We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow...total hotel experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Brisbane Central

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Brisbane Central to your Saves list
Sofitel Brisbane Central
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Wow...total hotel experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Sofitel simply get it right. From concierge opening my taxi odor and greeting meeting "Bonjour", to the scent of luxury in the lobby, the charming check in and all the smiles...it was brilliant. You don't need to be famous to be treated like a star. I live the Sofitel Brisbane lobby. It's vast, chic & full of sensory delights. Several bars, restaurants, seating lounges, all beautifully filling the space without feeling crowded. Great atmosphere. The guest room was large and well appointed. Loved the nespresso machine. I was traveling with my brother, so we had a twin room. Great to see 2x full size double beds in the room ("im so happy there are two single beds in the room" said no one ever). Bed comfort factor = 10/10. But it was the people that really made the stay so enjoyable. It was almost as if the staff were having a competition to see who could be most helpful. They all won. No request was declined or perceived as inconvenient. Room service fast and accurate. The blonde lady lighting the candles in the lobby at dusk was amazing. I can't recall her name but when I asked on my way out to o to the theatre if she could arrange a late checkout, she arranged it immediately. Overall, this is THE BEST hotel in Brisbane. For a quality stay with all the trimmings and none of the snooty attitude...book now. (Train from the airport stops literally below the hotel. Doesn't get more convenient than that).

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Dear Ozviking1167

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay at Sofitel Brisbane Central.

I was delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us, and that you found our staff to be so welcoming and helpful.

I will share your feedback with all of our team and I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,803 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,428
    893
    335
    94
    53
See reviews for
397
1,301
240
646
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Very presentable lobby and restaurant setup. The Sofitel bedding arrangement is well known. The only flaw is that the bathrooms could do with a slight makeover. Very conveniently located in the heart of the city.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear SFReader

I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed our wonderful Sofitel MyBed experience and the hotel’s central location.

At Sofitel Brisbane Central, we aim to provide a level of service that exceeds our guests’ expectations and to this extent I was delighted to read your comments.

I hope that we are able to welcome you back to Sofitel soon.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We would recommend this hotel to all types of travellers. We were a family group but there were couples, business groups, weddings and formal parties staying there on the same week-end. Worth doing the packages on offer-especially the one offering parking for your car. The breakfast is the best we have had and there was champagne too for Mother's Day! A lovely and unexpected touch. Staff were exceptional and aware of our needs. We also felt we had real value for our money. Definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear onelife6

I was delighted to read your review after your recent visit to Sofitel Brisbane Central.

It is always pleasing to learn that the hotel lived up to expectations and I was pleased to learn that you enjoyed your breakfast and champagne on Mother’s Day.

Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you and your family to the hotel soon.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Having stayed at many hotels around Australia and most in Brisbane I can honestly state my experience at Sofitel was beyond compare. The quality of service is second to none, the staff were attentive whilst being aware of your privacy needs, the rooms were exquisite (I stayed in a Junior Suite) and the food sublime. I cannot recommend this hotel more highly, truly MAGNIFIQUE.....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear pnkorwin

I appreciate you taking the time to write a review following your recent stay with us.

It was a pleasure to read your comments and that you rate our hotel so highly! I am sure our staff will be delighted to read your comments. The hotel prides itself in offering a Magnifique experience for all of our guests and it is clear by reading your review that we provided this.

Thank you for providing us with your feedback and I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind regards

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

Australia's most expensive Internet and bottled water. This place is just Ok for an overnight business stop at best. The service was fine.
Internet for $23 is unbelievable these days when most include it in room charge. A $9.00 bottle of water in the room (no complimentary) is another annoying cash grab, when a hotel this aged should be trading on better value and service.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Longlea73

We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Sofitel Brisbane Central. It is always a pleasure to receive feedback, both good and constructive.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

The Sofitel Brisbane is located above the central railway station so if arriving by train (as we did) on a rainy day you do not even get wet.

The Sofitel Brisbane meets all the expectations of a high branded hotel with particular attention to the sleep comfort of the beds. The rooms are elegant without being fussy and simply functional.

The Sofitel Brisbane is an example of a well run 5 start hotel where everything just functions as expected with great service.

Free WiFi is available in the lobby but not in the room

We would stay at this hotel again and recommend highly

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Alan007Australia

It was great to read your review after your recent visit to Brisbane and Sofitel Brisbane Central.

I was pleased to learn that the hotel lived up to your expectations and that you found the location above Central Railway Station to be convenient.

Thank you once again and I hope to welcome you back when you next visit Brisbane.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Sofitel Brisbane has just finished their renovation and their rooms are improved. The rooms are nicely decorated in modern colours with French pictures.

The beds are soft, warm and cosy. The blinds block out even the midday sun and the showers are hot with great water pressure. What more do you really need?

View from either side of the hotel is nice, but city would be good if on low floors. The location is easy access above central station in the heart of the city. We stayed for a night on the town and had everything at our finger tips; shopping, dining and entertainment. The friendly concierge got us a taxi for 8 in a heart beat on a Saturday night.

We had the breakfast on the Sunday morning and while busy was still amazing. Lots of food with options for healthy or not so healthy indulgence. Service was good even though there where lots of other busy tables. One of the chefs even hand delivered ice cream to go with my friends waffles. Coffee was good too which can be a challenge for some larger restaurants but a must on a Sunday morning.

Will be back and recommend to friends even if just for a breakfast treat on Sunday morning.

Room Tip: Don't miss the breakfast. Its amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear mcaus

Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review on your recent stay at Sofitel Brisbane Central.

I was delighted to read that you both enjoyed your stay with us, especially our wonderful buffet breakfast in Thyme Restaurant and I hope that your friend enjoyed the ice cream that was personally delivered by one of our Chefs.

We look forward to welcoming you both back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Address: 249 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#5 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#15 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel’s reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 recently refurbished rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Brisbane Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.