We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Albert Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Albert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   167 Albert Street | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
$10 Cash Back
Ranked #13 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Albany, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Service, room size & location were superb. We were very happy with the attention given to us upon arrival given the tight car parking. Rooms were very comfortable and closeness to Queen St mall is great.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Castell
“Location Spaciousness Service”. That’s one of our marketing phrases right there!
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    121
    22
    6
    2
See reviews for
51
104
25
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2014

A work stay, went back because the last time a few years ago was good. Still the same; small, good quality, well presented, well staffed, and in a great location. Now the but. The wifi is available but extra and the cable TV is very limited. Didn't notice that the last time I was there but now I have my work smartphone, my personal smartphone, and the IPAD and used to just getting to the hotel, login the three devices in and getting on with whatever needs to be done not having to pay extra. And the limited TV gets old very quickly. Still, it is pleasant and if you don't mind paying extra for the wifi and don't watch TV it would be great.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Gonefishing
Thank you for your return visit and review from a seasoned reviewer. We have 8 Foxtel channels including 2 movie channels. Whilst some hotels have a greater movie selection they are generally a pay per view system. Whilst there is a charge for wifi, we have complimentary newspapers, movies and fresh milk.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

Been staying on and off here for a few year's and still can't complain, Great location, big rooms and comfortable bed and cheap parking rate.
Oh and the coffee shop out the front is very handy for that fix !

Stayed August 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2014
Dear Duncan
Thank you for your great review, but more importantly your continued custom.
See you again soon.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

Great Value here had 2 bedroom apartment on 7th floor and it was huge and beds very comfy.
Two gripes. One the parking arrived into what can only be described as an alley way next to hotel for "valet" parking sat in car in pouring rain wondering if we were even in the right place as no real obvious signage. Valet finally came out and told us we had to park elsewhere as we were driving a land cruiser and it was too heavy for their car park. so off we go around the block then back to hotel on foot in driving rain. Not hotels fault as they use car lifts I think to park cars but a nuisance none the less. Other complaint was the noise. I had read that after a refurb that you couldn't hear the noise outside, wrong,. It was Saturday night and we were in room 703 on seventh floor and we could hear traffic, sirens, party revellers all night long. Hardly got any sleep. Would come back but only if we could be assured of a quiet room. Location can not be beat right in the middle of the city opposite Myer Centre

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

This hotel is in a great location. A block back back from the city mall. There are lots of restaurants and places to eat. We had a number of meals at the restaurant affiliated with the hotel and they were excellent.
The entrance to the hotel is not altogether obvious and quite small. The suite that we had was very tired. Chipped tap ware, grouting missing around bath, mould on exhaust fan in bathroom.
The remote control for the T.V. didn't work and the hair dryer glowed red in use!
However, the room was spacious and clean. The kitchen was well equipped and great to have ironing facilities.
The bed and pillows were very comfortable too.
There is no free Wi-Fi, which I was amazed at!
The room faced the street on level 4 and was very quiet as the windows were double glazed.
Taxi rank directly across the road was very handy.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Congrats to the staff of the Royal Albert. Reception staff are efficient and friendly. No corporate false smiles here or fake interest in your 'day'. Just pleasant conversation and good service. The room I had was a standard room, four steps from a short foyer into a drawing room type lounge with very high ceilings. Bed was very comfortable, all furniture in the room suits the period of the hotel. TV was annoying, had to go through every channel to get the one I wanted. There is a DVD player in the room. Bathroom is fine and clean, but very 1970's, next renovation please get rid of the shower over bath. But, on the plus side, I was stunned by the shower. Generation Y, if you want to know what a real shower used to be like before we went 'green', try the showers here. Mine was thunderous! Room service good. Room had a small laundry and 2 hotplates with fridge and mini bar. Café Mondial is on the ground floor of the hotel and is a great place to eat. Myer Centre with cinema complex is right across the road. I enjoyed my stay and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The entrance can be a little difficult to find, especially if you're driving, but once inside it's like a little haven amongst the madness of the city outside. Very comfortable and clean. In room breakfast was fantastic.

Room Tip: We had a 2 bedroom suite which had a huge living space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Address: 167 Albert Street | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#11 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, T4B, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.