We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lions roared” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Albert Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Royal Albert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   167 Albert Street | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
AUD10 off room rate
Ranked #7 of 163 hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“The Lions roared”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Comfortable and large apartment room. Stayed whilst following the British & Irish Lions.
Friendly staff and great breakfasts.
The Chinese massage, available around the corner, was fantastic.
Excellent central location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear MadgreekWuhan
I am pleased you found our apartments particularly spacious and hope that you enjoyed the British and Irish Lions.
I will pass on your comments to our staff, Café Mondial and the Chinese masseur.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    80
    19
    3
    2
See reviews for
34
71
16
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toowoomba, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

The Royal Albert Hotel is in a fabulous location for the short weekend Brisbane City stay over. Walk out the front door and within a few steps you are into the hub of the Queen St Mall. Easy walking to Southbank and walk the other way down to parks. The apartment was so clean and in the kitchen had all you needed to make any meal. The staff were very helpful and approachable. There are cafes and restaurants out the front door. It is well worth a stay and the costs are reasonable. If driving there it is easy to drive past the entrance to the carpark.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Jenny
I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and am always delighted to receive compliments about our reception and housekeeping staff.
Tip for future travellers: drive up Albert St and pull up at the Green gate which will open for you in a moment or two. (If it is any longer flash your lights to wake us up!)
At the end of the driveway there is a door through to Reception.
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We recently spent three nights here in transit. Location in very convenient for the Queens Street Mall and the Brisbane CBD. Older style apartment units, however we really appreciated having a little bit of space and laundry facilities as we were travelling for a few weeks. Very accommodating front desk, and all staff. Rooms were very clean, quiet and extremely comfortable.Taxi rank across the road. Good restaurants everywhere in close proimity, and good pubs. An excellent cafe, Cafe Mondial, right in the building on the footpath, so we didn't have to go far at all for a relly good breakfast, and that last coffee at night. Has car parking at around $22 per day for amaller cars, very convenient. Will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We were on the seventh floor, no complaints there, but one of the old lifts are being refurbished so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal_Albert_Hotel, General Manager at Royal Albert Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear 60gbh
Thank you for your great comments about our great location, and the accommodating front desk staff as well as the other staff. I will be pleased to pass on your comments to Café Mondial also.
We are excited to report that our first new lift (which commenced 2-Sep-13) should be on line by Wednesday 16-Oct-13, and our second lift should be on line by mid-November.
We are very fortunate that the vast majority of guests have been understanding and patient during this lift refurbishment project.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Peter Tyrer
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donostia-San Sebastian, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We stayed at the Royal Albert for two nights. Once we had parked our car we were free to roam the city as the central location is perfect. The room was clean and all our needs were met. Good bed and bathroom facilities. Quiet, with minimal city noise. Carpet in the lift was shabby.The staff were pleasant and helpful. The big downside was breakfast at Mondial on our final day. After thirty minutes we enquired about our coffee. Told it was on the way......other diners had come along after us and were receiving both food and drinks. Another ten minutes and I went to follow up at the kitchen. Asked for the manager but told he was not there. Coffee and food arrived simultaneously (not to our liking) and eggs not as ordered. We were not charged for the coffees. Most disappointing end to a lovely stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiara, Makira, Solomon Islands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed in the Royal Albert Suites for 3 nights in a deluxe studio room while in Brisbane on a business trip. The best feature of the hotel is the location. At the entrance to the hotel is a great café/restaurant, Le Mondial, that serves good quality food. The room was spacious but aesthetically average in upkeep. A few additional features would greatly improve the overall experience. The main issues were that there was no room safe, room cleaning only extended to making the bed (pulling up the covers) and cleaning the bathroom. Cups, plates on side tables or coffee tables were not taken away or cleaned. Only those items on the kitchenette sink were washed but not put away in the cupboards. Also, there was only one reception staff at check in so took around 30 minutes to check in. That said, staff were very hospitable and friendly, just not enough on duty at peak times.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

my wife and i stayed in the royal albert for the first lions test in june 2013.the hotel has a first class location,right on albert street in the city centre.it is close to all the shops and bars in the city centre.breakfast is served in the cafe mondial on street level at the front door.the rooms are spacious and very comfortable.we would make the royal albert our first choice if we went back to brisbane

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coffs Harbour, Australia
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

A one night stay before flying out from Brisbane overseas. The location right in the city with reasonably priced parking perfectly met our needs. The price was fair for the location and sheer size of the rooms. They are a little care worn, but otherwise quite nice and appropriately decorated for a heritage building. The bed was very comfortable and it was nice to have a lounge, coffee table etc.The ugly metal banister on the few steps down from our entry/ bathroom level should really be replaced with something nicer. We were able to leave our car parked after checkout while we did some last minute shopping.This was much appreciated and saved hassles until we needed to leave around lunchtime
Due to the location, room size and my appreciation of a heritage property, I would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert
Address: 167 Albert Street | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#7 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#12 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, T4B, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.