We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy air conditioning” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal On The Park to your Saves list
Royal On The Park
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
77 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Noisy air conditioning”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

I am not sure if I got a bad room, but I slept badly here. The airconditioning was so noisy I had to use earplugs, and of course none of the windows would open, the pillow was bad.
I found the rooms worn (although they claim to be refurbished).

I must say the burger I had from room service was outstanding.

The hotel is pretty well located, has views of the park.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 22, 2013
Dear David S
Thank you for sharing your feedback after your recent stay. I apologise that the noise from the air conditioning disturbed your sleep and the Maintenance team have inspected each room to ensure this problem is resolved. The hotel has been refurbished in the last 2 years and a refresh will be conducted next year to protect against wear and tear. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your in room dining meal and passed your compliments to the chef.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    284
    85
    21
    15
See reviews for
126
263
48
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gin Gin, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

I may be biased but we only stay at the Royal because we have never been let down. Great rooms, fantastic location and a pleasant restraurant. All this with great staff who are always pleasnt and go out of their way to be on assistance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Dear Mike B
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your recent stay. The team love to hear such positive feedback from repeat guests as we strive for new ways to impress you.
We have recently changed our menus to reflect seasonal ingredients and tastes, be sure to make a reservation during your next stay.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for one night while awaiting an international flight the following day. The location of the hotel is perfect, it is right across the street from the park and a stones throw from the river. Just a short walk away are many restaurants that overlook the fabulous river. I utilized the gym at 3 AM (thanks to jet lag) and everything there seemed to work just fine. I didn't pay for an expensive room so we found ourselves on the second floor. It was surprisingly quite, we didn't hear any other guests or noise from the streets. The lobby was fine and the front desk staff were polite. I didn't have any problems with this hotel and would likely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Dear Tracy C
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. It was pleasing to read that you enjoyed your stay and our wonderful location opposite the Botanic Gardens. I'm glad that you were able to use the gym in the small hours of the morning to work off some jet lag.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

One of the better hotels i stayed. Staff are very friendly, Hotel is neat and tidy. From concierge to front desk to restaurant to housekeeping, everyone was so friendly and made guest feel at home. The design of the hotel feels so traditional and conservatve. Room is spacious and comfortable. 3 pillows on a bed, with 2 huge cushions and a bolster. Bed was the most comfortable hotel bed i ever slept on. once you lie down, it's a good night's sleep. Near to shopping belt of Queen Street Mall and also the transport hub of Central Station. Free Wifi is a bonus! One thing lacking is the availability of TV channel options.

Room Tip: Ask for a Botanical Garden View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Papacheong
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review and pictures following your recent stay. It was especially pleasing to read about the service of the entire team as it is always nice to feel at home when travelling. Complimentary wifi is great added value and this will be complimented by an upgrade to our television channel selection to include channels and radio stations from overseas.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Royal on the Park as I had a course to do at QUT at it was just down the road from there. I arrived from Perth on the 5.25am flight and didn't have to be at uni until midday so went to the hotel to see if I could get my room early (I had requested an early check in). While my room wasn't ready, the front desk staff were absolutely delightful, giving me a passcode to access free wifi, I went and had a bit of breakfast and my room was made available to me by 9.15am. The room itself was large by today's comparisons, with a comfy chaise lounge and super comfy bed. Everything I could've asked for was in that room, including English Breakfast tea bags. The housekeeping staff were delightful, especially Eta, who cleaned my room each day. Oh and dinner at night, I had the steak sandwich, it would be one of the best I have ever eaten. I ate in the bar each night and again the staff were delightful, I really have nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: I had a city view room, which overlooked the pool and spa, which was perfect for my needs, but I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Anna1905
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review after your recent stay. Travelling on the redeye from Perth can be fraught with problems and I'm pleased that the reception and housekeeping teams were able to minimise your delay in checking in. The menu has just been updated in the Walnut Restaurant and the chefs were thrilled that you enjoyed their food. I have passed your comments onto Eta who was humbled that you took the time praise her individually.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to your next business trip.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I were visiting friends, and as we had not been to Brisbane in a very long time were at a loss as to where we should stay. After researching we decided to try Royal on the Park as the reviews were quite good. The room was approximately $160 per night and included free WiFi, which worked very well, and we overlooked the botanic gardens. The hotel was within easy walking distance to the Queen Street Mall, plenty of restaurants and cafes in the immediate vicinity. We also walked to South Bank. Car parking was secure onsite for an additional amount. The buffet breakfast was hot and fresh, and the bar had snacks and cocktails. The pool area was great for those who wished for a swim or spa. The rooms have been refurbished and were large. The staff friendly and efficient, check in and check out without much fuss. I must say it exceeded our expectations. It was a great stay!

Room Tip: They have just refurbished and have sound proof windows however a little street noise does creep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear kac2404
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your stay. I am so pleased you decided to stay at Royal on the Park and the team did not disappoint. The hotel has wonderful facilities to cater to every guest from a great location, free wifi, traditional décor and a great outdoor facility.
Looking forward to your next visit to Brisbane when the team can exceed your expectations once again.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Royal on the Park for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding reception which was being held in the hotel. Very nicely situated close to the Botanical Gardens, the Queen Street Mall, riverfront dining and Southbank. Staff service was excellent and the beds were comfortable. My only negatives were that it was quite intrusive if someone was noisy in the passageway and there wasn't enough hanging space in the bathroom for towels, togs etc. Apart from that it was very good. We had room service for lunch and the food was lovely. The wedding reception sevice was excellent. Staff were very polished and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear divinefeeling
Thank you for providing your feedback after your recent stay, we appreciate all feedback both positive and constructive. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location as a central base for exploring all Brisbane has to offer. The traditional style and décor provides wonderful ambience for a wedding reception and the service provided by the team only enhances the experience.
I apologise for the noise in the corridors as it can be intrusive if another guest chooses not to be considerate of others. The staff take every care to minimise this noise however this is not always possible. I will review the amount of hanging space in both the bathroom and cupboards to ensure there is always enough space to hang clothes.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal On The Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.