We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Brisbane to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #38 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

I stay in Brisbane regularly on business. This is my favourite hotel. The rooms are very large. Each room has a large outdoor terrace overlooking the park and river. There is a good gym, that has a view of the pool and city. The breakfast in the hotel is fine. The hotel rooms are very comfortable with good furniture and a desk. Security has just been updated, so each floor is secure, and there are only about 5 rooms per floor.

  • Liked — Location and large rooms, and two tvs
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    138
    49
    18
    14
See reviews for
94
141
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We stayed for 5 nights at the end of a 20 night tour of Oz and it was definitely the best hotel of the bunch. perhaps its not a 5 star, but a superior 4 star without a doubt. When we arrived at 2pm, our room wasnt ready and so they gave us complimentary drinks and snacks.

We stayed in a 2 bed suite as there were 4 of us and there were balconies off each room including the living area. The bathrooms were clean and spacious. We were getting fed up of eating out and so we cooked twice and the kitchen was well equipped.

The Australian cricket team were staying there at the same time and i doubt they would stay anywhere dodgy. I cant speak for the restaurant but we ordered room service which was good.

  • Liked — Suites were spacious
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2007

This was a wonderful hotel. The room is really two large rooms (a sitting room with sofa and dining table) and a bed room. There is also a large balcony, with excellent views of the Brisbane Botantic Gardens and the Brisbane River. The room also has a small fully equiped kitchen!
The hotel is in an excellent location, and you can walk to everything in the downtown area (but you do not feel that you are downtown as you overlook the park). I did a wonderful walk from the hotel across the Goodwill footbridge to South Bank, which I fully recommend.
The hotel has a pool and a gym that is full of sunlight.
The staff were very friendly and helpful.
My room also had two very new flatscreen televisions. The management takes pride in the hotel.

  • Liked — The View, The Room Size and the Location
  • Disliked — The restaurant was small
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2006

After the poor hotel the prior night in Coff's Bay, anything would have been better. The service at this hotel is excellent. Attentive and friendly with great local knowledge. Checking in and out was a pleasure and any questions about where to go, how to get there, what was the best way, etc. were answered with accuracy and objective opinion.

We had a room overlooking the Botanical Gardens. The road itself is a busy road in Brisbane so there is a bit of traffic noise during peak time but not noticeable when sleeping unless you sleep with the sliders open.

It's a true suite with the kitchen, dining and living area on one side with a large sliding glass door and on the other side, the bath and bedroom with a matching sliding glass door going out to a private terrace. In-room laundry facilities, washer and separate drier are included as well as full kitchen.

We opted for the brekkie and it includes the normal cold buffet as well as a choice of hot meal.

If we were to go back to Brisbane, I'd definitely book again.

  • Liked — Friendly and helpful staff
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2006

I stayed at the Quay West when I visited Brisbane on business earlier this year. I wanted a place that I could use for a bit of holiday time after I finished the business part of my trip. I found the room to be spacious (certainly large enough for a comfortable extended stay) clean and well appointed.

I was on a higher floor on the side facing the Brisbane Botanic Garden and I really enjoyed the view. (see attached photo) I travel often and regularly find myself in smaller rooms with windows that won't open. In the Quay West I was treated to a huge room and, more importantly, a big balcony to enjoy the view and air.

The staff was very friendly and courteous from booking the room to answering my questions about Brisbane and getting about.

I didn't have an opportunity to use the pool but it looked well kept and clean.

Overall, I recommend the Quay West for its location, its nice accommodation and its well trained staff.

  • Stayed June 2006, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2006

Our stay at the "suites" was very underwhelming when the cost and advertising of the rooms were taken into consideration. The rooms are not what I would term a suite, but more of a furnished 1 bedroom apartment.
Getting maid service was almost impossible even when the "Please Makeup Room" sign was left on the outside doorknob. We stayed one week at the hotel and maids serviced the room only two of the seven days without first requiring a phone call to the front desk at 6:30 in the evening requesting maid service. Even after the service, the courtesy bar of coffees and teas were not refilled unless I asked a maid for those items while they were in the room.
As noted in other reviews, noise from Alice Street easily invade the rooms late into the night. Street cleaners provide the cacophany early in the morning.
A smaller nitpick we had was the size of the pool. When we both decided to go swimming, it was a little disappointing to find the pool was very, very narrow. It would make a great lap pool if only one person were using it, but any more than that and it would definitely be crowded.
The building is starting to wear, but not necessarily in a dirty way. An example of the building showing its age would be the elevators - they were very slow except when it came to closing the door on you as you tried to walk into the elevator after it arrived on your floor.


Now for the positives about Quay West Suites Brisbane:

All rooms face the Botanic Gardens and river. To help take advantage of the city and river views, each room has its own balcony.
The hotel is very close to lots of (excellent!) restaurants and other attractions beside the Gardens.
The rooms have a washer and dryer, which came in handy for an unexpected laundry emergency. This saved having to buy new clothes while in Brisbane.
The rooms are complete apartments including a small refrigerator (great for the bottles shop purchases), dishwasher, microwave, stovetop range/oven, toaster, hot water pot, large dining table and dining room space, separate bedroom with its own television and separate laundry room.
There were plenty of channels from which to choose on the television, but no movie channels.
The front desk was very helpful during checkout by providing airport security information due to events that had occurred during the night in the U.K. This kept us from being delayed due to ignorance of the increased security during our flight checkin.

  • Liked — The room had a great view, convenience of apartment living
  • Disliked — Having to chase down maid service.
  • Tips/Secrets — Make this hotel a mid week stay for one or two nights at most. There are better (and cheaper!) alternatives in Brisbane.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2006

we stayed for 2 nights as a city break treat only to be disappointed. Firstly this is in no way a 5 star hotel, nor is the accomodation 'suites'. It is on the tired side and 4 star at most and I would describe the accomodation as roomy 1 bed apartments, and expensive. The service ranged from friendly to curt, and it took hours to recieve anything you requested. It took 3 requests and 2 hours to have a cot set up in our room, even after this was requested at time of booking. A lot of staff were in training and unsure of the hotels' normal procedure. It is also noisy facing the botanical gardens, a lot of traffic causes noise through out the night. Stunning views though, and great proximity to the city.

  • Liked — view of the botanical gardens
  • Disliked — service
  • Tips/Secrets — find a cheaper 1 bed apartment elsewhere
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Brisbane

Address: 132 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Quay West Suites Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.