We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flexible staff with great initiative” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Brisbane Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Brisbane Central to your Saves list
Sofitel Brisbane Central
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Flexible staff with great initiative”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I had a very delightful experience at the Sofitel Bristane Central during my recent stay at the hotel. Before I visited Brisbane, I had already learnt of the convenient location and great hospitability of the hotel staff through reading others' review. However, my confidence was slightly reduced as some reviews contained unfavourable remarks.

Speaking the true, there are some areas that the hotel does not meet the specific needs of its customers. However, I noted that most of the hotel staff had adopted a very flexible attitude in handling matters from the customers and this had satisfied customer needs and gave us a good memory of the stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Anzac Square had a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Orlando C

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review after your recent stay with us. I was pleased to learn that you overall you enjoyed your stay with us and found our staff to be willing to assist you throughout your stay.

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    893
    335
    94
    53
See reviews for
397
1,301
240
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

My partner and I had the pleasure of staying at Sofitel Brisbane Central in August and it was Amazing. We were greeted by a friendly & very helpful young man, at the main entrance, who went out of his way to make us feel welcome (I wish I could remember his name) and took our bags and checked us in before we knew it. At the counter we were greeted with a friendly face and a big smile by Josh Mclean, very nice and helpful and arranged a late check out for us the next day, as we could only stay the one night, and I must say that made all the difference. Felt like a weekend, but was just the one night. The room was great and as we entered there was a bottle of sparkling on ice and a plate of chocolates, that had Happy Anniversary written on it, was fantastic!! The room was spacious with a great bathroom and shower head to die for ;-)

We had the pleasure of dining in the Times Square restaurant - I had the Eye Fillet & half a Cray Fish - Which was Unbelievable!!! The wine list was Massive and a bit pricy, but worth it. Our waiter was really nice, a very nice asian man.

I will be back.

P.S. - BREAKFAST IS TRULY SOMETHING YOU CAN`T MISS

Room Tip: Higher floor, ask for city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Dear Kristensen2013

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay at Sofitel Brisbane Central.

I was pleased to learn that you were so well looked after and enjoyed celebrating your first wedding anniversary with us.

I will share your feedback with Josh and all of our team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
249 reviews 249 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013 via mobile

Good hotel. Room was good size with good facilities, comfortable bed, good bathroom although there were some signs of age in there. Like the Roger Gallet Orangewood toiletries.

Service was pretty good, although quite slow to bring bags up - we ended up heading off after 20 minutes wait only to find them still in the lobby. And the doorman snatched the valet parking voucher from me when i asked him for our car to be brought up and without saying anything walked over and dropped it on concierge's desk. After 10 minutes or so I asked the lady who was dealing with our checkout to retrieve the docket and try again. It's little things that can stuff up an otherwise pleasant stay.

The bar was nice, good range of drinks, tapas etc, but a touch spoilt by them serving people at the bar. Nice jazz combo.

Must say breakfast for $50 pp seemed ridiculously expensive - we passed...

And $9 for bottled water in the room - I expect at least some complimentary water as standard in any hotel these days.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Lyn&MarkfromOz

I appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Brisbane Central. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback, both good and constructive. I did note your comments regarding the issues with your luggage and having your car brought up and will address with my Managers. Please accept my apologies for any inconvenience caused.

Thank you again for sharing your experience.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The location of this hotel is perfect, so close to the Cbd with all of the shops etc its also built on top of the central train station so if you arrive or depart by train its ideal.

The room was pretty standard, the air con was like having a jet engine in the ceiling.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear whittboy

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

I did note your comments regarding the air-conditioning in your room and apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Thanks once again for your feedback and I trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit to Australia.

Your sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Address: 249 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel’s reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 recently refurbished rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Brisbane Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.