We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal On The Park

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal On The Park to your Saves list
Royal On The Park
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A superb experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2011

This is a real find in Brisbane. Stayed there overnight. The reception staff could not have been nicer. Free room upgrade and late check out was offered along with parking. If only all hotel staff treated their guests like this. Location is excellent overlooking beautiful gardens and walking distance to city centre. This is now my preferred hotel in Brisbane.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Guest

Congratulations on discovering us at Royal on the Park! We think we are Brisbane’s best kept secret and it’s great to see you do as well!

I would like to thank you for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor and sharing your experiences with us. We love being able to pamper our guests and although rarely available, we are more than happy to offer a complimentary upgrade if we can.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding our team – they are the backbone of the hotel and without their excellent efforts we would simply cease to exist. They take so much pride in their work and I will take pleasure in sharing your comments with them .

We certainly are looking forward to welcoming you back to your Brisbane home next time you are visiting.

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    284
    85
    21
    15
See reviews for
126
263
48
181
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Napier, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Easy to find, excellent entrance way with very good drop-off facilities, excellent reception, then just quiet ambience with plenty of options. Walnut Room restaurant was superb in every respect. Not overly expensive.

Room Tip: A rrom without a view over the Park is quite OK.
See more room tips
Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing your stay with us! We pride ourselves on our ‘club’ like feel and we think that our intimacy and service delivery is the biggest point of difference between us and large scale city hotels in general.

Our Food and Beverage team, as well as our Chefs will be so pleased to see that you have enjoyed your dining experience in the Walnut Restaurant.

Whilst a large number our guests do prefer the park view rooms, it is worthy to note that every one of our rooms is newly refurbished to the same high standards so we think the city side is just as nice as well!

Thank you once again for your stay and for reviewing us

Kind Regards
Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2011

Staff excellent very helpful, rooms have been refurbished and are bright and spacious.
Breakfast is a must. Bar is cosy and welcoming.

Room Tip: Park view rooms give you a beautiful outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
Dear Guest
We thank you for taking time out of your schedule to share your experiences with the reader of TripAdvisor!

Our team strive to exceed all guests expectations at all times and I will enjoy letting them know that their efforts do not go un-noticed!

We are so pleased that you enjoyed our new rooms and our recently revamped breakfast offerings as well.

The rooms overlooking the park certainly do have a beautiful view – you must next time keep an eye out for our soon to be launched “Royal Rooms”……

Thank you again & we are looking forward to seeing you next time

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2011

Our room overloookig the Botanical Gardens was clean and quiet, a bonus given the excellent central location of the hotel. All the satff were warm and friendly and were particularly helpful over organising the birthday cake for our father's 90th birthday. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Brisbane

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, May 22, 2011
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences with us.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the location of the hotel excellent.

Our team work very hard to ensure that all our guests are comfortable and treated like they are at home. It is great for them to see feedback such as your.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Royal on the Park in the future.

Kind Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2011

I booked a mystery deal online for a twin room when I arrived we were upgraded for free. The room was really clean and beds were so comfortable. Only problem I had was the air conditioner wasn't working properly so it was a little bit warm when sleeping other then that the hotel was perfect I will defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ROTP_RDM, Manager at Royal On The Park, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
Dear Guest

We thank you for taking your time to review us on TripAdvisor.

I will be sharing your comments about your room cleanliness with our Executive Housekeeper - our entire housekeeping team work very hard to ensure high standards of cleanliness and feedback from guests recognising this is always appreciated.

I do apologise for the problems you experienced with your air conditioning system and would be keen to learn your room number so that I can have the unit checked by our engineers. Please do not hesitate to contact myself or the hotel Assistant Manager 24 hours per day if you are able to provide these details

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future

Regards

Nick
Rooms Division Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2011

It would be nice to have a few more rewards for people who stay regularly. I know I would stay more often if I could afford it. For me staying at the Royal allows me to safely access city shopping and weekend markets. I much prefer to stay at the Royal over many of the city hotels I have tried.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

I recently stayed at Royal on the Park for a conference. It has an excellent location, a short walk to food/shops (Queen St Mall). The food in the hotel is somewhat expensive but that can be expected.

The rooms are a little small, as is the bathroom but it's fine for 1 or 2 people for a short stay. The beds were extremely comfortable and sleep quality was great.

The only things I could fault the hotel on was the pre-authorisation of my credit card for the bill when checking in, but after querying this with the staff, they explained they they had placed a hold on the money and it shouldn't already have come out of my account. I was even showed the receipt that the money wasn't authorised to come out as yet. Also, be prepared to pay $20 a night for parking.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for a short stay for tourists (as the reception desk is 24 hours) and business people.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal On The Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal On The Park

Address: Corner Alice & Albert Streets, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#13 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#16 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#31 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Royal On The Park 4.5*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal on the Park is conveniently located just a 5 minute stroll away from Brisbane's CBD and popular Queen Street Mall shopping precinct. Facing the Beautiful Botanic Gardens at the green end of the CBD, it gives the feeling of being in a calm oasis. Outside the front door, age-old Moreton Bay fig trees, soaring bamboo and ancient travellers' palms stand sentinel opposite the hotel. Royal on the Park features 153 spacious guest rooms and suites, tailoring amenities and services to both leisure and business travellers! All guests, diners and delegates can enjoy complimentary hi speed wifi with no download limits. The Walnut Restaurant has consistently remained a favourite venue for local visitors and regular hotel diners. Ask about our new a la carte menu featuring fresh local produce from Queensland farmers. For those with fitness in mind, the largest in-ground hotel pool in Brisbane together with spa and top floor gymnasium provide the freedom to relax and unwind or to enjoy an energetic work-out. A kick start to the day is made easy with an invigorating early morning jog around the numerous pathways of the Botanic Gardens. The hotel is well renowned for its in room facilities. Combining digital free to air television, Foxtel and satellite channels from around the world. A wide selection of pay per view blockbuster movies and favourites for adults and children alike. 37 radio stations combining local AM and FM channels with international flavour. This combines for a total of 188 viewing and listening opportunities. Whether you are looking for a conference venue, planning a Breakfast, Lunch or Dinner or perhaps even a Wedding, the hotel has up to 8 elegant function rooms to select from, catering up to 800 cocktail style or 400 banquet style. Guests of Royal on the Park are well placed to enjoy the range of leisure activities in Brisbane. It's just a boardwalk stroll along the water's edge to the Riverside Markets and an abundance of restaurants and al fresco cafes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Royal On The Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal On The Park Hotel Brisbane
Royal On The Park Brisbane
Park Royal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal On The Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.