierge. They are often the first people you encounter on arriving at a hotel so a good impressed is paramount. Apart from one, i found them to be miserable, unhelpful and not even looking up to acknowledge you when you walked in.
But yes i would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear malcs66

We are indeed very fortunate in terms of location, so close to the city, riverside restaurant precinct and the Botanical Gardens. I hope you were able to take full advantage of this during your stay!

I was please to read that our Reception team looked after you, however I was disappointed by the service you received from our Concierge team. You are absolutely correct in that the first impression is certainly extremely important. Our General Manager, Mr Kym Carter, is meeting with our Concierge team tomorrow to discuss your feedback and to ensue they have everything they need to do their job - welcome and assist our guests to the best of their ability. Thank you for bringing this to our attention.

It was lovely to read that overall you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend
us to fellow travellers.

We do hope to have you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

I've always considered the Stamford Plaza to be the best hotel in Brisbane. The other big chain luxury hotels are all very nice but always felt a bit sterile to me whereas the Stamford is classically elegant and cut-above the rest in terms of location and service. I have used the Stamford Plaza for a number of years, both to host clients and colleagues travelling from interstate and overseas who have always spoken highly of it and have used their restaurants, Kabuki, MooMoos (previously Siggis) and the Brasserie on many occasions for special family functions (and sometimes just for a lazy Sunday morning brunch and found them to be high quality. I have also always found the quality and service exceptional so was surprised by some of the even very few comments here to the contrary. I recently looked around for a location to host a very special function in the next couple of months and found myself coming back again to the Stamford. We've booked their Stamford Suite for a night (including a special birthday dinner for 12) in late March. Their Events Planner couldn't have been more helpful and didn't flinch at any of my requests. This is a first class 5 star hotel, evidenced in part by the number of international celebrities, heads of state and other dignitaries that have stayed here over the years, including QEII. I suppose this means I'm not the only one who thinks this is the best hotel in Brisbane!

Room Tip: The design of the hotel gives everyone a river view...but higher floors are better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, January 31, 2012
Dear CHBNE72

It is always a delight to read such lovely comments and we thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are fortunate to have such high profile guests with us, and we look forward to welcoming some famous faces in 2012. It certainly does create a buzz around the hotel.

Thank you for your support both at the hotel and online; it's wonderful to read that we are "ticking the boxes" for our guests. We look forward to having you with us at the end of March for your special event.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

My husband and I were given a Summer Saver night as a thank you from our daughter. We arrived on a very wet Friday night. The reception staff were quite friendly but could have been a little slower explaining the inclusions of our package when we told her it was a gift.
We had a room on the 10th floor with the outstanding views that the hotel is known for. Even thought the weather was grey the view is still amazing and at night the lights are beautiful.
The room was spacious and clean but on closer inspection it was showing wear such as paint knocked, tired dull carpet, chippped enamel bath, mouldy grout (a particular hate of mine) and the towels could have been a bit more white and less grey. The decor is very dated. Heavy timber, yellow lampshades beside the bathroom mirror that gave a dull yellow glow to your face! Only one bedside table and a standard lamp on the other side of the bed with no low switch access so you had to get out of bed to turn the light off.
We had cocktails in the Pav bar and as we were almost the only ones there we had great service. My husband tried the Stamford Sling and I had mine created especially for me. It was definitely the best service by a very friendly staff member.
The buffet breakfast in the package was outstanding. Every whim catered for and a table by the window with a river view was magic. The coffee service was odd as you weren't allowed to serve yourself so there was confusion over getting it to your table as the greetting staff were also the coffee waiters and they were busy so getting the first cup was slow and the second even slower. Tip :get the coffee from the kitchen and not the coffee pot on the bench it's much nicer.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a river view room on a corner you get double the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, February 7, 2012
Dear moreinput

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts with us regarding your recent visit.

Thank you for bringing a few issues in your room to our attention. From your notes, we have managed to narrow down which room you were in and will certainly make some repairs where needed. We are, at the present, moving from room to room, floor to floor, re tiling and re grouting the bathrooms which we hope to have finished soon.

It was lovely to read that you enjoyed your visit to the Pav Bar. We have a bar team that takes pride in their cocktails, so I'm pleased you were able to expeience that. I hope you had time to sit and sip a couple of their creations.

Breakfast is certainly something a little special here, particularly if there is time to sit and relax. I was a little surprised by your comments regarding the coffee service. We have recently changed our procedures to avoid situations such as this. I will certainly mention this to our Restaurant Manager to ensure it is running as it should be.

Once again, thank you for your comments. It is feedback such as yours which certainly assists us to continuously upgrade and improve in order to exceed our guests' expectations.

We look forward to having you with us again soon.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

This time I booked my room through a special promotion on a website. It seemed that the staff at the reception was very well aware of this, I felt like a guest of second class to them, they where arrogant at the reception and not helpful in any case. They where for example not able to help with a restaurant advice and recommened only their own places in the hotel. Despite arriving very early in the morning after a 24h flight they couldn't offer me anything at all during my several hours waiting time until my room was ready for check-in, not even a coffee. They did even point out to me that no room „of my booking class“ was ready a bit earlier. For a single hour of later check-out I did have to pay an extra amount. I will never again go back to this place.
Bathroom was very well cleaned and huge. The room is very oldfashioned and hasn't any chic as people might would expect. There is not enough storage for clothes, only some hangers. The carpet was dirty and the room dusty. The pool looked not clean at all and the pillows out there grey and dirty. The view of the river and boats was nice, location is very central.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Dear hoteldiary

I was disappointed to read of the service you received during your recent stay with us. This is certainly not the service we expect from our team and I will ensure this is brought to the attention of both the manager of that department and the hotel General Manager.

As a norm, members of our Front Office team are commended and complimented for their service; it is certainly a shame that the check in experience has coloured your opinion of the hotel overall.

We do hope that you reconsider your decision not to visit us again, as I do honestly feel that your experience is quite out of character for our staff.

We do hope to have you with us again in the future so we can change your opinion of us.

Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

There is an axiom applying to many hotels and restaurants: The better the view, the worse the service. This certainly applies to the Stamford Brisbane! The view from the 19th floor over the Brisbane river is outstanding - the service the opposite! With a corner Junior suite having three windows with heavy curtains plus a heavy bed cover, one could expect in this 5 star hotel to provide a turndown service automatically. But when one puts the switch on 'Make up the room' then this ought to be even more the case. But not at the Stamford. They add insult to injury by responding to a claim that one ought to have requested turn-down service in person. What? On one's knees at the Concierge? Quite apart from the fact that the air conditioning is so noisy that one has to turn it off at night - without being able to open a window instead. There are plenty of lovely 5 star hotels in Brisbane to give this one a miss next time.

Room Tip: Be on good terms with the Chief chambermaid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charmaine_SPB, Secretary to the General Manager at Stamford Plaza Brisbane, responded to this review, January 20, 2012
Dear SydneyPierrot

Thank you for your feedback.

We certainly do take your comments on board and will keep them in mind when next reveiwing our procedures.

We wish you a happy and healthy 2012.


Best wishes

Charmaine Chapman
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stamford Plaza Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stamford Plaza Brisbane

Address: Cnr Edward & Margaret Sts, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Stamford Plaza Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 252
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Booking.com, EasyToBook, Priceline, Hotels.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Stamford Plaza Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stamford Plaza Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Stamford Plaza Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Stamford Plaza Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stamford Plaza Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.