We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, fantastic location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Ann Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, fantastic location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I stayed here for a work trip from the 7th-11th of April. I had apartment 4001 on the 4th floor. The room was fantastic. It was spotless and that bed was the best hotel bed I have ever slept in. If I could have loaded it on the plane home I would have !!! I had to work at Mount Cootha each day so I didn't get to look around much but from what I could tell the location was fantastic. My apartment was cleaned each day and the housekeeping was thoughtful enough to leave air con on for me so the room was nice and cool when I arrived back. I had a hire care, I called each morning to get the car brought to the front of the hotel and within 20 minutes was on my way to work !! The staff were all friendly and nothing was to much trouble. I didn't have any meals here so I can't comment on the food. If I got Brisbane again for work or pleasure I would not hesitate to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane_GM, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear singlewith2kids,

Thank you for sharing your positive review on TripAdvisor - the team and I were thrilled to hear about your stay with us, and appreciate your comments regarding the cleanliness of your room and the thoughtfulness of our team during your stay.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Brisbane!

Kind Regards,

Karina Millar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    252
    117
    35
    12
See reviews for
48
230
59
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

My partner and I stayed for one night. On arrival, the man who checked us in could not have made it anymore clear if he tried that he didn't care and we were interrupting whatever he had been doing out the back. No smile, a reluctant 'enjoy your stay' and a wave in the general direction of the lifts. The decor was stunning. Very in keeping with the age of the building. Once we arrived in the room, it was very dull. The bathroom had mould around the bath and there was a yellow aged washing machine in the corner. The bed was very uncomfortable and the pillows were either rock hard or barely there. I did think the lack.of noise from outside was great though. We'll Done on that! On checkout the next morning, the gentleman was much nicer. Very friendly and happy. But unfortunately I was so disappointed and would never stay again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane_GM, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, April 22, 2014
Dear Vicki G,

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you felt that our service delivery was below par on this occasion. Our team prides itself on customer service and to feel that we let someone down in this area is very disappointing to us.

I have taken on your feedback regarding the service at check-in, and the housekeeping and maintenance issues in your room and we are looking into solutions to resolve this.

I was pleased to hear that you appreciated our heritage decor and that the sound proofing was solid.

We are sorry that your stay wasn’t enjoyable and hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel so that you can experience what we are truly capable of.

Kind Regards,

Karina Millar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

Good location on Ann St and right opposite the station. There is also a bus stop right out the front.

Clean, comfortable apartment room which had all that I needed in it.

The shower was AMAZING - awesome water pressure. The shower however was a bit of an effort to get into as it's over a bathtub with very high sides. The tub would be impractical for a tall adult to lie in - it's short in length with very high sides!

Breakfast was pretty ordinary - cereal, toast, tea/coffee, machine made pancakes and bacon/eggs/sausages etc in a hot servery thing.

Dinners in the restaurant would have been approved by Weight Watchers for their serving size - they were TINY! I ordered a $32 dollar main pork belly and got 4 small pick of pork and a salad. I then had to go back and order an entree cause dinner didn't touch the sides! The $38 steak I ordered the second night came with a couple of baby potatoes and a small salad, but about 2 hours later I was hungry again. Service in the restaurant was AMAZINGLY SLOW both nights - it took 40 minutes for my steak dinner to come out and I'd only ordered one course. The restaurant wasn't busy so I dunno what the hold up was. I'd eat else where, but the charge back to the room is convenient.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane_GM, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Liz915,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor - the team and I were delighted to read your positive review at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square and appreciate your comments regarding the AMAZING shower and the quality of the apartment you stayed in. The location and bus stop out front, certainly make it easy to get around the CBD.

We look forward to seeing you again next time your travel to Brisbane.

Kind Regards,

Karina Millar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We booked the motel via a wotif deal and was upgraded to a 1 bedroom apartment.

This apartment was smaller than the last apartment I stayed in but was still a good size and quite comfortable.

We only had a couple of downsides:-
* The main TV remote did not work properly but was able to the buttons on the tv
* the air conditioner was a little bit noisy but didn't stop us sleeping through it
* my partner cut his leg on a tabletop that had not been pushed back by housekeeping.

None of the above would stop us staying here again as we can't beat the price, location or old school charm of this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane_GM, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear TWVader,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor – the team and I were pleased to read that you enjoyed the value for money and 'old school charm', when you were upgraded during your recent stay at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square. I was disappointed to hear that you had some difficulty with the TV remote and AC unit in your room, and sorry that your partner cut his leg on the tabletop - I passed this feedback on to our Housekeeping and Maintenance Team, and this has been rectified.

We look forward to seeing you again next time your travel to Brisbane - please feel free to contact me directly and I will ensure we upgrade you once again, upon your return.

Kind Regards,

Karina Millar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

Heritage listed and tastefully restored and furnished this Hotel is aesthetically appealing and very good value for money on the doorstep of all on offer from Brisbane City. Our one bedroom apartment was spacious, clean and comfortable. Consisting of a small food preparation bench with self catering cooking facilities and utilities it is well equipped for several days stays. The bathroom is well presented and houses a combo washer/dryer and while the tiles around the bath are showing age and poor repair the bathroom is clean and presentable. The front of house staff were pleasant and courteous. I have no hesitation recommending this well located and comfortable hotel to any discerning traveler.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane_GM, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear Legar,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square - the team and I were delighted to read your positive comments.

We look forward to seeing you again next time you travel to Brisbane.

Kind Regards

Karina Millar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

This was just the right place for our three nights in Brisbane. Good cooking facilities in the suite (we'd been upgraded), and so much of Brisbane within easy access. Free WiFi and many other advantages and very helpful staff

Room Tip: Get help carrying your luggage up the front steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane_GM, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear RovingMike123,

I am so glad to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us, and appreciated your upgrade to our spacious One Bedroom Apartment. Thank you for taking the time to post a positive review about Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square.

We hope to see you again on your next visit to Brisbane.

Kind Regards,

Karina Millar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

OK not quite sure which should come first, oh yes I do, shabby. Needs an upgrade and an update.

Staff are wonderful but rooms are tired to say the least. The rate for a suite was expensive for what we got, drab, dark and lifeless.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback on your recent stay. Please know that we will take your feedback on board as we improve the standard of our rooms. We are pleased our customer service was up to standard, and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square

Address: 255 Ann Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square is a modern hotel located in the heart of Brisbane’s central business district. Overlooking the Anzac Square memorial gardens and directly opposite Central Railway Station, our superb location gives you direct access to the best that Brisbane has to offer. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, you will appreciate having Queen Street Mall, Treasury Casino and South Bank all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Rendezvous Hotel
Clarion Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.