We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A conveniently located hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Novotel Brisbane

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Novotel Brisbane to your Saves list
Novotel Brisbane
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Creek Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Early Booker
Ranked #35 of 165 Hotels in Brisbane
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A conveniently located hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

The Novotel Brisbane is conveniently located close to the edge the CBD area (sometimes the address says 'Brisbane', sometimes it say 'Spring Hill'). Either way, it is only about 5 minutes walk from Central Station and also a few minutes walk to St George Mall. I was able to take the AirTrain from the airport to the city and just walked to the hotel.

I was fortunate to have a room high enough and with a view so I could see the streets below. The room was very clean, spacious and filled with light. The beds were comfy so I had no problem going to sleep each night.

Since I was in Brisbane during the summer, I was pleased the AC worked so well. I also noticed the Dexter-inspired curtains which made me chuckle.

The staff were friendly and were keen to help. They seem to go out of their way to make my stay as enjoyable as possible. I had a really nice time.

If there was one thing I did not like about the hotel was that even though it was only a few minutes walk from Central station, it is located at the top of a steep hill. Going out was fine but walking back up to the hotel in the middle of summer was something I never looked forward to at the end of each day. I would love to stay at this hotel again but only if the climate isn't so extreme and I am not travelling with someone with mobility issues. If I had a car with me, it wouldn't be a problem since I can make use of the underground car park and just take the lift to the hotel. That's something I need to consider next time I am in Brisbane.

I would love to stay at the Novotel Brisbane again but it would depend on the time of year and who I am travelling with.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    698
    945
    234
    75
    39
See reviews for
435
694
243
503
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bern, Switzerland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Excellent hotel:
- A few minutes walk away from the Central station (to get to the airport, for example)
- Large, clean, well appointed room, with two double beds for our family of 2 adults and 2 children
- Helpful staff at reception, who provided advice about where to eat, what to see etc
- a small pool - nothing fancy, but nevertheless fine
- excellent hearty breakfast
Novotel at its best.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear The England Family,

Really happy to see you enjoyed your brief stay with us, and then took the time to tell others about it here on TA. At Novotel, we pride ourselves on our ability to cater for families, and I'm glad to see we succeeded with your stay as well.

Looking forward to welcoming you back on your next trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

The hotel is well located within a short walk of St George Mall, though perched on a hill. Service is charming and rooms clean but short stays warrant the rooms overlooking the adjacent wall. Free internet service is a boon.

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
Top Contributor
168 reviews 168 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This Novotel is located just above the Brisbane CBD - it's a 2 minute walk down and well placed for the collection of Riverside eateries as well. We need a good well priced central hotel for our stay and the Novotel Brisbane was excellent. The room size was generous and was smart and modern. The air conditioning blissfully worked, we didn't hear any noise from any other room at any point and let's hope they stay with the free wifi trial past May. It's a popular hotel with air crew. One small niggle with the daft shower door arrangement that can leak onto the floor or drench you as you fiddle with temperature controls, but that is being very niggly indeed.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Great stay. Room was great. Bed comfy. For the life of me I couldn't work out the light switches. To get them all switched off was like play a rubik's cube. One switch off, would turn off one light and turn on another!! Other than that enjoyed the hotel and the breakfast. It was very clean and comfy. Good food, great service. My only gripe is the WiFi of course. I got excited about the free WiFi trial sign on the wall when I checked in, only to find it was limited to 250kbps!! I find Accor hotels and their WiFi products terrible in this day and age!! Why do we get ripped off for internet access!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nsw
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

hotel is quite nice, we got a good deal through wotif. We were really horrified at the parking costs, we paid $105 for 3 nights on top of our initial charges. Buffet breakfast was pretty average. Good location, close to queen street mall.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM-Novotel-Brisbane, General Manager at Novotel Brisbane, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear linzeeNSW,

Thank you for taking the time to review us on TA. Unfortunately in Brisbane parking is expensive, and we lease spaces from the owners of the car park beneath the hotel. We have secured a discounted rate for our guests of $35 per night, which allows for multiple entry and exit. This is opposed to $50 after 2 hours per entry for the car park downstairs.

Thank you again for sharing your comments with us, and I hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Novotel Brisbane, on Creek Street, is one of those hotels that would fall into the 'good' category, if Tripadvisor had one. It is neither average, nor very good, but fits as neatly into the 'good' category as the side-facing minibar does into the room entrance. I have only stayed here once, and for one night only, so my thoughts are limited, but all signs suggest this is a very good business hotel.

Check-in was easy and friendly (thank you, Kate). The lifts were quiet, despite being close to my room, and were quick. Room service was pretty decent and speedy, and it doesn't appear as though there is much noise outside the hotel on any side. The only negative in the room was the old spring-loaded bed. It wasn't the most comfortable of nights. However, the rooms themselves were clean and neat, with quiet air conditioning and a good selection of TV channels. Internet is free until the end of May 2013. It's not the quickest, but is free! I would recommend this - central, and easy access to the CBD. Oh, did I mention the banks of Macs in Reception, which I believe are for free use? It looked like there were a lot of conference attendees floating around, so obviously it's popular. When I was checking in I noticed a guest who had just checked in call from their room to ask for a bigger bed, but they settled for what they had. I asked for the express check-out option, and was assured my bill would be under my door before leaving. It wasn't, so I had to check out normally. The room doors do slam a bit down the corridor, and I noticed wake-up calls were verbal shouts from said corridor, which woke me up and I am sure others.

Room Tip: Ask for a newer bed that isn't spring-loaded. Ask for express check-out, but make sure they actu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Novotel Brisbane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Brisbane

Address: 200 Creek Street, Brisbane, Queensland 4000, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Brisbane
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Business Hotel in Brisbane
#18 Family Hotel in Brisbane
#26 Romantic Hotel in Brisbane
#30 Luxury Hotel in Brisbane
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Brisbane 4*
Number of rooms: 296
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Novotel Brisbane offers a preferred location within the city's business and shopping precincts. Novotel Brisbane boasts 296 well appointed guest rooms, a restaurant, lobby bar, cafe, outdoor pool, sauna, gymnasium, undercover parking, iMac computer station, in-room yoga channel and extensive conference facilities for up to 350 delegates. The professional, efficient staff and Novotel Brisbane's prime location make it the perfect choice while staying in Brisbane. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Novotel Brisbane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Novotel Brisbane Hotel Brisbane
Brisbane Novotel
Accor Brisbane

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Novotel Brisbane, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.