We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartments anf good location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Brisbane to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Breakfast Offer
Ranked #28 of 161 Hotels in Brisbane
Pretoria, South Africa
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Nice apartments anf good location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2009

We are a family of four (two teenagers) and stayed for a few nights. We had a premium twin apartment on one of the corners of the 20th floor. Excellent views of the river and the gardens across the road. Spacious and well equippped. Our unit was neat and clean. Very friendly and helpful staff with an excellent valet service. Gym is reasonable for a light workout, no weights, nice pool and spa are for the summertime. Room service excellent. Five blocks away from the Queen Street Mall and other amenities. Would recommend the apartments for families travelling with teenagers. Parking a bit expensive!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    120
    46
    16
    13
See reviews for
85
126
21
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

I have to say that this is one of the first times that the previous reviews on Trip Advisor let us down! This is one of the worst hotels we have stayed at in years (and we have traveled all over the world). Although the people who worked at this hotel were extremely nice and helpful (the one saving grace!), it did not make up for the other things that were lacking. The room was dated- which is ok- but it definitely needed a "deep cleaning". We stayed in a two bedroom family apt w/two bathrooms. The smaller bathroom was unusable because there was such a horrible stench coming out of the floor drain (so we closed the door). The shower in the master room- had mold in the grout and on the ceiling- and needed a good scrubbing. The doors needed wiping down (dirt marks around outlets and doorknobs) Several of the towels were dirty upon arrival- and many of the towels were so old that they were thin and had holes in them. Also we noticed that many of the towels and sheets had hairs in them. Even my kids who don't notice this stuff were totally grossed out by the room. I understand that its impossible for there not to be an occasional hair- but this was beyond that. Both of my daughters' beds had sheets that were so thin that they too had holes. Why they don't take these old sheets and towels out of circulation is beyond me. The bottom of the master bed had springs sticking out- which poked through the sheets and our feet! Also- since the windows in this hotel are not double glazed- the rooms are very loud from street noise even when the windows are closed. We were on a floor that was very high up, but we could still hear noise from cars, buses, garbage trucks, etc. throughout the night (we finally started using earplugs). We went down and checked out the pool and spa- but my kids felt the water in the spa- and the water in the spa smelled rancid so they had no interest of using the pool or spa after that. We are very forgiving travelers and don't expect perfection from any hotel- especially during these recession times. However, for the price we paid for this room- and the fact that its listed as the No. 2 hotel on trip advisor- we were extremely disappointed. One or two of these negatives would have been ok- but not all of these things! Unfortunately we prepaid for the room so we didn't feel like we could go elsewhere- but we definitely can not recommend this hotel- nor will we go back. We did ask for another room but couldn't move since the hotel was full.

The hotel did recommend Jellyfish restaraunt- which was very good. On the second night, we went to Jellyfish's sister restaraunt (also recommended by the hotel) Cha Cha Char restaraunt- which had horrible service, high prices, and so-so food. We also had breakfast a few times in the hotel restaraunt (we had the a la carte menu, not buffet) and it was quite good.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2009

We stayed for two nights, and we had specifically requested a high floor, which they provided us. The views over the Botanic Garden are indeed excellent. It is also very close (walking distance) to the centre. They provide swimming pool, spa and gym free of charge. The parking is quite expensive ($25 per night). We had a room apartment, i.e. one bedroom with living room and kitchen. The apartment was spatious, but the furniture was quite dated, even though in ok condition. We left quite happy with the stay, but coming back to the UK we found that they had charged us for mini bar which we never used (we always ate out or bought in supermarket, as a matter of principle we never ever use the mini bar).

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mullumbimby NSW
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2009

My parnter and I had the most beautiful night here and will return. Amazing views amazing service,food,cocktails in the spa, the whole thing was tops!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2009

My technique of booking the highest rated places on Trip Advisor never fails.

Having just stayed at the #1 hotel in SIngapore I was expecting things to be equally good at The Quay West Suites. I wasn't disappointed.

THE big deal here, without any question is the size of the rooms. I booked a two bed apartment to share with my wife and son, and it is huge. A really good sized lounge, with a big dining table too. Good sized kitchen, 2 bathrooms, laundry room and a really spacious feel.

There are floor to ceiling windows in two corners of the lounge, and the views to the river are wonderful.

The pool and spa are excellent, though I didn't try the gym or sauna.

Also, our room, 1701 is at the far end of the building, with only a small part adjoining another room, so it's QUIET! - I love quiet.

Problems? Well the bathrooms look slightly dated it has to be said, and I still think that internet access should be provided free of charge in this standard of hotel.

Those are just minor niggles though, and I would recommend this place to anyone. As mentioned in my title, you could easily stay here for a month. Whether you'd find enough to do in Brisbane is another matter...

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2009

We - myself, my husband and our 14 month old daughter - recently spent three nights in Brisbane at the Quay West Suites. We were extremely impressed with the quality of the room and the high level of customer service provided by the Quay West Suites staff.

We stayed in a spotlessly clean 1 bedroom appartment with kitchen and laundry - handy when you travel with a toddler - and a bathroom that contained a bath and a separate shower. We requested a cot, a room on a low floor, and an early check-in, and all these requests were met by the staff. Our daughter would have a high chair waiting for her at breakfast, too, which was a thoughtful touch.

The swimming pool area was lovely, and the water heated to a nice temperature.

The hotel is in an excellent location, opposite the Botanical Gardens and within walking distance of the key shopping centres and ferry stops. We had a very pleasant stay and would not hesitate to stay at Quay West Suites again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Oregon
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2009

This hotel/apt suite building is located right on MARY ST. across from the botanical gardens. Our views from the 19th floor were the best we had in Australia! The rooms were in like new condition and fully equipped with everything! You can almost see Surfer's Paradise from the balcony! Awesome views of the river too! It's an easy 1 block drive (right out the front door) to M1 which takes you to the Sunshine Coast or Gold Coast. Fantastic! Be sure to get up early in the morning so as to have a long day at the beach! It's about an hour drive away! Absolutely wonderful service from the hotel staff too! I was afraid to ask about the internet connection fee! Phone calls are $3 each and parking is $20/day. I was VERY disappointed in the restaurant staff. I guess they aren't at all affiliated with the hotel. These units must be individually owned (I did meet a gentleman whom said he lived here year-round as an owner). The restaurant didn't even bother to post the dinner menu even by 7:00pm. We waited by the podium and nobody showed up to seat us. We saw only one other couple dining in the huge restaurant so, we went elsewhere! There are innumerable fantastic restaurants within just a few blocks walking distance so be adventurous! In my experience throughout Australia, I've not found many hotel restaurants that begin to compare with the independent, stand-alone places. Best regards!

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Brisbane

Address: 132 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#23 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#24 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, ACCOR and Tingo so you can book your Quay West Suites Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.