We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Service and Facilities” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal On The Park to your Saves list
Royal On The Park
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great Location, Service and Facilities”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Stayed one night in a Royal Room, which was clean and functional but not anything special, in fact, although a 'Royal' room you are actually paying for a deluxe or superior room, and there is no major advantage here. The view was nice over the park but even on the ninth floor it was still noisey from the road. Particularly first thing in the morning (6am). The bed was very soft and I had a great sleep and you do have the option of requesting special pillows if required. I didn't bother.

Braekfast was buffet style and there was lots on offer, the eggs were great. Service was attentive but not intrusive.

Check in and out was fast, friendly and without undue fuss. Which is good.

I would stay here again and so would recommend for both business and pleasure.

Room Tip: A park view is a double edged sword: nice views but with added road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Richtea31
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay. I was pleased to note that you enjoyed your stay and the service provided by the reception team. The beds in the "Royal" rooms are quite new and provide a relaxing night's sleep as you awaken to a stunning view of the Botanic Gardens.
I apologise for the external noise you experienced as there is minor construction work taking place at the moment that will be finished shortly.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    284
    85
    21
    15
See reviews for
126
263
48
181
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Enjoyed the stay on a recent trip to Brisbane.
Clean, comfortable and in a great location.
Very pleasant staff who aim to please and do it well and with a genuine smile.
Will certainly use the Royal again.
Recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear HandHMelbourne
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review after your recent visit. The team were very appreciative of your comments and we look forward to your next visit.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I was dubious Bout staying here but after 30 seconds my mind was changed. After a wonderful greeting at the door by the GM and front desk staff we were instantly made to feel at home. The check in was seamless and incredibly professional. The rooms are incredibly comfortable and the shower was a treat. The service from the the food and beverage staff brought a tear to my eye. The staff just knew exactly what to do, how to do it and executed with poise and grace without being over the top. This hotel should train ALL potential candidates wanting to come into the hospitality industry. My wife and I would normally stay at the Sofitel but never again!!!! In our travels every hotel claims to put the guest first, however, this is the only hotel in Australia that mean it and do it, this hotel rocks!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Shane B
I appreciate you taking the time to share your review following your recent stay. I could not be prouder of each member of the team for providing such a high level of service that exceeded every expectation. From the General Manager's welcome at the door and in each interaction the team strive for a personal touch to make each interaction memorable and I'm pleased that this was no exception.
Thank you again for your review and we eagerly anticipate your next visit.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This hotel overlooking Brisbane's Botanic Gardens on leafy Alice Street has undergone many incarnations since built many decades ago.
The good news is: the hotel has undergone a major refurbishment.

My room was spotless, clean, spacious and modern in decor and furnishings. Granite bench tops in modern bathroom. Lovely largescreen TV with Foxtel cable.

Parking is plentiful and easily accessible but the cost is additional. (About $20/nt). FREE WIFI too - and it's fast.

Location superb: on leafy Alice Street across from the Botanic Gardens and parklands yet just a four block walk to the intensity of the Queen Street Mall, the Myer Centre and countless dining choices.

At about $170 night it's better value than many other Brisbane CBD/downtown hotels.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear ozeeboy
I appreciate your comments following your recent stay with us and I'm so pleased that the hotel and the team exceeded your expectations. New televisions have recently been installed to coincide with the upgrade our digital television selection. This will be completed shortly and offer a much broader selection of free channels and pay movies. As part of the last refurbishment, complimentary wifi was included and this will remain with unlimited downloads.
We eagerly anticipate your next stay so you can experience the next enhancements to this grand hotel.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Really impressed - very clean, great service, central location. Nice spa too... could be slightly warmer but that's the only negative of our entire stay. Our room lost power at one stage and had a staff member up to our room to fix it within minutes. Ordered room service too which was fast and good food.
Would definitely recommend this hotel :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mattsta246
Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback following your recent stay. I was pleased to read how much you enjoyed your stay, particularly our great location and the service of our team. I am sorry that you encountered an issue with the electricity in your room but glad our team were able to fix the problem in an efficient manner.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

My son and I stayed here last weekend. We got a great deal on the room which was very large with two queen beds. The location was great, walking distance to everything. We walked there from the train station and had business in Southbank which was in walking distance too. Its just over the road from the Botanic Gardens which is lovely. The staff were helpful and the room was clean and comfortable, especially the beds and pillows!!

Room Tip: We got a good deal on a room on Hotelworld
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Robyn F
I appreciate you taking the time to write your review after your recent stay and I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. We are constantly reviewing our packages for rooms and menus for the Walnut Restaurant and I look forward to you staying again in the near future.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I have stayed for 3 nights in September of 2012 and really enjoyed.
Very good atmosphere, well located, spacious, comfortable, nice views, very good breakfast and Spa
Staff was friendly
Worth the stay
Recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale J, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear MarianaMussiBaptista
Thank you for your review after your stay last year. I was pleased to read you enjoyed your stay and since September 2012 we have made several improvements to enhance the atmosphere and experience of a stay at Royal on the Park.
We look forward to your next stay so you can experience these for yourself.
Kind Regards
Dale John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal On The Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.