We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thumbs up for the location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Brisbane Central

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Brisbane Central to your Saves list
Sofitel Brisbane Central
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   249 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Up to 30% off your stay!
Ranked #14 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Townsville, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Thumbs up for the location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

mainly for its location which is just above the central station, so i don't have to worry walking down the street, pulling my suitcase braving the rain or the flood just to get to the train station. Hotel overall is clean, service is swift. What turned me off though was the smell of all the soft pillows, they all smelt like sweat that has dried up , and it still gets through the new sheets. Bath robes although neatly hanged in cabinet but they don't smell fresh unfortunately; would've preferred those folded neatly and sealed instead.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear jiem888

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Brisbane Central on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed the hotel's location directely above Central Station.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,582 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,311
    819
    313
    88
    51
See reviews for
368
1,196
232
598
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Had a three night stay recently. Standard what you would expect from this hotel, staff friendly everyone I met said good morning/evening and hope you had a good day. Breakfast fabulous every choice under the sun, makes a great start to the day. Well done Sofitel staff. Outdoor pool a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Kangakid

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Brisbane Central on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you felt the hotel was a good choice when staying in Brisbane.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eleebana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Friendly service at reception, concierge and restaurant. Great food in the gourmet restaurant. Comfortable beds typical Sofitel bed. Reasonable sized room with good work desk. Good location close to the centre of Brisbane. $45 parking is expensive for an Australian Hotel. I would recommend this hotel as a good place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Accorhotels Traveller NJ69152

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Brisbane Central on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Sofitel Brisbane was everything you would expect of a top luxury hotel. We were lucky enough to receive a complimentary upgrade to a Club Room upon check-in which was a bonus. The room was well laid out and the decor was modern and sophisticated. The bathroom was clean but a bit small for a luxury hotel. We found the breakfast options to be quite expensive so we didn't order room-service. The downstairs restaurants are also quite pricey but the hotel is located right in the middle of the city, close to food outlets and shops. Definitely a comfortable stay and would certainly recommend to family and friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear h4267

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Brisbane Central on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that you rate our hotel as Brisbane's top hotel.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Finally a hotel that would make ACCOR membership worthwhile.
After many poor experiences with Novotel that caused me to resign from ACCOR i was delighted to experience the great service and hospitality of the Sofitel in Brisbane on a recent business trip.

The Sofitel in Brisbane provided wonderful accommodation and facilities that restored my faith in ACCOR. Just wont book Novotel with them, that is another long and sad story!

Well done Sofitel Brisbane.

Room Tip: If available book a club floor room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear LungGel

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Brisbane Central on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and that we restored your faith in Accor!

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I am very used to staying at Sofitel. Trying to be a loyal guest, I booked the Sofitel Brisbane. Firstly having a hire car was my first shock. That will be $55.00 a day.

The girl on the front desk was polite and explained that they did not participate in the AClub membership, however explained that I had been upgraded. I am still wondering what she men't by upgrade. The room was old very tired and in disparate need of upgrading. I knew that the hotel had refurbished some rooms but I am sure that this has stopped. This room did not have the Sofitel bed and each day the amenities were different.

If you are going to charge $300.00 a night and call yourself Sofitel then upgrade to the standard that other Sofitel around the world have set

Next time it's the Marriott

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Travelin45

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Brisbane Central. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. The hotel at present does not participate in the Le Club program and I apologise if you were not informed of this at the time of making your reservation.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

If you are looking for 5 star in Brisbane, the Sofitel is the place to stay! From the moment you walk in the front door the Sofitel way of life is very obvious. On our stay we found the staff all very friendly and helpful. The rooms were well appointed, and the bed amazing! It is on the softer side, but that suits me!

The club lounge is also excellent - great views over Brisbane city.

Location wise the hotel is in a great spot - just above Brisbane's central railway station, and a 5 minute walk to the Queen Street Mall.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SofitelBrisbane249, General Manager at Sofitel Brisbane Central, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear Brisvegas_Jason

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sofitel Brisbane Central on your recent visit to the city and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are delighted to know that you had a pleasant stay with us and you rated the hotel as Brisbane's best.

At Sofitel, we strive to provide superior levels of service to all guests; therefore your feedback is very important to us and we thank you again for providing it.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon and hope that your next visit with us will be as pleasing as the previous one.

Yours sincerely

Marcus Hanna
General Manager
Sofitel Brisbane Central
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Brisbane Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Brisbane Central

Address: 249 Turbot Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Brisbane
#4 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#6 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Brisbane Central 5*
Number of rooms: 433
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned in the heart of Brisbane, you will discover a hotel of sophisticated luxury and personalised service. Renowned for its inspiring arrival experience via the alluring lobby, the wide choice of food and beverage outlets and breathtaking views of the city and surrounds, the hotel’s reputation as the leading choice in luxury accommodation and conferencing is truly deserved.The property boasts 433 recently refurbished rooms and suites featuring delicate touches of contemporary sophistication creating a unique sense of luxury. The rooms and suites exude an artistic feel that links the progressive design of the new world with refined French Elegance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Brisbane Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Brisbane Central Hotel Brisbane
Accor Brisbane Central
Brisbane Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Brisbane Central, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.