We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brisbane stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Brisbane Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Brisbane Central to your Saves list
Sofitel Brisbane Central
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Brisbane stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The hotel was situated above the central station and was close to shopping precinct. Staff and service was efficient & helpful. Bed was hard, and pillows soft, but there was a pillow menu available to suit guest if required. I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Alrae1

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us.

Whilst I was pleased to learn that you overall you enjoyed your stay with us, I did note your comments regarding your bed being uncomfortable and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,801 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,426
    893
    335
    94
    53
See reviews for
397
1,300
240
645
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Upon flying back from Paris earlier this year, I decided to stay here as I'd never been here before, and always wanted to try it.

The location with respects to the train station is brilliant, and as we were flying out again the next morning, wanted somewhere close to the train and didn't need to pull luggage far.

The checkin and front desk were fine.

Our room was a bit disappointing, from expectations set on other Sofitel hotels.

The bathroom was a bit dated. The TV was a bit old. The hotel / lobby had a bit of a damp smell, that I didn't really like. Found myself wanting some fresh air. Not sure if it had just rained a lot or something like that.

I probably wont rush back here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear OzBJM

Thank you for your comments following your visit to Sofitel Brisbane Central

I appreciate your honest and constructive feedback on the bathroom and TV and will also investigate your comments regarding the damp smell that you noticed during your stay.
.
Thank you again for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here as part of a conference and were very happy with every aspect of the hotel. We self parked and headed on up to reception and were booked in straight away with an upgrade to a luxury room.
The room itself was very comfortable with all you'd expect in a hotel of this class. The bed was heaven-it had a feather mattress topper and the best feather pillows ever. Extremely comfortable. I am also a fan of double sheeted duvets. Despite being very close to the lifts we didn't hear them at all and we also didn't really hear the trains except once or twice in the mornings.
The location was very good-few mins walk to Queen St mall and all the shops and a few mins walk in the other direction to Eagle St Pier and all the restaurants.
The food at the hotel at much was excellent for a buffet. Large choice and all the food was good. Service was also good.
An hours free wifi is provided in the lounge which was easy to access-pity its not free in the rooms though.
Overall no complaints at all-we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor with a view of Anzac Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear thesprouts

I was delighted to read your review after your recent visit to Sofitel Brisbane Central and to learn that you enjoyed sleeping in our wonderful Sofitel MyBeds and also the hotel’s central location.

Thank you once again and I look forwarding to welcoming you back to the hotel again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

If you are looking for quality, service and value for money, book yourself a night at the Sofitel Brisbane. Everything about the Hotel is quality and the whole experience makes you feel welcome and special. You may pay a bit more for the Sofitel, but it is worth the extra few dollars to make your experience worthwhile.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear GoldCoaster1520

I was pleased to read your comments following your recent stay at the hotel and delighted that you rated the hotel so highly.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you and your family back the next time you visit Brisbane.

Yours Sincerely,

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Address: 249 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel’s reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 recently refurbished rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Splendia, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Brisbane Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.