We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Ann Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel, great staff .... The air conditioner didn't work, it was hot and stuffy (and its winter). Staff said they would fix it while we had dinner, it still was not working when we came back and made for a very uncomfortable night with no ventilation.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback following your recent stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and reference your comment about the air-conditioning; we will definitely look into it. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    251
    117
    35
    12
See reviews for
48
229
59
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We had an older style room which is in keeping with the old building.
It was lovely, very clean and surprisingly quiet as it is opposite Central Station.
Had drinks in the bar but no meals as we wandered down to Eagle Pier for breakfast and lunch.
Had a great pub meal across the road, the music is way too loud after 9 but we were finished by then.
We will definitely be back, the staff were very helpful with bags and directions!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for your positive comments, following your recent stay. We appreciate you taking time to advise fellow travellers regarding our location, good accommodation and service, and we look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013 via mobile

Excellent location opposite central Brisbane train station and shops and tourist sites.
Very good hotel for staying over when travelling from Brisbane airport only a easy 25- 30 mins on airtrain. Staff helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It's hard for me to think about a long term stay at this hotel - I was there recently for business for one night and needed somewhere to sleep and have breakfast, it ticked those boxes. However, the hotel lobby, restaurant and the room I was given, seemed a little tired and worse for wear. The room itself was at least clean and the bed was comfortable, so it did suit my purpose. However, for the rates, I was expecting more and did feel it was expensive for what it offers. I'm not averse to carrying my own bags, I tend to do it most of the time, but a hand may have been nice considering I was carrying three by myself. A mixed experience for me really, there are some positives and negatives here for fellow travellers staying longer. Positives - clean room (at least for me), qantas points and located centrally. Negatives - a little on the old side and relatively expensive

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

What a pleasant surprise. Have stayed in Brisbane previously and honestly did not know about this hotel. It is in old Government buildings and has 4 floors of rooms. THere is both modern and old but well maintained. My room was very roomy and facilities excellent. Only problem was the air-conditioner was very noisy at times. Room overlooked Ann Street but noise was not a problem. All staff very friendly. Opposite Central Railway Station which is great for transport to airport. Booking was made through an airline and although did not include breakfast was a good deal

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Front Office Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank for such positive feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location.

We strive to offer “value for money” so we really do appreciate your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 5 nights, we were in Brisbane to watch the footy at the GABBA & to visit or daughter who lives on the Gold Coast. We loved the location, one of the main reasons for choosing it was to be opposite Central train station, which we utilised extensively. We had the 1 bedroom apartment which was a good choice, yes the bedroom with a double bed is a little small - but hey it is an old hotel! We paid for breakfast each morning - $28-50 for the buffet, the choices were good. We enjoyed a drink in the bar / restaurant each evening, our complaint would be it closes to early. We enjoyed the use of the free internet at reception. We had no issues with cleanliness as previous posters have mentioned. Overall, we enjoyed our stay, would have no trouble recommending it to others & would stay there again.

Room Tip: Not sure how big the 'normal' rooms are, would recommend the apartments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, Public Relations Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank for such positive feedback, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location.

We strive to offer “value for money” so we really do appreciate your positive feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Brisbane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights in May 2013 whilst visiting friends in the city.

The hotel is excellently located to explore Brisbane. Central station on your doorstep.

Our room was an apartment style with kitchenette, washer/dryer and bedroom etc. The decor is very dated and the lounge area had a smell. Mould? Dust? It wasn't pleasant.

The kitchenette was good. Fridge and cooker etc. Microwave.

The bathroom was very dated and had a couple of cleanliness issues. There was a washing machine/dryer which was pretty useless. Washed but the dryer was awful and took hours to half dry anything.

Toiletries weren't replenished often enough.

The bedroom was small, double bed, wardrobe. We had a slight problem with an unidentifiable stain on the bedding. We informed reception and the linen was changed. It was a little unfriendly. The following day one of the sheets had another stain on which we removed.

Free Wifi. Ask for the password etc at reception.

We didn't eat at the hotel at all but there is a restaurant and bar in the lobby.

Overall, in need of an update. Location is great. Too expensive what you are receiving.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RendezvousBris, General Manager at Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you very much for staying at the Rendezvous Hotel Anzac Square during your most recent trip to Brisbane. Your comments are noted as we appreciate all feedback to ensure that we deliver on product and service at all times.
Thank you again - we look forward to welcoming you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square

Address: 255 Ann Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square is a modern hotel located in the heart of Brisbane’s central business district. Overlooking the Anzac Square memorial gardens and directly opposite Central Railway Station, our superb location gives you direct access to the best that Brisbane has to offer. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, you will appreciate having Queen Street Mall, Treasury Casino and South Bank all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Toga Hotels and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Rendezvous Hotel
Clarion Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.