We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice sound hotel well located in Brisbane” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square to your Saves list
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   255 Ann Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #41 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“A nice sound hotel well located in Brisbane”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

The Redezvous Hotel in Brisbane is a nice, solid hotel. It's well located in Ann St, a short walk from the CBD shopping strip and lots of resturants etc. This is an older hotel but it has been updated.

My room was on the 1st floor and when it rains there is quite q bit of noise with the rain hitting an adjacent roof. If you got a higher level room this wouldn't be an issue. The room was very clean (a. big issue for me) and when my room was made up the job seemed to have been done very well.

The hotel has two lifts and when I was here (Jan 2012) new lifts were being installed. So the management seem to be doing a fair bit in the wqy of upgrading. The carpets are fairly new and the room looks like it was recently painted. The bed is a nice new queen size and I slept very well on it.

The lack of a fitness centre and pool might put some off. The TV's in the room are decent sized NEC flatscreens with some cable channels plus all the free to air channels.

This hotel offers free local phone calls and 3 hrs per day of free internet access. There are no surcharges for credit cards (claimed on signs in the lift anyhow!). Not a lot of hotels do this. My work paid for my room so I can't state catagorically that these billing arrangements stand but hey.... they claim it!

There is a 24/7 mart about 30 meters down Ann St. so milk, cereal etc is easy to get. My room didn't have a bowl / spoon etc but (cheapskate) me packs one to keep the costs down.

Transport is fairly easy from this hotel. There is a railway station across the road. Taxi fare for me from the Airport to the hotel on a Sunday (extra tariff) was about $45.00 and took a little over 20 mins. On a weekday at peak time I'd allow 30 - 40 mins to be safe.

This appears to me to be a good solid mid range hotel. Not 4 star but not far off. The staff are very friendly and unobtrusive. I'd say give it a go!

Room Tip: Try a higher level room in wet weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    249
    116
    35
    12
See reviews for
48
226
58
157
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2012

We have stayed here several times when passing through Brisbane for various reasons and for the price and convenience it can't be beaten. The first time I stayed in Brisbane my company paid for it and I stayed at the Sofitel across the road which is great but exxie! So when I was forking out for myself I thought I'd give the place across the road a try and haven't been disappointed. Convenience was the initial priority-straight across the road from the Ann St station, and in peak hour the trains are lots quicker than a cab to get into and out of the city to the airport and if there is just one of you or even two it is the cheaper option. The beds are super-comfy. We have stayed in both the standard rooms and most recently got a 1 bdrm apartment on special for the same price. It was a bit smaller than I imagined -and there is no door between the living and sleeping areas -which was unexpected -so when my husband stayed up to watch TV that disturbed me -and when I got up early to do some early emails -the same thing occured to him. We were concerned when we saw we were facing onto the nightclub across the road -I am a light sleeper-and though I did hear it a bit when I woke up in the middle of the night -it didn't keep me awake in the 3 nights we were there. Housekeeping could do something about the mould in the grout around the tiles (Domestos fixes that easily for me!) and forgot the bathmat on the second day. Fixing the lifts seem to have taken forever. Really close to shopping -and don't worry about eating expensive breakfasts in the hotel as there are a couple of good little eateries with great coffee just along Ann Street towards the square -very cheap and good eggs benedict (can't recall the name). So yes we would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012

I stayed here November 2011 as a weekend away and I think this hotel is great.
we arrived quite late at night and for whatever reason the airtrain wasn't running so after getting a cab into town we were dropped off. I looked across the road at the nightclub in full swing and wished our room wouldn't face that side but knew it would.

The staff were friendly and helpful at check in and we headed upstairs. As luck would have it we were facing the nightclub but as the windows were sealed it wasn't an issue with noise at all. we were on the top floor and it was almost silent.

The next morning we headed out for a run and the river and botanic gardens are close by. the hotel is close to the main shopping street.

The room was small and cozy but as we weren't there for the room it wasn't an issue.
Bathroom was sleek and modern with a huge shower and lots of French connection toiletries which was nice touch. Because we opted out of the room cleaning in the morning on our return from exercise there was bag of fresh towels waiting for us along with more toiletries.
I assumed the TV worked but I didn't turn it on. likewise the mini bar remained untouched ( there is a 7/11 across the road and down the hill 50 meters so that helps avoid pesky mini bar charges.
the bed was comfy and the pillows were nice.The building was once a government building that has been refurbished so the ceilings are high and the whole place has that great atmosphere of peace you find in large old buildings.


breakfast wasn't included in our package but after going for a run we opted in to buy breakfast. this might be only drawback i did feel the breakfast was pretty pricey. But service was good and friendly.

the location is very handy for public transport. The central station is across the road from the hotel and the ferries ( a must for any visitor to Brisbane) were about 5 minutes away. It's close to the valley and central Brisbane and in 15 minutes you can be in Southbank on foot.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

This hotel was formerly a government building built about 80 years ago. The room we had was a suite with high ceilings and comfy beds. unfortunately, the hotel does not have a fitness centre. you have to hike down to their sister hotel which is about a ten minute walk. The fitness centre there is small and lame.

The hotel breakfast is expensive at $20 for continental. we bought cereal, yogurt and fruit the night before for four people for less than $20 and saved $60.

the Front desk were very helpful in recommending an excellent restaurant for dinner

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2011

The room was small and cousy but in need of maintenance and upgrade. Our room was facing the street on king street (if I remember it right), the night we were there there was a night club upen across the street, this together with traffic and an extremely noisy airconditioner orchestred a full symphony of noise through the night. I'm happy i didn't have to stay here more than one night.
Service was good and the personnel very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2011

Nice hotel in a very convenient location next to Central Station which means travel to and from the airport is straightforward ($26 open return).

I had a basic studio room which had basic cooking facilities - no hotpates, just a microwave and kettle. The fridge had some mini bar items but rather than use these I stocked up with my own breakfast items from the nearby Woolworth supermarket (come out of the building, turn left, then left again at the lights and it is two blocks down on the left hand sign - not very well signposted)

Hotel buffet breakfast is $25 which is crazy. I made my own which cost $25 over 4 days, but I was on a budget.

Room laundry is $20 per bag although I think some of the larger roooms may have washing machines within them.

Cleanliness was pretty good and I didnt have any problems with the hot water/water pressure or anything like that.

The TV controls were a bit useless. I don't know what it is but they have some bizarre digital set up with a lot of cr*ppy channels. Maybe that is just australia, who knows!

Room Tip: Ask for a room not overlooking the backpackers hostel nextdoor - bit noisy at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Great location across from the station, so easy for the airport and city in particular. This was my second stay. I had a room that was at the back of the hotel this trip and it was very quiet and also very functional - decent size, microwave, and the usual bar fridge etc. The bathroom was not huge but thoughtfully laid out and the shower was fine (nothing worse than a bad shower with no pressure!). The staff were helpful and friendly

Room Tip: ask for a room thats at the back, away from the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square

Address: 255 Ann Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#33 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#34 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square 4.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square is a modern hotel located in the heart of Brisbane’s central business district. Overlooking the Anzac Square memorial gardens and directly opposite Central Railway Station, our superb location gives you direct access to the best that Brisbane has to offer. Whether you are travelling for business or leisure, you will appreciate having Queen Street Mall, Treasury Casino and South Bank all within walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, TravelClick, Odigeo, Toga Hotels, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brisbane Rendezvous Hotel
Clarion Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rendezvous Hotel Brisbane Anzac Square, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.