We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality has deteriorated; Internet service is woeful” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Quay West Suites Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Quay West Suites Brisbane to your Saves list
Quay West Suites Brisbane
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   132 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rome, Italy
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Quality has deteriorated; Internet service is woeful”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

My husband and I have been coming to Brisbane on business for more than a dozen years. During most of those visits we stayed at the Quay West on Alice Street. We were extremely disappointed to see the changes since this property was taken over by the Accor group last year. This used to be a lovely and comfortable home away from home, but now the standard is substantially lower than it has been in the past. Lighting has been diminished, maintenance has not been thorough, desk lamp eliminated, CD player eliminated, fewer kitchen utensils, etc. etc. What unfortunately has stayed the same is that this hotel still does not offer any wireless Internet access in the room. There is an outlet for one extraordinarily slow hard-red connection. New hotels have popped up all around this property, and the Quay West is certainly not keeping up with the competition

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    138
    49
    18
    14
See reviews for
94
141
22
83
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Noosa, Australia
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Not a 5 star at all in my opinion, but tidy and reasonable. They charged $150 to my card which I was not advised of and I'm still trying to get it back!! I've been on hold for 20 minutes chasing my own money!! I finally got through and Gloria told me I need to redial and get hold of reception. I tried that and almost died a slow death whilst waiting for them to pick up!!

Why should customers have to do this? I've never had this problem with other Hotels. It puts me off staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Hi Rob S,

It is extremely concerning that you have been unable to contact the hotel to address a billing issue and I sincerely apologise for this. I would like to personally attend to this for you because it is rare that a hold should remain on any card after departure. As I am unable to ascertain the reservation details from the information provided please contact me directly on +61 7 3853 6022 so I can resolve this with haste.

Regards
Mat Finch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Luxurious suite overlooking the Botanical Gardens, we booked this for our wedding night. The room was clean and spacious with a separate bedroom and living areas, small kitchenette, laundry and bathroom. Room service was good though at the time of ordering, the food we wanted was out of stock. I was disappointed that breakfast was not included in the price of our room and $34 was required for the full buffet breakfast. Nice place to stay, expensive for no inclusions however.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view overlooking the Botanical Gardens are beautiful and lovely to wake up to.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, July 30, 2013
Dear OceanDreamer976,

Congratulations on your wedding, we were delighted you chose to spend the night at Quay West. Thank you for also taking the time to share your experience.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We booked our very last night of a five week tour of Australia at the Quay West Suites thinking it would just be somewhere to lay our heads before heading back to London the next day. We knew when the taxi pulled up outside that it was something special and we weren't disappointed. Our superb two-bedroom corner apartment on the 11th floor offered a spectacular view over the botanical gardens and city skyline. Spacious, beautifully designed and well equipped, we were only disappointed that we couldn't stay longer! Perfectly situated for a city break, just minutes from everywhere, we will definitely choose Quay West Suites next time we're in Brisbane.

Room Tip: Corner suites on higher floors are spacious with magnificent views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Sue,

I am truly pleased that Quay West Brisbane was able to provide a fabulous end to your Australian holiday. We hope that you will have the opportunity to stay a little longer on your next visit.

Regards
Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I were traveling with our three teenage daughters and this apartment provided the perfect amount of room. We had the two bedroom and two bath apartment. The kitchen with a full sized refrigerator was also nice to have. The washer and dryer are a real bonus when traveling for longer periods of time as we were. The service was very good but the views over the Botanical garden and South Bank Park were exceptional. Would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Elizabeth F,

The team at Quay West were very happy to learn that their service contributed to a fantastic experience. The 2 bedroom corner apartments with 180-degree views certainly make for a great introduction to Brisbane, and we are glad that you were able to use the full apartment facilities.

Regards
Mat Finch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Writing this is hard because one needs to be careful what the benchmark is.

Billed - as it is - as serviced apartments, Quay West ticks all the boxes. Excellent accommodation, good facilities and centrally located. Add to this an inexpensive ($30) upgrade to a premium suite ($26 continental breakfast (for two) and $20 internet access now complimentary - plus a high floor with a view over the Botanical Gardens and the Gabba all included ) then the accommodation, as a serviced apartment, was beyond reproach. I would stay here next time with no hesitation.

What criticism i have is because - unusually for such a facility - Quay West offers a restaurant and bar - and room service for food and drink - services that an hotel would offer. And here it lets itself down because these services are in no way consistent or compatible with the service level it accomplishes as a serviced apartment.

In other words the food service is amateur. At breakfast, the food is good but the service is dismal and/or inept, Room service is the same menu as the restaurant; but in the room, although the food tastes good, they seem to find it hard to present food hot, or on hot plates.

Room internet access is OK but it is a hard wired ethernet connection which is going to be no good for anyone without an ethernet socket (e.g. an iPad, most small Apple devices, any tablet, phone or other device that relies on a wireless connection).

So that is it. The rating depends upon your benchmark. My rating is as a serviced apartment (i.e. what we thought we had bought and paid for and thus what we expected) not as an hotel. If the latter, it would be considerably lower,


Enjoyed - and would go back to this SERVICED APARTMENT.

Room Tip: Pay the money for the upgrade. If there are to of you it is a no brainer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mat F, General Manager at Quay West Suites Brisbane, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Hi Preposterous,

Greetings from Brisbane!

I am most grateful for your comments on your recent visit to Quay West and thank you for sharing such a balanced review. We certainly love hearing 'the good bits' but equally value learning where we need to 'pull our socks up' a little - we have worked hard to develop an enviable reputation for our apartment quality and service but will certainly focus more on ensuring our food & beverage service realises its full potential.

Thank you again for your comments.

Regards
Mat Finch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Very nice apartment - large and with balcony. Bathroom slightly older style- but clean and bright.
The building is well located in the city with great view over botanic gardens
Current builiding works nearby mean a few too many trucks early in the morning - but a higher floor would fix this.
Very pleasant service.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Quay West Suites Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quay West Suites Brisbane

Address: 132 Alice Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#29 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#32 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
#39 Business Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Quay West Suites Brisbane 5*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A garden-inspired oasis nestled alongside Brisbane’s Botanic Gardens, Quay West Suites is Brisbane’s only 5-star, all-suite hotel offering unrivalled, attentive service and stylish, self-contained apartment accommodation. With all apartments boasting spectacular garden or panoramic city views Quay West is the ideal location to introduce yourself to the ‘river city’.All apartments have been refurbished and combine luxurious hotel comforts with apartment freedom and convenience. Featuring full kitchen and laundry facilities, open-plan living and dining rooms with spacious furnished balconies and completely separate bedrooms with an indulgent bedding package, providing elements of ‘home’ whether for a short or long stay. The signature recreation area, with resort-style pool, sundeck, gymnasium, sauna and outdoor spa, is unsurpassed in a CBD location and compliments the sunny Queensland outdoor lifestyle.With a relaxed, contemporary menu and unique garden outlook, McMahon’s Restaurant and Fraser’s Bar, located adjacent to the lobby on the ground floor, are the ideal place to relax with friends or colleagues and watch the world go by, and are open for breakfast, lunch and dinner daily. Quay West Suites Brisbane also offers 24 hour in-suite dining.Please note that Quay West Suites Brisbane is a non-smoking property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, EasyToBook and Hotels.com so you can book your Quay West Suites Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quay West Suites Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Hotel Brisbane
Quay West Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Quay West Suites Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.