We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, wierd air con” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel to your Saves list
Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   301 Ann Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #50 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location, wierd air con”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I booked a hotel room. Air con was very noisy. All the hotel rooms (not suites) are in pairs with room 'A' having control of room 'B' access to air con. What this means is that if guests in room A take their key tag (in error) out of the wall slot, then not only does their air con stop, but yours does too.

The next day(a weekday) I tried to contact reception staff but it was closed and phone was constantly busy (this is around 9am). when I returned that evening (6pm) same problem. Need more staff. What about check in? Not everyone turns up at the 2pm request time.

After explaining to staff that it is very rattly and seems to switch off and on at regular intervals, the girl said this was normal to maintain room temperature (I was very cold). She offered to move me to another room but in the same breath confirmed all rooms worked like this. So to not freeze, I spent the evenings with no air con or lights on. (your power and air con come on when you put tag in wall slot).

I was on the first floor with my window overlooking an alleyway, this wasn't an issue but the 2am garbage truck visits were.

Location was excellent in proximity to CBD. However even though the room was tidy & clean, there were scuff marks inside the wardrobe wall, dry paint marks on the doona and the bathroom door handle fell off.

Wet towels that were left on the floor (as stated for pick up by staff) weren't collected.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    43
    15
    7
    7
See reviews for
17
36
14
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
QLD
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2009

While billed as a heritage-listed hotel (which it is - 1930s art deco style), the Rothbury just feels like a tired old institution. The art deco theme is interesting for a short while,and then the reality sets in. There's nothing specifically wrong with the place, it's just dark and frayed around the edges, with everything being a bit out of date.

While there are some pleasant staff members, others appear to be indifferent. The small, pokey reception is frequently shuttered up, even at peak times, and there is sometimes a wait just for basic front-desk service.

It's certainly conviently located (across the street from Central Station), but other hotels are a more pleasant experience for a bit more money.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rothwell
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2009

My wife and I often stay at Rothbury on Ann Hotel when we need a getaway into the city. We choose rothbury because its close to everything like transport shops (for the wife) and the casino (for me).
we get a breakfast in our rate which is always pretty good on the weekends and its enough to get us started for the day.
The staff are very friendly. My wife and i like the style of the hotel which is art deco a pleasant change from the norm hotels.
we normally drive in and we are able to leave our car in the morning in the car while the room is being cleaned which is a bonus for us.
but you have to book parking because there are only a few spaces

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
...
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2009

The Rothbury is a small apartment hotel in a converted (and fairly stylish) art deco office building in the Brisbane CBD, with the original elegant stairwells, foyers and (mechanically upgraded) lifts. Booking/service/etc was efficient (though not helpful about local amenities) and the location (a couple of blocks from the central shopping/restaurant district and a few blocks from the riverside arts/etc area) convenient. Rates were also reasonable and there was little or no noise from other guests.

On the negative side, our fourth floor 1-br apartment was not particularly good:

- the living/kitchen area of the apartment was spacious and light and the bathroom good, but furniture rather tired and (as the building is small and surrounded by large office blocks) mostly looked out on to (and, presumably, could be looked into from) neighbouring offices;

- the building faces on to a fairly busy arterial street, with solid traffic from the early morning onwards and there also seemed to be noise from the nearby (though largely underground) central railway station. While the original windows have been supplemented by interior sliding windows, the exterior noise level is still fairly high;

- the kitchen area was spacious but not well-equipped - a mix of crockery, a handful of poor quality kitchen implements, a broken toaster and a single hotplate - and no extractor fan;

- air conditioning/heating was -astonishingly- loud at times; and

- although we had booked (and paid additionally for) an infant cot, no-one thought to tell us that (i) there was no room in the bedroom for the cot and (ii) the dividing door was a very creaky/lightweight wooden louvre, which was impossible to open and close quietly and did little to separate the two rooms, which largely undermined the point of an apartment room.

Parking was also something of an adventure - it is reached via a sharp turn off the road outside and down a narrow driveway - and would be a challenge in anything much bigger than a medium-sized car.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
1,161 reviews 1,161 reviews
291 hotel reviews
Reviews in 313 cities Reviews in 313 cities
2,737 helpful votes 2,737 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2008

I enjoyed the architecture of this hotel, with the room itself being pleasant, and the fittings good quality.

I slept well and had no complaints as all fixtures and fittings worked or were in good condition.

It was disconcerting that the local restaurant scene is so poor. Brisbane really is a 'country town' compared to Melbourne.

The hotel reception was pokey and staff service only average but I regard such serviced apartments as basically BYO food and drink.

The location was tops with the Airtrain and Gold Coast trains only a hop step and jump away.

  • Liked — Heritage, style and location
  • Disliked — Slightly cavalier staff attitude
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2007

Stayed here for one night only for business. Stayed in a one bedroom apartment - nicely furnished, clean, with kitchenette, separate lounge room, bedroom and ensuite. Plenty of space, and washing machine and dryer in bathroom if needed.
Quite comfortable, but nothing to rave about.
If you have a car you must book a car parking space - the car park is tiny, so wouldn't want a big car.

Very handy for anything in the city, but no views and currently a construcion site next door that started work at 6.30am.

  • Liked — Nothing much
  • Disliked — construction site next door
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2006

We booked a group of twenty-two people into the Rothbury on Ann recently for an eight-day stay. We gave the hotel a room list a couple of weeks in advance, and as a consequence we expected that the staff would get the room arrangements (double, twin or single) right, and the correct number of breakfast baskets in each room. This didn't happen.
The score of correct breakfast baskets for our room was three out of eight, and the rest of the group reported similar.
Despite the fact that the group paid a hefty deposit in advance, and offered to pay the total bill at check-in, our check-in was chaos, because hotel staff requested a credit card advance of $100 additional security from each room, or $500 cash if the occupant did not have a credit card. Eventually the tour leader put all the security deposits required by staff on his credit card, so that the group could get their room keys. Not a good start.
The restaurant advertised in the hotel's brochure/web site is only open after five pm on a Friday, no other night, and despite Central Station being across the road, if you don't like Macdonalds, the restaurant scene in the vicinity is a bit sparse, particularly on a Sunday and Monday night.
The hotel's basket breakfast is equally sparse. Two pieces of bread, small box of cereal, milk, butter, small packet jam/ vegemite, juice and an apple. No way to express preferences or explain food allergies. The solution is to bring your own.
On the positive side, the rooms are very well equipped, although some lounges were well past their best; the rooms are quiet; the beds are extremely comfortable, and most of the staff were friendly and obliging. And the Art Deco building itself is great.

  • Liked — Well-equipped rooms
  • Disliked — Wierd hotel procedures
  • Stayed September 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel

Address: 301 Ann Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#44 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brisbane's leading Boutique Heritage Apartment Hotel, featuring the best of European Art Deco, style and warmth.The Rothbury Hotel has 60 luxury self catering apartments with palatial proportions. The apartments combine the comfort, style and the grandeur of a bygone era with modern personal and business facilities and current technologies.Rothbury Hotel also offers guests the opportunity to unwind in our roof top garden setting where you can relax and enjoy your BBQ meal surrounded by city lights or under the stars. A spa and sauna are also availableCome and Experience the Rothbury Hotel, where we take your business ..... personally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rothbury On Ann Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rothbury Heritage Apartment Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.