We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional and Conservative outlook yet Comfortable and Modern” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal On The Park

Save Saved
You added Royal On The Park to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal On The Park
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 161 hotels in Brisbane
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Traditional and Conservative outlook yet Comfortable and Modern”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

One of the better hotels i stayed. Staff are very friendly, Hotel is neat and tidy. From concierge to front desk to restaurant to housekeeping, everyone was so friendly and made guest feel at home. The design of the hotel feels so traditional and conservatve. Room is spacious and comfortable. 3 pillows on a bed, with 2 huge cushions and a bolster. Bed was the most comfortable hotel bed i ever slept on. once you lie down, it's a good night's sleep. Near to shopping belt of Queen Street Mall and also the transport hub of Central Station. Free Wifi is a bonus! One thing lacking is the availability of TV channel options.

Room Tip: Ask for a Botanical Garden View Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Dear Papacheong
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review and pictures following your recent stay. It was especially pleasing to read about the service of the entire team as it is always nice to feel at home when travelling. Complimentary wifi is great added value and this will be complimented by an upgrade to our television channel selection to include channels and radio stations from overseas.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

558 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    243
    215
    67
    19
    14
See reviews for
91
190
41
153
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I recently stayed at the Royal on the Park as I had a course to do at QUT at it was just down the road from there. I arrived from Perth on the 5.25am flight and didn't have to be at uni until midday so went to the hotel to see if I could get my room early (I had requested an early check in). While my room wasn't ready, the front desk staff were absolutely delightful, giving me a passcode to access free wifi, I went and had a bit of breakfast and my room was made available to me by 9.15am. The room itself was large by today's comparisons, with a comfy chaise lounge and super comfy bed. Everything I could've asked for was in that room, including English Breakfast tea bags. The housekeeping staff were delightful, especially Eta, who cleaned my room each day. Oh and dinner at night, I had the steak sandwich, it would be one of the best I have ever eaten. I ate in the bar each night and again the staff were delightful, I really have nothing to complain about.

Room Tip: I had a city view room, which overlooked the pool and spa, which was perfect for my needs, but I wou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Anna1905
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review after your recent stay. Travelling on the redeye from Perth can be fraught with problems and I'm pleased that the reception and housekeeping teams were able to minimise your delay in checking in. The menu has just been updated in the Walnut Restaurant and the chefs were thrilled that you enjoyed their food. I have passed your comments onto Eta who was humbled that you took the time praise her individually.
Thank you once again for your feedback and we look forward to your next business trip.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I were visiting friends, and as we had not been to Brisbane in a very long time were at a loss as to where we should stay. After researching we decided to try Royal on the Park as the reviews were quite good. The room was approximately $160 per night and included free WiFi, which worked very well, and we overlooked the botanic gardens. The hotel was within easy walking distance to the Queen Street Mall, plenty of restaurants and cafes in the immediate vicinity. We also walked to South Bank. Car parking was secure onsite for an additional amount. The buffet breakfast was hot and fresh, and the bar had snacks and cocktails. The pool area was great for those who wished for a swim or spa. The rooms have been refurbished and were large. The staff friendly and efficient, check in and check out without much fuss. I must say it exceeded our expectations. It was a great stay!

Room Tip: They have just refurbished and have sound proof windows however a little street noise does creep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear kac2404
I appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback after your stay. I am so pleased you decided to stay at Royal on the Park and the team did not disappoint. The hotel has wonderful facilities to cater to every guest from a great location, free wifi, traditional décor and a great outdoor facility.
Looking forward to your next visit to Brisbane when the team can exceed your expectations once again.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We stayed at Royal on the Park for 2 nights as we were attending a wedding reception which was being held in the hotel. Very nicely situated close to the Botanical Gardens, the Queen Street Mall, riverfront dining and Southbank. Staff service was excellent and the beds were comfortable. My only negatives were that it was quite intrusive if someone was noisy in the passageway and there wasn't enough hanging space in the bathroom for towels, togs etc. Apart from that it was very good. We had room service for lunch and the food was lovely. The wedding reception sevice was excellent. Staff were very polished and professional.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear divinefeeling
Thank you for providing your feedback after your recent stay, we appreciate all feedback both positive and constructive. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and our convenient location as a central base for exploring all Brisbane has to offer. The traditional style and décor provides wonderful ambience for a wedding reception and the service provided by the team only enhances the experience.
I apologise for the noise in the corridors as it can be intrusive if another guest chooses not to be considerate of others. The staff take every care to minimise this noise however this is not always possible. I will review the amount of hanging space in both the bathroom and cupboards to ensure there is always enough space to hang clothes.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we found this hotel nice and close to be able to walk to the city, but far enough out to be out of the hussle and bustle. rooms were beautiful, beds very comfortable, and the service from the staff excellent, the hotel has a lovely ambience.

Room Tip: choose a park view room, very pretty
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Dear farfromAustralia
Thank you for sharing your review after your recent visit. The team love to hear feedback regarding their high level of service and the attention to detail taken when preparing a room. The hotel, with its ample space provides a calm oasis in the city to unwind in an elegant atmosphere. We're so pleased that we could meet and exceed your expectations.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed here over 4 days and found it a great base to explore the city. Although an older hotel the rooms have been modernised and the decor is pleasant. The best thing about the hotel is the large rooms and 2 x double beds in the twin. The beds were super comfortable and the hotels location opposite the botanical gardens means a pleasant surrounding with little traffic noise. Best value hotel in Brisbane.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear Susan P
Thank you for providing your feedback following your stay. Royal on the Park boasts a great location for sightseeing the city with easy access to all forms of public transport as well as freeway access at the end of Alice Street. The rooms, lounge bar and pool facilities are a great place to unwind after a day out in Brisbane and the beds provide a restful sleep ensuring you're ready for another full day.
We look forward to seeing again on your next visit to Brisbane.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yandina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We have stayed here for years mainly because of it's close position to the city/shops, it has recently been refurbished and is very nice accommodation at a reasonable price, breakfast is a full English and would satisfy even the largest of eaters, always ask for your eggs to be freshly cooked if you like them hot!

Room Tip: Always ask for a room overlooking the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dear anneyandina
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay. I appreciate your continued loyalty to Royal on the Park over many years as. It's pleasing to read that the buffet in the Walnut Restaurant continues to satisfy your hunger for a quality breakfast.
We look forward to your next stay and many more to come.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#14 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal On The Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.