We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please don't stay here, I want to make sure I get a room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Albert Hotel

Save Saved
You added Royal Albert Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Royal Albert Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   167 Albert Street | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 165 hotels in Brisbane
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Please don't stay here, I want to make sure I get a room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

Excellent service in clean well presented rooms. Local restaurants are great and parking makes this a winner.

Definitely be back and have now made it our companies hotel of choice for Brisbane.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    112
    95
    19
    4
    2
See reviews for
44
80
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Thank you for a lovely stay, my english is not best so the staff were helping me find my Brisbane special time. kayaking at Riverlife - south bank siwm - cycle in park and great cafe and queens treet mall for shops. want to stay longer

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2012 via mobile

An old world charm surrounded by great restaurants and shopping. Even though the hotel is situated in a very busy area the noise factor was great as you don't hear anything from outside. The hotel was a great place to stay with hassle free parking as they get your car from the carpark and deliver it to you. With the cost of parking being only $20 per day it was great value. Mondial restaurant below the hotel is very buzzy, a great venue with fantastic food and friendly staff. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We are regular visitors to Bne and this time I decided to book us into the Royal Albert. My husband and I who enjoy a quality hotel loved the Royal Albert with it period decor giving our room charm and warmth. We stayed in one bedroom apartment and were very happy with the facilities of our accom. The apartment was spacious and included a kitchen (which we didn't use) and a full separate laundry (again we didn't use it but it was nice to know it was there if needed).

The staff were professional and friendly on check in and out. As we had no issues or special requests we did not have a lot of other contact.

I loved the location of the Royal Albert, right across the road was the entry to the Queen St Mall and Myers, a short walk to the Gardens and Southbank.

We stayed on the second floor, initially I was worried about noise from the street but this was not an issue. We did not have river views but didn't expect to so this wasn't a drama for us.

We loved walking down the entrance and through the beautiful wood/glass french doors each time we came back in, it was like going back in time but in a pleasant way. Several drinks, dessert and a lovely breakfast was also enjoyed at Cafe Mondial (at the entrance).

To sum up our experience both my husband and I have declared that this will now be our regular home away from home when in Brisbane.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St, Albans
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

You couldn't get closer to the centre of Brisbane. We initially booked in for two nights but stayed an extra as we loved it. The room was lovely with a separate bedroom, yes a little dated but still great value for money. We made use of the Hotels car parking facility which was great, just hand the keys over and forget about it - you wont need it being so close to the centre.

I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

Room Tip: Ours was a one bed suite, thats all I saw and all I can go by but this Hotel was the 'Diamond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012 via mobile

Lovely old building that has been done up. I stayed in one of the two bedroom apartments with kitchenette & lounge area. main bedroom had a comfy double bed, IPod dock, tv & built in wardrobe. The other bedroom was tiny with a single bed- not very comfortable. The room was on a corner of the building overlooking two streets & there was some noise from the street below. Lounge room had nice new furniture, flat screen tv, DVD player & coffee table. The kitchen area had fridge, microwave, kettle & cutlery & crockery. The room also had small laundry area with washing machine & dryer. There are restaurants, bars , coffee shops, eateries, taxi stand & a 711 all nearby as well as across the road is the Myer Centre & Queen street Mall. Over all great central location.They also held our luggage after check out as we had a late flight out of Brisbane.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunshine coast
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

An evening at the Southbank Convention Centre was enhanced by our stay at the Royal Albert Hotel. The 2 bedroom sub penthouse was more than adequate for 4 mature friends. The floor layout is huge located on a high level corner position. As the hotel is heritage listed the high quality furnishings and decor are harmonious to this era. Parking is available at a reasonable $22 per night (best to inform reception prior to arrival). The hotel is operated by very efficient and pleasant front desk staff. Upon check out our luggage and car was held free of charge until 1pm. Although housekeeping was of a high standard the stained carpet in the 2nd bedroom was a BIG disappointment. With all that this boutique hotel has to offer it is definitely an excellent choice of accommodation in the Brisbane CBD.

Room Tip: The hotel website gives detailed room choices and floor plans.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Royal Albert Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Albert Hotel

Address: 167 Albert Street | (cnr Elizabeth St), Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#8 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#10 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Albert Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, T4B, Orbitz, Tingo, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Royal Albert Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albert Brisbane
Hotel Royal Albert

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Albert Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.