We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Average” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Brisbane

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Brisbane to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Really Average”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

I booked here because the site suggested that this was excellent for families. I wanted a luxurious experience. What a letdown! Despite my confirming phone call there was no rollout bed for my daughter (we arrived on a late flight). The bed was only made with sheets and when I rang and asked for a blanket I was told "they had run out!" It was only when I queried that housekeeping brought a doona.
Stay away from room service - the food is tasteless and insipid. Check your bill - there was a mistake on ours. (To give them their due this was corrected when I pointed it out.) The staff seemed generally uninterested in our experience.
All in all an exceptionally average experience. You deserve better for your money.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    122
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
85
128
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2010

Spent a night at the Quay West Suites in March 2010. Spacious suite, equipped with kitchen and laundry. Would certainly be very easy to spend a week or two in the suite and not feel claustrophobic, especially given the balcony and view over the botanic gardens across the road (see photos). Room was clean, though it was noted that the freezer compartment had frosted over and was unable to be closed.

The location is very good: the gardens are across the road, and the Eagle St pier is a 10 minute walk away. The Brisbane CBD is less than 10 minutes' walk, and the Southbank complex is an easy and pleasant 20 minutes' walk. There's a taxi rank literally across the road from the place.

I'd stayed here in 1996, literally weeks after it first opened, and was pleased to find that it still looked and felt pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, West Oz
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2010

Two-night business stay in this hotel which was not one I chose myself. Normally stay in another chain's apartments in Brisbane, usually properties that are genuine apartments that haven't been let and are being used for shortstay. Quay West is much more of a traditional hotel, but suites not single rooms. Impressively clean; attentive staff; very spacious - my room had views over the Botanic Gardens and massive balcony. Well appointed room. A couple of highlights - bathroom has plenty of bench space - around the sink; internet is reasonably priced; aircon works really well; proper desk chair for computing. Two problems - the hot water/ cold water balance in the shower is very tricky to get right... either too hot or to cold unless you tweak and tune; the restaurant food (which was for a moderately sized function) was pretty poor - i'd not eat there (and the breakfast was insanely expensive - fortunately I wasn't paying).

All in all, this is probably a little pricier than some suite/apartment hotels but the view, space, and general excellence make it worthwhile - just don't eat there :)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2010

We preferred to be a few short blocks out of the CBD overlooking the Botanic Gardens. These 1 and 2 bedroom serviced apartments were terrific and the front desk was always super accommodating. We first had the 2 bedroom apartment with our adult daughter - all of these are gorgeous with 75+ foot long balconies - recommend one overlooking South Beach - sunsets and lighted ferris wheel across the River are wonderful! Furnishings, space, kitchens all tops. Then moved next door to a 1 bedroom when she left - not as luxe but still very, very nice. Very attractive pool. Lots of cafes/restaurants in the area (Avoid Augustine's which is close but NOT good!). Short stroll to Eagle Pier, Waterfront Place, ferries, little further to Musuems and South Beach but worth the walk and views. Loved Brisbane and Quay West!

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innsbruck, Austria
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2010

Stayed there for 3 nights and enjoyed it. Our windows and balcony was overlooking the botanical gardens - green and quiet! Very spacious rooms, clean and good equipped (kitchen, flatscreen-tv, aircon, washing machine, dryer). Small but nice pool. In walking distance to brisbane cbd. friendly staff.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cala d'Or, Spain
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2010

Cheerful and helpful reception was much appreciated after the long flight to Brisbane. Premium Apartment on the 11th Floor was everything we expected, clean and well presented with a great balcony overlooking the Botanical Gardens and the Brisbane River. The location is great with a short walk to the city but away from the noisy streets where many of the other similar Apartment Suites are. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2010

We spent 5 nights here as part of a month long tour of Australia, arriving the day after Brisbane had experienced a major thunderstorm and flash flooding. We had booked a two bedroom suite in order to get the all round view of the city and Botanic Gardens. The location is amazing with easy access to the key areas of the city.

On arrival I discovered that I couldn't access the internet and, having contacted reception, had a series of very helpful staff visit the room to check it out. It transpired that lightening had affected their system and I was offered a data stick as a temporary means of connection, which I thought was impressive. As it turned out they had it fixed within 2-3 hours and this wasn't needed, but there was a phone call made by the manager later that evening to ensure everything was ok.

We had an inclusive breakfast package. The restaurant staff were friendly and efficient and the food excellent.

They have a wonderful pool, jacuzzi and adequate gym which I've used before and is very pleasant. One rather bizarre quirk is that they have an in-room safe that requires a key that they charge for - very strange!

All in all it was an enjoyable few days helped by an efficient hotel staff and comfortable room.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Brisbane

Address: 132 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#25 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#41 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.